We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic New Mexican Food”
Review of The Shed

The Shed
Ranked #26 of 565 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Aztec
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Classic New Mexican Food”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I'm a native New Mexican and this place does it right. It's been here "forever" and now that it offers margarita's - is perfect. If you cannot decide between Red or Green Chile, ask for "Christmas".

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JR M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,730
    1,116
    491
    131
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Funky Cool Great Food”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

If the owner doesn't say hi or be present then you went to the wrong place. The food is excellent. Great celeb watching spot as they all love to eat here. Got a cool atmosphere to it. Santa Fe funky but pride in cooking and management is clear. The family owners clearly take pride in what they do. This is a must if you are downtown near the plaza.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank will19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores Area
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“excellent southwestern food”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This restaurant was recommended by several people. It was in a good location and could walk to from the plaza.. Nice atmosphere and good service. Food was delicious. we went for lunch. Would highly recommend it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sharonr18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
160 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A local must-dine”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Any trip to Santa Fe should include a meal, dinner or lunch, at The Shed. It is just a block off the Plaza and it has a long history of serving the travelers to Santa Fe. We selected it based on the Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. We went for dinner, having made reservations a couple of weeks in advance (highly recommend this). The restaurant was crowded and a bit of a waiting line, but we got right in due to the reservations. The table was a bit small for the four of us, with the plates being large. But, it was fun, cozy,and the food was very good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank happyretireds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“good place for a first experience with new-mexican food”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Nice place with atmosphere and several rooms organized in a sort of labyrinth. It seems to be always very busy, and therefore rather noisy. Friendly staff. Our waiter made sure food allergies were taken into account. We are not familiar with (new) mexican food so we ordered combos, which come with either red or green chile. If you don't know how much heat you can stand, you can ask them to serve the chile aside and sprinkle it on your food as you need. The combos come with posole, new to us, and we loved it. The guacamole was the best we ever had. Desserts are tasty. It's not the best meal we ever had, but it was a nice and filling introduction to new-mexican food and I would definitely go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_Pea7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Shed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing