We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do NOT miss this!”
Review of Loretto Chapel

Loretto Chapel
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.98*
and up
Santa Fe 'Sip and Savor' Food Tour
Ranked #7 of 270 things to do in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This chapel contains a mysterious spiral staircase built without nails, dowels or any visible support.
Taos, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Do NOT miss this!”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

One of my first stops on one of my first visits to Santa Fe 20 years ago, the spiral staircase is legendary! Not only is it a beautiful sight, the story has stuck with me all these years.

Helpful?
Thank Taosedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,727 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,140
    1,034
    412
    105
    36
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“If you admire excellent craftsmanship this is one not to miss.”
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

My husband is a joiner so a trip here was a must while in Santa Fe. Very impressive timber staircase with interesting history. Located in lovely small chapel a short walk from Catherdal so very easy to take in both at once. There is a small entrance fee but it was worth it. It was Busy on the Sunday morning we were there but people tended to move along fairly quickly. Pictures of Loretto girls at school there in the 1940's which I' m sure would interest Loretto girls all over. Enjoy.

Helpful?
Thank map737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amazing”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I enjoyed the history of the cappel and the staircase the construction was fantastic. Wish the nuns did not put the railings

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathikay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A beautiful chapel, even without the miraculous staircase.”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Take the time to visit, the story behind the staircase is really something, and even if you are sceptical the modern science still validates that there are some unanswerable questions. Great gift shop also.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank IH9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Spanish Classic southwestern design.”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Yes, there are some beautiful aspects to this chapel, but nothing so atypical as to be awe-inspiring. A good representative for it's typically Spanish-influnced features.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loretto Chapel also viewed

 

Been to Loretto Chapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing