We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well? Now what?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Silver Saddle Motel
Ranked #9 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well? Now what?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

We were visiting friends in Colorado when their well ran dry and we left early. What to do? Come to Santa Fe! This is our second time to visit the Silver Saddle and it was as charming as the first time. Being pet friendly is a plus! Beautiful courtyards and picnic areas and non smoking is great too. Next door to Jackalope Market for some easy shopping. Love it!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    222
    41
    8
    5
See reviews for
151
351
89
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

This was undoubtedly the best lodging we found on our three-week spring trip to the Southwest. We reserved five nights at the Silver Saddle based on good reviews on Trip Advisor and the very reasonable rates. We are budget travellers looking for value, and we were not disappointed.
Dawn, the Manager, was just the best. During the booking process, she was very patient with all of our questions, and the room she reserved for us was perfect. We were in the Lil Buckeroo Room at the back of the motel. All of the rooms are themed and lovingly decorated by Dawn. We loved the brightly painted rustic furniture, especially the picnic table and benches in the kitchenette - which had a counter and sink, fridge and microwave. Lots of cowboy-themed drawings and posters on the walls. The beds were new and super comfy, with old fashioned quilted comforters. I have a bad back, and I slept like a log. There were three windows that opened, providing good cross-ventilation.This spacious room was truly a home away from home for our five days in Sante Fe.

Included in the price was a continental breakfast of cereal, juice, toast, bagels and cream cheese, muffins and coffee cake, and good coffee - served in the western-themed office or out in the back yard. Dawn and all of the staff were very friendly and helpful with tourist info and restaurant recommendations (all good). The motel is on a main drag where you can catch a bus into the city centre and avoid the hassle of parking.

The Silver Saddle is definitely a budget motel and may not be for everyone. The furniture is rustic, the toiletries are basic, and the carpets are not fancy. The breakfast is homestyle, and the coffee cups are mismatched. But the rooms are cozy, clean and functional, and the motel staff go out of their way to look after their guests. I couldn't believe that we paid less than $60.00 a night for one of the most memorable places I have ever stayed. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The higher numbered rooms are farther from the road and are very quiet. The Lil Buckeroo room is s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay. Great room, friendly staff, good breakfast, outstanding atmosphere. I wish more places in this price range existed in the US. You can't go wrong & will be thrilled you choose a local place.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ConnecticutTwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
142 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

I chose this motel because of the large number of favorable reviews on both TripAdvisor and Booking.com sites. My daughter and I stayed here for four nights, while attending operas at the Santa Fe Opera House, and were very satisfied with our stay.
Each of the rooms in this throwback motel is decorated in a unique way; ours was the "Route 66" room, and the pictures and decor fitted in with this theme. The beds and plentiful pillows were very comfortable, featuring old-fashioned quilts as bed covers, which added to the charm.
The office is quaint, with many western-style items hanging from the walls, again, so much in character for this period. A continental breakfast is available from 7 - 10 AM, with cereal, fresh fruits, breads and coffee and juices. The owners are quite friendly, and prices are reasonable. Many stores and restaurants are nearby, as the motel is on a main highway into town.
I plan to return in the future!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maestrolms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

My entire family really enjoyed our stay in the Roy Rogers room (#2). Room was very spacious and had a kitchenette. It was very clean with comfortable beds. I loved all of the windows in the room. Staff was friendly and also understanding when I realized that I had forgotten to turn in the key before 11am checkout (went shopping at Jackalope next door after packing everything and wound up spending longer there than I had intended.) Silver Saddle will definitely be our first choice for lodging next time we are in Santa Fe.

If you get a chance, go shop at Jackalope next door. There is so much to look at. Also, try the tacos at the taco stand at the edge of the parking lot. They are hands down the best that I have ever had.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank well-heeled580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Found the Silver Saddle on a random web search, and just needed a place for my wife and I to crash after a late night flight and before heading deeper into Northern New Mexico. Staff was totally on top of handling our late arrival (1:30am), room was clean, colorful, fun and funky. Breakfast was tasty, healthy and in on a charming patio. Staff was hugely helpful helping us figure out our travel plans for the days to follow. Liked it so much, we booked a room for a few nights later before our return, and again the staff was great. 2nd room was a bit bigger, and had nice amenities including a well-placed junction box for charging phones, etc.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DADABASE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lago Vista, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

This is an old school Route 66 type motel. It is a refreshing change from the cookie cutter, over priced chains. We had the "Willie Nelson Room" (#3). Clean, quiet, comfortable and reasonably priced. Only minor complaint is lack of electrical outlets, but this is an old motel and wasn't built to accommodate all our electronic gadgets that constantly require charging. Friendly owners and a wonderful breakfast out on the patio.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back are further from the highway although noise was not a problem up front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank centexsalesguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Comfort Suites
#16 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
El Rey Inn
#19 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Saddle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Saddle Motel

Property: Silver Saddle Motel
Address: 2810 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87507-2341
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Saddle Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Silver Saddle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Saddle Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing