We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful old church”
Review of San Miguel Chapel

San Miguel Chapel
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.98*
and up
Santa Fe 'Sip and Savor' Food Tour
Ranked #12 of 270 things to do in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Constructed in 1610 by the Tlaxcalan Indians of Mexico, who came to New Mexico as servants of the Spanish, this is the oldest church still in use in the country.
Tucson, AZ
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“wonderful old church”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our party of 5 adults stopped here briefly while walking around Santa Fe. The age of the church is apparent. The decor is mostly very old as well. It is worth a brief visit whether or not you are a believer.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tipsfromtucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    234
    34
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“14th Century Bell is Beautiful”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Don’t miss this Spanish Colonial mission church. The thick adobe walls give it a great sense of history. We were awed by the restored altar screens and especially by the huge bell on display at the rear of the Mission. You are allowed to touch this massive bell, cast in the 14th century in Spain. Add this Mission to your Santa Fe itinerary.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveller034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
okc
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Glad to see it”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I thought it was cool to see. We went inside and they were very helpful and full of info on the place. No charge, but of course, took donations. We were done after 15 minutes. Right across the street is the "oldest house" as well.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stepper950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We are from California, where we have our 21 California missions, so it's sort of hard to not compare. After visiting many of those, with their gardens and extensive grounds, this was a bit underwhelming. But San Miguel Mission is lovely in its own right, and the very sweet docent was happy to answer any questions and she encouraged us to ring the mission bell, which was fun. The mission is free, so by all means as you are walking around town, stop by!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank IslandGirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
234 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
“Mind the time”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

They are only open something like 11-2 M-F, but make sure you go inside if you can. There's a wealth of information if you engage the docent on duty and read the free guidebook. It is SO much more interesting inside than out; and you can still be done in 30 minutes. Parking is available across from the Capitol building, just south. Be sure to visit the "oldest house" across the street.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank snochasr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Miguel Chapel also viewed

 

Been to San Miguel Chapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing