We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, but worth the time...”
Review of Loretto Chapel

Loretto Chapel
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$79.98*
and up
Santa Fe 'Sip and Savor' Food Tour
Ranked #6 of 268 things to do in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This chapel contains a mysterious spiral staircase built without nails, dowels or any visible support.
Hudson, FL
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Small, but worth the time...”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Beautiful chapel and history about the Miraculous Staircase. A little pricey for how small it is, but we still enjoyed it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank willia999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,091
    1,005
    402
    105
    36
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
141 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“It's the staircase”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is no longer an active church. It's very attractive inside but the big draw is the staircase. You look at it and wonder how they got it together with no visible means of support. Apparently originally it had no railing. Can't imagine ascending with a railing never mind without one

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Very beautiful inside and out, nice atmosphere, very inviting. We liked the historical information available.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sandy12358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sort of a Tourist Trap, but Worth Seeing”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I was here on a short trip to Santa Fe, and while the architecture of the building is really fabulous, the attraction itself is kind of a tourist trap. This is a chapel that was built in the 1800's, and the story goes that the resident nuns could not build or afford to build a staircase because of the tight confinement. A mysterious man (a Frenchman, I think) showed up and built a staircase for free with no support, thus the staircase seemingly floats. It was thus proclaimed as a miracle. The nuns have since moved out, the chapel is privately owned, and one or two bad TV movies have been made about the story.

The outside of the chapel is extroardinarily beautiful, and free to look at. The inside of the chapel is also quite beautiful, and it transports you back to the late 1800's, giving you a real 'Old West' feel. The miracle aspect of the staircase is not really so, and the strength of the staircase is not a mystery, although it is impressive that the man was able to build it back then.

The gift shop is pretty much a Catholic/Christian trinket store. They have an enourmous selection, and I thought it to be kind of laughable that people would actually buy most of that stuff. 99% of the junk they were selling there had nothing to do with the actual Loretto Chapel, and it was a blatantly obvious attempt to get people who were suddenly feeling a tad more holy to buy a wooden crucifix or pendant that had just been shipped over from China. If I remember, you even have to exit through the gift shop. I am Catholic, and I scoffed at the level of commercialism in the gift shop.

That said, if you want to spend the $3 or whatever it is to see the inside of the chapel, you should. I'm glad I saw it, but I wish it was actually still in the hands of the nuns who originally owned it. You will only spend about 10 minutes in the actual chapel, but it is cool seeing such an old building.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Natejitsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“$ and boring”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The place is expensive to access. You get in and go "woah, that's cool" and then you leave. The stairway is interesting but not for long. There are better things to do in Santa Fe.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank v l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loretto Chapel also viewed

 

Been to Loretto Chapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing