We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great view at the top

Somebody in Santa Fe recommended we travel up here on a Saturday. It took us about 40 minutes drive... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Dennis B
,
Duluth, Georgia
via mobile
Aspens Are Beautiful

Went Oct 4. The chairlifts were closed but we drove the winding road uphill. The views of the... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
maggiet0813
,
Katy, Texas
via mobile
Read all 521 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Santa Fe
from $60.00
More Info
from $22.99
More Info
from $110.00
More Info
from $110.00
More Info
Reviews (521)
Filter reviews
506 results
Traveler rating
259
183
44
12
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
259
183
44
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski area ski school lift lines ski trip mid mountain intermediate skier rental process spring skiing ski patrol bunny hill beautiful drive great mountain private lesson fall colors aspen trees winding road new mexico
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 506 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Somebody in Santa Fe recommended we travel up here on a Saturday. It took us about 40 minutes drive up here. There are some beautiful pull over views on the way. The fall colors are terrific. Once at ten ski area, we purchased tickets for the chairlift to the top. It is a nice ride. The views from the top are really terrific. I suggest bringing a warm jacket and gloves; it’s much colder at the top. There was a band playing live outdoors.
On the way back, we stopped to hike one trail which was about an hour hike. A very beautiful trail.

Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went Oct 4. The chairlifts were closed but we drove the winding road uphill. The views of the golden Aspens were beautiful and the view of the mountains were great. It was about 10 degrees cooler at the top and very windy.

Thank maggiet0813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

We rode the chairlift from the base to the top and enjoyed the marvelous fall colors of the Aspen trees. We arrived a few moments before 10am when the ticket office opens and the lift operates. Our timing could not have been better, the trees were magnificent.

Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

It was a pleasant surprise to drive up and find that seniors 72 and older may ride the chairlift for free! The aspens are peaking.

Thank Charles043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2018

Here is why I recommend Ski Santa Fe: (1) very inexpensive compared to Park Cities and Boulder to Aspen, (2) wide variety of slope difficulties -- accommodates the whole family, (3) close to the city of Santa Fe which has some of the best food ever.

Thank HubCPrairieDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2018

Santa Fe doesn't have the rep of more famous ski areas, but the product is mostly excellent. The mountain can comfortably welcome beginners but what is largely unknown is that it has some serious gnar for the more extreme skiers, including steep slopes with tight trees and plenty of boulders to huck off of. The southerly location and less than ideal exposure can make for a short season though, and can lead to less than ideal surface conditions at times. The price is excellent relative to the modern ski industry.

1  Thank montanapescado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2018

Even though this has been a terrible year for snow in New Mexico, the skiing for our Spring Break was perfect. There were no crowds and we never once had to wait in line at the Quad lift. They do a great job of grooming and made the best of a light snow year. Totemoff's is one of the nest mid-mountain bars at any ski resort. Nothing beats an Optimator as you sit outside at a picnic table and listen to fantastic music.

3  Thank DianaGHartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2018 via mobile

We showed up during Texas Spring Break with a group of seven "never-skied-before" ranging in age from six to 40. They typically don't teach under eight in their ski school, and even though they were short/handed on instructors, they made an exception since our group made a whole class. It might've helped that we also had an adult who was not going to ski and be on hand for the six-year-old.

IF you're going to do Ski School, don't make the mistake we did - your rentals and lift tickets are lumped in with the Ski School cost. (Since we didn't rent from them, I'm not reviewing them for the ENTIRE experience they offer.) Build in time if you need to be fitted for boots, skis, poles, and helmets.

Yes, the cafe is expensive ($40+ for two burgers, two pizza slices, three bags of chips, four M&Ms, a pudding cup, and two bottled waters), but it sure beats lugging a bag of snacks that you have to rent a locker for and cram them into. IMO, better to plan for the splurge.

Thank Kaley_Paris_Daniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2018 via mobile

Took the family for spring break 2018. Beautiful views, very organized ski resort. Kids took group lessons for ski and snowboarding. Group ski was crowded and hard for my daughter to get the instruction she needed, so we got her a private lesson with John O. He was amazing and had her confident on the slopes in a single lesson. My son picked up the snowboarding quickly in his group lesson. Unfortunately he hurt his wrist the last day, but ski patrol took great care of him. Fortunately it was only a sprain.

The downside is the Wi-Fi is very weak, and there’s no cell signal at the lodge. So I had to search for my son to find out he was injured. Also, the lodge itself if pretty basic if you’re not skiing. It could use some upgrades. But still, it’s a great, affordable place for a family trip.

Thank Polar1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2018

Although it was my first time skiing (SO i don't know much about the trails) the bunny hill and "easy Street" hills were lots of fun, So was the beginner trails (the green marked trails up the mountain) The staff was incredibly nice and helpful. The hot cocoa was delicious and the view on the chair lifts..OMG beautiful. The drive up to the ski base alone is great. Go check it out yourself ,

Thank Kaycee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews