We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome and Inspiring”
Review of Loretto Chapel

Loretto Chapel
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.98*
and up
Santa Fe 'Sip and Savor' Food Tour
Ranked #6 of 266 things to do in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This chapel contains a mysterious spiral staircase built without nails, dowels or any visible support.
Noblesville, Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome and Inspiring”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Loretta Chapel is not only beautiful but the story behind the spiral staircase is captivating. I understand that many weddings are held in the Chapel and I can understand why!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank keel006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,084
    1,004
    402
    105
    36
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“I wished churches would not collect entrance fees”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I refuse to pay to get into any church. This to me is simply uncivilized and certainly does not mix with Christianity. I skipped the chapel and visited instead the oldest MISSION in the U.S.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Borisrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“"Miraculous" or money maker?”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Last time I visited Santa Fe I missed this, so we had to do it this time. They charge a mere $3/person, but there's not much to see inside besides the staircase. That said, it's still a beautiful church and someplace you have to visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Usually included on walking tours”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

An interesting church with a "miraculous" spiral staircase which reportedly has "no visible means of support". There is usually no admission charge if you take one of the many walking tours from the Plaza. It may not be worth the price if you're not on a walking tour. There is a very nice gift shop, which would not have much meaning if you didn't visit the staircase. There is usually a flea market in the front yard with interesting varieties of art, jewelry, rugs and other trinkets for sale.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank sfeldman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Remarkable”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Definitely make time to stop at the Loretto Chapel to see the marvelous spiral staircase. The remainder of the Chapel is also very interesting, but the staircase is breathtaking.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fotonut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loretto Chapel also viewed

 

Been to Loretto Chapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing