We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful museum complex”

Museum of International Folk Art
Ranked #3 of 270 things to do in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Open EVERY DAY 10am to 5pm through the month of October 2017; closed Mondays November through April. Closed Christmas Day, New Year's Day, Easter & Thanksgiving holidays. Current exhibitions include Flamenco From Spain to New Mexico, No Idle Hands: The Myths and Meanings of Tramp Art, and Folk Art in Focus More than 120,000 objects are on display in the long term exhibition Multiple Visions, A Common Bond by architect and designer Alexander Girard. This international folk art collection includes miniature buildings, streets and village scenes from more than 100 different countries. There are no text panels in this exhibition, the cases are numbered. If you miss the Docent walk-in tour, pick up a multi-media tour at the front desk or a grab a printed gallery guide at either entrance. Kids 16 and under and Museum of New Mexico Foundation Members always free!
Durango, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful museum complex”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We really enjoyed the variety of museum exhibits we found here. There was something for everyone in our group. The grounds were beautifully landscaped and we really enjoyed the garden sculptures. Great place to while away the day.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Dezembrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,226
    297
    85
    22
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Surprise”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We spent over two hours at the Museum and were pleasantly surprised at the large collection. There was a temporary desplay on the history of Chocolate and Mata which was extremely informative and well thought out. An even further suprise was the Museum Hill Cafe . The view of the snow covered mountains was breath taking and the food and service outstanding. There was even a musician playing live guitar which added to our enjoyment.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KathrynG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Like a Sideshow without the Geek”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Museum Hill in Santa Fe is a must. And while we've been to the Museum of Indian Arts and Culture several times (a fine institution) we'd never been to the Museum of International Folk Art. While I can appreciate folk art to some degree, the place is an odd experience. The major gallery is the Girard Wing, a collection of thousands of dolls, toys, miniatures, and "artworks" from around the world, stuffed into glass cases and piled into a vast space. It's sort of like wondering through your grandmother's old, unused bedrooms, packed floor-to-ceiling with junk. Imagine an episode of "Extreme Hoarders - Ugly, Handcrafted Toy Edition." There are little gems to be seen here and there, but the whacky organization and the "I'll take one of each" approach that Mr. Girard evidently took to his collecting are creepy. And that's the overall impression of the place. . . odd and creepy.

This is certainly a museum that will appeal to kids (as indicated by the school group on site when we were there). It's worth wondering into if you buy the multi-museum ticket (a good deal), but not really worth it if you only have the time to go to one museum in Santa Fe - unless you're really into folk art or varying levels of cheese.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Filmprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heartland Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Courteouse employees & a lot to look at.”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Three museums are located in an area called museum hill. We visited all three today. This made it very convenient. While we liked this museum a lot, we enjoyed the other two a little more. The employees are very courteous and helpful.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BearTrapTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Favorite museum anywhere”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This museum shows so many objects which most of us are seldom exposed to. From their gift shop to their special exhibitions, everything is really engaging. A recent show, which I didn't plan on finding interesting, was Young Brides, Old Treasures: Macedonian Embroidered Dress. But for anyone interested in culture and textiles, this was fascinating--craft, time (many of these were made over years for their daughter's weddings), and quantity. It was truly in-depth. But the largest gallery is flooded for the general viewer with thousands of pieces of varied materials, uses, meanings. Their was an exhibit of the folk art of Peru, and an upcoming one on the history of the color RED. It's a delight to come here and soak up the makey-ness of people from all over the world.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Saphrona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of International Folk Art also viewed

 

Been to Museum of International Folk Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing