We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Great Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Saddle Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Saddle Motel
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Queen Creek AZ
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We stayed for two nights at The Silver Saddle during a motorcycle tour in NM. Although we stayed at other hotels that cost a bit more, The Silver Saddle was my favorite.The desk clerk and the owner go out of their way to make it your home during your visit. I would say while in Santa Fe NM it a place to stay.

The hotel & staff is biker friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ogroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    210
    34
    8
    5
See reviews for
131
315
84
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm City, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We stayed for two nights at The Silver Saddle during a cross-country drive. Although we stayed in fancier hotels that cost a lot more, The Silver Saddle was my favorite. The room is basic but very clean and well-maintained. We stayed in one of the Buffalo Bill rooms and the decor included a cowgirl boot on the wall and a saw above the bathroom door with a western scene painted on it. There were some shaded tables outside, off the parking area, where you could sit and enjoy your coffee or drink. Our first night there we witnessed a gorgeous sunset. The continental breakfast was adequate and there is a nice seating area in back of the lobby. Perhaps the best part of staying there, in addition to the obvious charm, is the staff. They were all extremely friendly and helpful, especially Miguel and Dawn. As I told them at checkout, I don't know if I will ever get to Santa Fe again, but if I do, I will stay at The Silver Saddle.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TomWelsh407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

We were visiting friends in Colorado when their well ran dry and we left early. What to do? Come to Santa Fe! This is our second time to visit the Silver Saddle and it was as charming as the first time. Being pet friendly is a plus! Beautiful courtyards and picnic areas and non smoking is great too. Next door to Jackalope Market for some easy shopping. Love it!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

This was undoubtedly the best lodging we found on our three-week spring trip to the Southwest. We reserved five nights at the Silver Saddle based on good reviews on Trip Advisor and the very reasonable rates. We are budget travellers looking for value, and we were not disappointed.
Dawn, the Manager, was just the best. During the booking process, she was very patient with all of our questions, and the room she reserved for us was perfect. We were in the Lil Buckeroo Room at the back of the motel. All of the rooms are themed and lovingly decorated by Dawn. We loved the brightly painted rustic furniture, especially the picnic table and benches in the kitchenette - which had a counter and sink, fridge and microwave. Lots of cowboy-themed drawings and posters on the walls. The beds were new and super comfy, with old fashioned quilted comforters. I have a bad back, and I slept like a log. There were three windows that opened, providing good cross-ventilation.This spacious room was truly a home away from home for our five days in Sante Fe.

Included in the price was a continental breakfast of cereal, juice, toast, bagels and cream cheese, muffins and coffee cake, and good coffee - served in the western-themed office or out in the back yard. Dawn and all of the staff were very friendly and helpful with tourist info and restaurant recommendations (all good). The motel is on a main drag where you can catch a bus into the city centre and avoid the hassle of parking.

The Silver Saddle is definitely a budget motel and may not be for everyone. The furniture is rustic, the toiletries are basic, and the carpets are not fancy. The breakfast is homestyle, and the coffee cups are mismatched. But the rooms are cozy, clean and functional, and the motel staff go out of their way to look after their guests. I couldn't believe that we paid less than $60.00 a night for one of the most memorable places I have ever stayed. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The higher numbered rooms are farther from the road and are very quiet. The Lil Buckeroo room is s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay. Great room, friendly staff, good breakfast, outstanding atmosphere. I wish more places in this price range existed in the US. You can't go wrong & will be thrilled you choose a local place.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ConnecticutTwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
143 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I chose this motel because of the large number of favorable reviews on both TripAdvisor and Booking.com sites. My daughter and I stayed here for four nights, while attending operas at the Santa Fe Opera House, and were very satisfied with our stay.
Each of the rooms in this throwback motel is decorated in a unique way; ours was the "Route 66" room, and the pictures and decor fitted in with this theme. The beds and plentiful pillows were very comfortable, featuring old-fashioned quilts as bed covers, which added to the charm.
The office is quaint, with many western-style items hanging from the walls, again, so much in character for this period. A continental breakfast is available from 7 - 10 AM, with cereal, fresh fruits, breads and coffee and juices. The owners are quite friendly, and prices are reasonable. Many stores and restaurants are nearby, as the motel is on a main highway into town.
I plan to return in the future!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maestrolms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

My entire family really enjoyed our stay in the Roy Rogers room (#2). Room was very spacious and had a kitchenette. It was very clean with comfortable beds. I loved all of the windows in the room. Staff was friendly and also understanding when I realized that I had forgotten to turn in the key before 11am checkout (went shopping at Jackalope next door after packing everything and wound up spending longer there than I had intended.) Silver Saddle will definitely be our first choice for lodging next time we are in Santa Fe.

If you get a chance, go shop at Jackalope next door. There is so much to look at. Also, try the tacos at the taco stand at the edge of the parking lot. They are hands down the best that I have ever had.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank well-heeled580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Old Santa Fe Inn
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,378 reviews
El Rey Inn
#15 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 712 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 515 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Saddle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Saddle Motel

Property: Silver Saddle Motel
Address: 2810 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87507-2341
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Saddle Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Silver Saddle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Saddle Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing