We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful lookout over Santa Fe”

Old Fort Marcy Park
Ranked #27 of 239 things to do in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built by the U.S. Army in 1846 to protect the American presence in Santa Fe, the remains of this historic military fort still stand on a hill overlooking the town.
Reviewed November 18, 2015

This is a great little park to see an overview of Santa Fe. A wonderful location to watch spectacular New Mexican sunrises and sunsets. Quiet with little or no road noise. Benches scattered over the park for reading or having a picnic with the mountains basically E of you and Santa Fe basically W. No playground amenities but does have access to various city maintained hiking trails. Short (1/2-mile) walk from Plaza but if not used to hiking at 7100 feet above sea level, take your time. You'll enjoy the walk down!

Date of experience: November 2015
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"american war"
in 5 reviews
"paved path"
in 4 reviews
"worth the climb"
in 3 reviews
"great view of the city"
in 3 reviews
"interpretive signs"
in 2 reviews
"degree view"
in 2 reviews
"moderate hike"
in 2 reviews
"viewing area"
in 2 reviews
"surrounding landscape"
in 2 reviews
"interesting walk"
in 3 reviews
"paseo de peralta"
in 4 reviews
"nice hike"
in 2 reviews
"adobe walls"
in 2 reviews
"historical significance"
in 2 reviews
"new mexico"
in 12 reviews
"hiking trails"
in 2 reviews
"plaza area"
in 5 reviews
Filter

130 - 134 of 172 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2015

A lovely walk first thing in the morning. It gives you a great view of SF and the plaques have an amazing overview of local history. Take time to read them.

Date of experience: November 2015
Thank Phyllis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2015

I was wandering around Santa Fe with my camera and popped into the Camera Shop near the main plaza. I asked the lady working if there was a good place for pictures of the city within walking distance. She directed me to this park! I got a little lost on the way and ended up entering the park from the backside and coming down the trail but I think it actually worked out well. It was very quiet up there. Just a few others hanging around. Worth the 20 minute (or so) walk from the plaza.

Date of experience: November 2015
Thank csztova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2015

This was a beautiful bricked trail on the side of a hill. The cross is at the apex of the trail and one can experience lovely views from the area around the cross. The history is explained by plaques on the walls. It would be worth returning during the celebrations held here at certain times of the year.

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank DHR62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2015

We stumbled across this park while visiting Santa Fe and enjoyed our visit. The park has a walkway with history markers along the trail. It is a perfect place to see the sunset.

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank Deanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Fort Marcy Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing