We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Green Chile Bliss”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Shed

The Shed
Ranked #25 of 555 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Green Chile Bliss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Visiting friends, this is the second time we've dined here when I was in Santa Fe. I found the heat to be perfect, and the food was melt in your mouth good. The staff was great at offering advice and drink suggestions. I was so inspired, that when I got back to the East Coast I made posole the next night for dinner. Ole!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,655
    1,080
    476
    131
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hot, hot, hot”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have lived in the west for 30 years, but the spiciness of this place was a bit much. The server seemed kind of smug about our discomfort with the spiciness, like" You don't live here do you wussy!!" We love hot food down here.... Good service, so so value, pretty expensive for average Mexican food. We felt taken for a ride here too. Had trouble finding really good Southwestern food in this town at a reasonable price. Tourists towns can be like that I guess.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KiteboardingMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A bit overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We're from Denver and I could name a dozen texmex restaurants that are better than the Shed. The food was hot and the service was good. But the food is on par with tons of other restaurants and nothing special. Perhaps I've been spoiled in Denver but the Shed would just be a run of the mill Mexican restaurant in the mile high city.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beckbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disapointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Although the service was fine, food was room temperature and just average cuisine, nothing special. Have had better mexican cuisine in Chicago.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy16Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
171 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

So many reviewers really like this place. Our experience there didn't support this trend.

Chips were stale, garlic bread cold, soup watery and bland, salad blah. The food wouldn't even qualify as decent cafeteria food. My wife said it was like throwing money out the window.

We won't be going back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank racar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shed also viewed

 

Been to The Shed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing