We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Illuminated Manuscripts a highlight” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Mexico History Museum

New Mexico History Museum
Ranked #5 of 259 things to do in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Opened May 24, 2009 just behind the historic Palace of the Governors, the New Mexico History Museum takes over the role of being the state's history museum from the Palace of the Governor's which is now part of the history campus.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
126 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Illuminated Manuscripts a highlight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I visited to see the St. John's Bible Illuminated manuscripts . . . my second visit in 9 months. The walk-through display of New Mexico history was very helpful, very informative. The illuminated manuscripts and the "Contemplative Spaces" photographic exhibit were first rate. Those two exhibits alone warranted at least a three hour visit to the museum.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jtw58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    714
    300
    49
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Changing displays keep us coming back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Great exhibits of old Santa Fe history and newer things as well. I always love to peruse the gift shop. Great books, new display on Biblical history.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipomo, California
Level Contributor
196 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Outstanding Historical museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is an outstanding museum with well designed historical displays. It manages to be accurate, inclusive but not overly "PC". The only negatives statist is rather pricey.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Grognard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Laurel, NJ
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Must while in Santa Fe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

To appreciate what went into how New Mexico was developed, you must go through this museum and see how the people struggled to survive and develop the area. Very well put together, with displays thoughtfully and well laid out.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChefAnnMt_Laurel_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent introduction to New Mexico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I thought I could zip through this museum in an hour easy. Three hours later, having had to leave the museum twice to feed the parking meter, I felt like I understood so much more of what New Mexico was all about than I had on my two previous visits to the state. And that was without going through the Governor's Palace section (ran out of time), which I have visited before. I thought the exhibits were interesting and educational and gave you just enough information without becoming pedantic or repetitious. This is the sort of museum that would interest the youngest children as well as their grandparents. Icing on the cake: excellent gift shop.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Mexico History Museum also viewed

 

Been to New Mexico History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing