We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently excellent”
Review of The Shed

The Shed
Ranked #26 of 567 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We've been dining at The Shed for 30 years, and it's still excellent. Sometimes the wait is long, but their courtyard is a pleasant place to hang around. A recent visit, with four of us, didn't disappoint. My pollo adobo was wonderful - a great red chile sauce, just spicy enough to get my attention. I'd give five stars for the food, but our waiter forgot to bring our order of guacamole, and didn't seem to know the difference between a ribeye or NY strip steak. Still, we had a nice time and will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike_in_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,752
    1,132
    501
    132
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great place to have lunch near the plaza”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We recently had lunch at The Shed one day while visiting Santa Fe. We were glad that we arrived at about 11:30 because the restaurant soon filled up and people were waiting for a table. Based on our experience, we can see why The Shed is so popular. I ordered the 1/2 sandwich/soup combination, and was really pleased. I highly recommend the oven roasted turkey breast sandwich and the Shed chowder. My spouse ordered the enchilada plate and was equally pleased.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankieTheLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Visited three times during our trip”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

The food, the food, the food. The ambiance is fun, the service is fun but the food, the food, the food. We tried a lot of dishes and not one disappointed. A must

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CG B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Still excellent Northern New Mexican food”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Returned again to The Shed. The blue corn chicken Enchiladas still rock the house. The red chile is from Hatch and is hot and spicy. I've got a recipe that's close but the freshness of local ingredients takes it from very good to excellent.

Get your neame in early for lunch and save the long wait.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rlange2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Put on your Santa Fe List”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

If you are looking for a local, kind of funky southwestern restaurant this is a good choice. The place is very popular but we sat down right away. It has both inside and outside seating. The menu has a good range of offering between American basics and some very tasty southwestern dishes. Watch out for the chili sauce - plenty spicy. We had a very good lunch there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BadgerRetirees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Shed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing