We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Reasonable price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Saddle Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Silver Saddle Motel
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

My granddaughter and I were on our way home from Oklahoma to Utah and we stopped in Santa Fe for the evening. I booked this hotel based on the reviews and price. I was pleased with the service and the fact that I could pull my car right up to the door of our room to unload since a five year old is little help in that department. The room was comfortable and well stocked. The air conditioner worked very well. Yea! The desk clerk was very helpful in pointing us to a good place to eat and suggested we could find a map of the plaza in our room brochure. The only problem was that it had been torn out by a previous guest. Oh well thank goodness we have google maps nowadays. The breakfast was well done and it had great outdoor patio seating. Very charming! Overall this was a very good place to stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    219
    36
    8
    5
See reviews for
137
333
87
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Excellent hotel! Wonderful staff and the place was full of character. They had a beautiful patio garden area to eat breakfast. It was awesome experience. However, if you are looking for brand new this isn't the place for you. The place is a 1950's rustic cowboy motif surround with flowers. Super cute! Our room had a flat screen television, fridge, and microwave. Breakfast was great, especially for the price. Santa Fe can be expensive. Yet, It was just a wonderful experience overall and I plan on coming back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tessa22281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Great little motel! The front desk gal was very nice and helpful. The room was excellent. We stayed two nights. Everything was super clean. We enjoyed our stay and would stay there again. The only issues are that the parking is tight--so take the smaller vehicle. The only other issue is that ants were coming in the bathroom window--I am a reasonable person and know that happens. Ants can get in anywhere, so I don't knock points off for that one. Just something to be aware of for some folks. Love this place and deem it to be my second favorite motel along Route 66.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Outdoorsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheat Ridge, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Yes, this is a roadside motel off a busier street in Santa Fe - it is not the Ritz Carlton. Regardless, we greatly enjoyed our stay at the Silver Saddle! The grounds are kept up well. The room was smartly appointed - especially as we had a dog-friendly room, the floors were tile and walls were block to make for easy clean up, which meant our room didn't smell from every pet that had stayed here before (big bonus). The bathrooms were really nice!! Hand painted knobs on the cabinets, and a nice big tile shower. We liked the theme(s) to the rooms as well - we were in the Willie Nelson room and had some Willie art decorating the walls. The owner(s) were really nice as was anyone we interacted with from the front desk. Each morning they had a small breakfast available with some strudel, cereal, toast and milk/juice (plus some great conversation!!). We especially liked chatting w/ the proprietor - she was a sweetheart and regaled us with some funny stories and great tips for enjoying our time in Santa Fe.

Bottom line, Silver Saddle is clean, kept up well, pet friendly, and run by very nice people. It is also an exceptional value in what can be a pricey locale. For a traveler on a budget, look no further than Silver Saddle - unless you take their last room and I am coming to town - then you should stay somewhere else. :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

My recent-college-graduate daughter and I stayed at the Silver Saddle for 4 nights over the Memorial Day weekend while driving cross-country to relocate her to Los Angeles. The Silver Saddle was built in the early 50s, and is the kind of motel my family stayed in when I was growing up and we went on a driving vacation. This place is a piece of living history, and is wonderful - if you appreciate this kind of lodging (if not, book at a chain and save everyone angst). The continental breakfast is adequate and just fine for a quick start to the day, and the coffee is good. The staff and owners all are friendly and helpful, and full of good advice, maps, and assistance for whatever you need or wherever you want to go. It is about a 10-15 minute drive to the Square, depending on traffic.

The Western-themed rooms vary in size, beds, and amenities, with some of the "standard" rooms having small 1950s shower stalls, while other rooms are larger, with more spacious bathrooms. (I had a look at some of the other rooms for nostalgic purposes; they are what I remembered from "back in the day.") So, ask when you are booking to find a room that will be to your liking. We stayed in #2, the Roy Rogers room, and loved it. It is one of the largest rooms (along with room #1), and had a kitchenette area that was quite handy. Originally I had some trepidation because it was so close to Cerillos, the main drag, but we had no issues with noise, traffic, and the like. At night the traffic diminishes. (The lower the room number, the closer to Cerillos.)

Our room was clean and well-maintained, with comfortable beds. It was spacious enough to allow me to work at the table at one end (by the kitchenette) while my daughter slept at the other end. Because we had been on the road for almost 2 weeks, the laundry service offered was perfect for our needs - $10 for a full load that was washed, dried, folded and returned to us on the same day.

All told, we had a wonderful stay at the Silver Saddle Motel, and definitely would return. If staying at a motel on old Route 66 is your thing, this is the place!

Room Tip: We liked the Roy Rogers room, #2 - it is a large, very comfortable room. The lower the room number...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SteveAndKaren11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Wonderful "historic" motel. Owners are on site and it is family run. Great place to really meet and talk with the people who live in Santa Fe. On the retail strip so bring your car. (saw some europeans cabbing it, which is doable but not ideal). Breakfast is okay and the setting is nice and conversation is plentiful and free flowing! Jackalope is next door and good for retail therapy and kids. Rooms are small to medium in size. Bigger rooms are close to the road but the noise is not bad when the door is closed and you have the AC running. Shower in room 1 is awesome. Less so in room 6. I would highly recommend staying here. They did everything to make our stay comfortable and you can't beat the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JPTR_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

First of all, with all of the rave reviews, we knew we had to stay at the Silver Saddle Motel! We called a week ahead to make our reservations for two beds and got lucky with the Roy Rogers room #2 (2 queen beds). We loved the western motif! Cute! The motel had some age on it, but this just gave it more character and was really overlooked because everything was quite tidy and well decorated. We had no problem with the office manager, Dawn, while making our reservation over the phone. This girl was so warm and friendly that we ended up talking longer than any typical reservation call in the past! We were able to meet Dawn the next morning after checking in and learned that she had owned the hotel for the past 4-5 years and her mother had owned it previously for over 20 years! This motel was part of the family and this family know's how to run a good business! The continental breakfast was nice too. Fresh pastries, coffee, juice, breads and bagels, fruit (bananas & plums). Attached to the office was a nice outdoor patio to enjoy your breakfast also. The temps were perfect to sit outside in June! When we were getting ready to check out, Dawn gave us so much information about the Santa Fe area and things to do and see. She was a true Santa Fe native and wanted nothing more than to make sure we were absolutely satisfied in every way. More "Dawn's" are needed in the world! We would definitely stay at the the Silver Saddle again if given the opportunity. If you're open to new experiences and don't mind sleeping at a MOTEL rather than a HOTEL (it's not the norm for us either!), try this one out. You'll be glad you did! (note: no swimming pool, but there was wi-fi! We were ok with that!)

Room Tip: Roy Rogers room #2 with 2 queen beds was close to the office by the main road. There was a lot of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Castro-MD-CW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Inn At Santa Fe
#30 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
El Rey Inn
#17 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#8 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Saddle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Saddle Motel

Property: Silver Saddle Motel
Address: 2810 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87507-2341
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Saddle Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Silver Saddle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Saddle Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing