We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY disappointed”

New Mexico Museum of Art
Ranked #19 of 270 things to do in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Art lovers will delight in Santa Fe's many famous painters and photographers.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“VERY disappointed”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Thought this would be a great art gallery...I misunderstood that it was just going to highlight a few of New Mexico's early artists. There was none of the vibrancy that I see in my head when I think of New Mexico. It was definitely NOT worth the $9.00 they charged for admission!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DebJSholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    167
    59
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“New Mexico Museum of Art”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We particularly liked the Bauman display. Many of the other displays were not uplifting.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bon871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Small but beautiful”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

This is an easy museum with some wonderful pieces. Don't miss it. It doesn't take long and what you'll see is so carefully chosen that you wont have time to get tired or bored or wish for the whole thing to be done. Museums can be so boring sometimes, but this is a good one and should be seen.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NewerReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Liked the building better than the art”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Building is old, picturesque and it is great to look at while looking at the paintings. Highly recommend the visit. It is nice and warm in winter. There were 2-3 paintings we were very impressed by. There was also a lithograph display my teenagers found interesting.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank juelsM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Sets the experience for Santa Fe”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

The current exhibits are always exceptional, this time a wonderful show of James Drakes art. The permanent collection is a favorite that we see every trip.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank mahadana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Mexico Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to New Mexico Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing