We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“A nice diversion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Mexico Museum of Art

New Mexico Museum of Art
Ranked #17 of 247 things to do in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Art lovers will delight in Santa Fe's many famous painters and photographers.
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A nice diversion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This museum is located right on the square. It was reasonably priced, given the size and diversification. The Peter Sarkisian video works were some of the most creative I have ever seen. They were mesmerizing. There was no guide, which would have been a nice addition, but most of the works had their description on the wall beside them. It is a lot of reading and I could see where small children would get antsy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nixmomntx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    136
    46
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great art of New Mexico”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Enjoyed sauntering through this museum to take in what it had. It's a great part of Santa Fe and good exposure to art.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 6edith7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
557 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Very Nice Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This museum features the work of New Mexico artists and displays them in a pleasant manner. The historical progression exhibit, since the founding by the Spanish was very informative and put everything in perspective. Came away with a better understanding of New Mexico art.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank luvglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Perspective of New Mexican Art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This museum offers a diverse selection of paintings, photographs, and sculptures. It is well worth the time for visitors with even a casual interest in art.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Winterdance2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Art in NM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I especially liked the William Clift photographs of Mont St. Michel and Shiprock. The audio/video interview was informative about why he was drawn to both locations.
Because I am from Virginia, I am not familiar with a lot of the NM artists, but there were several paintings that I did not want to leave. They were so powerful. "The Stoic" reminded me of Christ carrying the cross to his death. The painting's backstory shared a father's grief. It was almost like I was walking beside him, mourning with him.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LoisAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Mexico Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to New Mexico Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing