We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Basilica”

The Cathedral Basilica of St. Francis of Assisi
Book In Advance
More Info
$80.26*
and up
Santa Fe 'Sip and Savor' Food Tour
Ranked #3 of 261 things to do in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This cathedral was built in 1886, and is known for its beautiful Romanesque architecture.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful Basilica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were blessed to attend 10 a.m. high mass here. It was a highlight of our 3 days in town. The church has been lovingly restored and maintained by its vibrant, dedicated congregation. The organ is magnificent and the stained glass windows are true works of art. Be sure to turn around and see the rose window above the organ.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Florawonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,698
    763
    163
    15
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is truly a beautiful church. St. Francis is my daughter's Patron Saint, so we were very anxious to visit this one. It is truly one of the most beautiful Catholic churches I've been inside.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank tsg1064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“We were so impressed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was the most beautiful Church. We loved the chapels, the font and the Stations. The outdoor gathering area was so pretty, and we were especially blessed to be there on the day that Kateri Tecawitha, whose statue was outside the Church, was canonized. Check out the Stations of the Cross in the garden.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MauraIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cathedral”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

The grounds are beautifully landscaped and very serene. The interior of the cathedral is lovely and well taken care of. Photos with no flash are allowed, and donations are requested--not required.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deborahc620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amboy, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great place to appreciate architecture and history of Santa Fe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is a magnificently designed church and there are docents available to share some of the interesting history of this building.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank HarryHendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cathedral Basilica of St. Francis of Assisi also viewed

 

Been to The Cathedral Basilica of St. Francis of Assisi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing