We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Finally, a real introduction to Santa Fe history”

New Mexico History Museum
Ranked #5 of 260 things to do in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Opened May 24, 2009 just behind the historic Palace of the Governors, the New Mexico History Museum takes over the role of being the state's history museum from the Palace of the Governor's which is now part of the history campus.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Finally, a real introduction to Santa Fe history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I've visited Santa Fe for decades when the tiny history museum was crammed into the remarkable Palace of the Governors (circa 1600s and upwards), so the last few years, when we had a bona fide history museum built adjacent to the Palace, have made it much easier for people to learn the background of remarkable Santa Fe. Well thought out, encompassing significant events, very 21st century, don't (whatever you do!) JUST enjoy the actual museum - walk across a Courtyard and enter the roughly 400-year-old Palace, which also has museum exhibits but the actual smell and resonance of the past. Check out both the museum shop and the lovely bookstore as you go.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    725
    312
    50
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Loved this. Fun, clean, not overly expensive. Perfect for my family. We find southwest history very fun, especially for children. I felt that this museum does a great way of simplifying the history and making it easy to understand.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Take the walking tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We hoped to spend at least a couple of hours here based upon other reviews we read. However, we went on a Monday and they were closed. So on Tuesday morning we returned and arrived just in time for the start of their "walking tour" which was great. Having someone explain the history of New Mexico, who know what she was talking about was very helpful. This is one of the beset museums we've ever been to. Don't miss it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheBobster545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great overview of New Mexico history.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

The museum is in the Palace of Governors, an historic building built in the early 1600s. You can see the original floors and walls through glass windows. A basic exhibit of New Mexico history with a few rooms restored to how they looked when the building was home to Governors - Spanish, Mexican and U.S. territorial governors. The museum is small, but well laid out.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
207 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“A Real Insight into NM Histoy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Lovely permanent and temporary exhibits. Don't forget the photo archives, which are a special treat. This, often missed, Museum is a real treasure.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank HarpistSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Mexico History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing