We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A nice diversion” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Mexico Museum of Art

New Mexico Museum of Art
Ranked #17 of 259 things to do in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Art lovers will delight in Santa Fe's many famous painters and photographers.
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A nice diversion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This museum is located right on the square. It was reasonably priced, given the size and diversification. The Peter Sarkisian video works were some of the most creative I have ever seen. They were mesmerizing. There was no guide, which would have been a nice addition, but most of the works had their description on the wall beside them. It is a lot of reading and I could see where small children would get antsy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nixmomntx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    147
    49
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great art of New Mexico”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Enjoyed sauntering through this museum to take in what it had. It's a great part of Santa Fe and good exposure to art.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 6edith7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
569 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
“Very Nice Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This museum features the work of New Mexico artists and displays them in a pleasant manner. The historical progression exhibit, since the founding by the Spanish was very informative and put everything in perspective. Came away with a better understanding of New Mexico art.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank luvglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Perspective of New Mexican Art”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This museum offers a diverse selection of paintings, photographs, and sculptures. It is well worth the time for visitors with even a casual interest in art.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Winterdance2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Art in NM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I especially liked the William Clift photographs of Mont St. Michel and Shiprock. The audio/video interview was informative about why he was drawn to both locations.
Because I am from Virginia, I am not familiar with a lot of the NM artists, but there were several paintings that I did not want to leave. They were so powerful. "The Stoic" reminded me of Christ carrying the cross to his death. The painting's backstory shared a father's grief. It was almost like I was walking beside him, mourning with him.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LoisAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Mexico Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to New Mexico Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing