We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun local place...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tune Up Cafe

Tune Up Cafe
Ranked #24 of 556 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Southwestern, Cafe, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
171 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Fun local place...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Off the tourist route this little whole in the wall cafe serves good food and economical prices. There was a line out the door with what seemed to be locals picking up lunch.
Order at the counter, grab a seat where you can and they will bring you your meal.
Food was good, I enjoyed my tomato basil soup with fresh cheese on top.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    190
    51
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Family orientated, interesting place, a bit if everything...food was ok, hamburgers were yummy, but fries were burned.Place was full, order took ages..., value for money ...as"good" as it "get.."

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vuedemond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fun off the tourist path”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Unless you are up for a long walk, you have to have a car and GPS to get here. Given that there are lots of good places closer--why go? Well, fun and funky decor, and good food. You order at the front and they bring it to you--seems like locals are all around with few tourists. I know it was on Food Network--but don't let that prevent you from trying it out--it is worth trying.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Nianqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
204 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Meal was NOT gluten free as promised”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Admittedly, this is a great restaurant, great food and a favorite for locals. My meal of lamb osso bucco was beyond delicious, as was my sister's fish special. So why the terrible review? Because I specifically asked if the osso bucco was gluten free and was told it was. I became violently (!) ill at home because I obviously ate gluten. This is unacceptable. Reportedly 33% of adults are gluten intolerant. Restaurants need to take this seriously.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbaraP101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Shrimp Tostadas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

This restaurant is located in an old adobe structure and is small and cozy and there is a small outside eating area as well. Every time I visited it was packed for lunch. I had by far the best shrimp tostada I have ever eaten. The greens and vegetables are organic and lovely and crisp. The shrimp are grilled and wonderfully and spiced with just the right combination of Southwest seasoning. The presentation is so pretty you almost hate it dive in and commence eating. There was an abundance of greens, chopped bell peppers, red onions and about six nice size shrimp. It took a while to eat it all, but was well worth it!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank TexEx2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tune Up Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Tune Up Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing