We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable lodging with character”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Silver Saddle Motel
Ranked #7 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Trying to find afforable motels close to Santa Fe proved a challenge. This motel is owned by someone who wants to be running the place her mother ran for 25 years and it shows. The outside is gorgeous, the inside is clean and even though it sits on busy Cerrillos Road, it's not loud. The staff is super friendly and helpful, but if you are going to Santa Fe for luxury, this isn't for you. The rooms are cramped for a family of 4 and remind one a bit of a college dorm; however it served the purpose for a brief stopover on our cross country travels. It's only about a 10 minute drive to the plaza and breakfast on the outside patio is wonderful! Be sure to stop next door at the Jackalope to visit the prairie dogs.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AreWeThereYet1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

723 - 729 of 796 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2010

Very quaint, clean and comfortable place to stay. Good price and great owners. Nice location, especially if you like Jackalope's like I do! Don't expect the Hilton or Four Seasons. Just a quaint, rustic place to enjoy the evening and get a good night's sleep! I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MarciaR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We had a great stay at the Silver Saddle. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful in helping us orientate on Santa Fe. This would not be the place for you if you expect expensive facilities, but it is great value for money, clean and well looked after. Also has a small breakfast garden that is secluded from the road. It's good to stay in a place where they are proud of their establishment.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank NivekGroningen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

I was looking forward to staying in this cute, "kitschy" motel. However, the bed was as hard as a rock, which resulted in my husband having back troubles the next day. The air conditioner quit working in the middle of the night. The bathroom needed to be updated, but was sufficient. Though it is only about a 10-minute drive from the historic center, the motel's location leaves something to be desired. The area of town is pretty grungy. Though this is an "economy" motel, I was still disappointed. It was sufficient for our one-night stay, but we won't be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmahero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We stayed for a night while visiting Santa Fe. The front desk was super nice and accommodating when we checked in. The room was clean and cute. If you are not expecting the Four Seasons for the economical price they charge then you will be very pleased.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sdw227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We had a great overall experience on our trip while visiting Sta Fe for the International Folk Art Market. The personel and owners are very friendly and always there to help. Simple breakfast at the lobby, WiFi and a stationary internet station get you ready for your day after a good quiet sleep in the simple but comfortable rooms. The character of the hotel is a great added value which serves as a nice welcome to New Mexico.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sebastiandiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

You get what you pay for at 60.00/nt-never again. I was dissatisfied upon arrival & was not let out of the reservation. Front desk had a real attitude, if you book this you buy it-even if it is unacceptable upon check in you will be granted no way out. BUYER BEWARE!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank upgradeplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivatravel, Manager at Silver Saddle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2010

Mrs. Upgradesplease (screen name). In all fairness all of us at the motel did apologize several times for your negative experience upon check in. It is very difficult to inform customers that want to cancel a 4 room reservation at 6:00pm on the night of the reservation that we are not able to because we do have a 24 hour cancellation policy. But your party was able to cancel the 2nd night of the reservation and all 4 room chose to stay the 2nd night so this is why we are so baffled with such a review.
We really appreciate all the feed back we get positive or negative from our guests because it allows us to know where we need to improve. For example, as a response to our clients comments we have added more to our complimentary continental breakfast, hired a new company to assist us with our wifi issues and have added a computer terminal in our office for our guests. Sincerely, motel management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Comfort Suites Santa Fe
#15 of 60 in Santa Fe
924 reviews
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,341 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#8 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Rey Court
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
798 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Saddle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Saddle Motel

Address: 2810 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87507-2341
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $58 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Saddle Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Silver Saddle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Saddle Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing