We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Saddle Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Saddle Motel
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We visited Santa Fe for the International Folk Art Festival and booked four nights in this charming Route 66 motel. We received helpful advice from the owner/staff; also the use of a corkscrew to replace ours confiscated on the airplane! The best thing about this motel is the friendly and fun atmosphere. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast of fruit, cereal, juice, coffee, and a variety of breads, but most of all, we enjoyed visiting with the other guests there. I think the pleasant attitude of the staff filters down to the guests and makes for a good experience for all. Everything else was more than adequate: comfortable bed, television, microwave, refrigerator, good shower. There are also picnic tables on the grounds and plenty of parking just outside each unit. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 35912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    210
    34
    8
    5
See reviews for
131
315
84
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Staff is very helpful clean and quite has great garden and my wife liked it she is a little picky .will stay there again when we are in town.had a nice free breakfast which most budget places do not have.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank notbadadair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEN
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Clean, friendly and nice 'roadside motel' in the best of the 50s tradition. Bed very comfy, maid service top notch. Reception very helpful. They provided me with a coffeemaker for the room. i had a fridge, microwave, wifi and flat screen 19" TV all of which worked very well indeed althoug TV is mounted pretty high to clear the microwave. Bathroom in the blue yellow style of the fifties very well set out. Shower is SRO but lots of hot water after long hiking days. AC worked great but very noisy. Rooms are light on light but typical for the type. Styled in southwestern colors. There was a small desk with two chairs, plenty of closet space for a small room. Yeah, I liked it. Cerrillos Road is very crowded during the day but thats about the worst of it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pakrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was an excellent choice for an icon Route 66 motel. The rooms were spacious. All of the staff were friendly and extremely helpful. It was lovely to enjoy the breakfast on the patio area. Would recommend as one of the best Route 66 icon motels.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Crest, New Mexico
Level Contributor
165 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

It's hard to find an inexpensive room in Santa Fe. Based on TA we decided to take a chance for our quick trip (one night) and booked a room at Silver Saddle Motel....A Blast From The Past. Realizing it's an old motel we found it to be terrific. Immaculate, great beds, excellent service, funky fun cowboy art in the room, all at an amazing price. It doesn't try to be the Hyatt but what it does it does exceedingly well. We didn't have the breakfast so cannot comment about that. We appreciated the free wifi. Our only complaint was the air conditioner which was noisy and a bit hard to regulate. Silver Saddle is a budget motel that is MUCH more fun than any chain...Lot of special little touches.

Room Tip: We had room 22, about as far from the street as you can get. It was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anniejet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My husband and I are staying here for a two-night stay on our trip to Estes Park, Colorado. I read numerous reviews and chose the Silver Saddle based on location, price and availability of the King sized bed my husband needs in order to sleep well.
We arrived and were quickly checked in with a friendly smile. Our room was the "Willie Nelson" room which is admittedly quite small, but it is adequate for our purposes.
There is no closet nor is there even a dresser, only a very small armoire for storing clothes. The microwave is truly the tiniest one I've ever seen and there is also a micro fridge. The bathroom is clean and the shower is very large and has good water pressure, but the toiletries are inadequate so I recommend you bring your own.
There is a continental breakfast included with the room, but we didn't take advantage of it. The seating area for the breakfast is quite quaint and there are lots of kitchy antiques and things in the lobby.
The best things about this room: it's block wall construction and the air conditioner's white noise gave my husband the perfect environment for a great night's sleep; that being the whole purpose of the room in my view, we're really happy with the choice of this room and this motel.The rate was terrific for the Santa Fe area and it's conveniently located to all the attractions.
In short, for the price, location and for a quick stay I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DraftySpaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

I usually apply 5/5s in a scale beginning with tents and ending with true palaces. But I've no trouble giving a 5/5 for this motel because I love what it is: a well-kept, well-run establishment that revels in its Route 66-style glory and is a true bargain. The rooms are quaint and updated, but there's no escaping that this motel was built long ago. And that's the beauty of it. For example, rather than thin walls it has noise-killing block. For this rate, I had expected to suffer. Instead, I'm thoroughly satisfied.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Azguy602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Old Santa Fe Inn
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,378 reviews
El Rey Inn
#15 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 712 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 515 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Saddle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Saddle Motel

Property: Silver Saddle Motel
Address: 2810 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87507-2341
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Saddle Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Silver Saddle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Saddle Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing