We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Saddle Motel
Ranked #10 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

You can't go past The Silver Saddle for your stay in Santa Fe. It is eclectic and quirky, like stepping back to a time when cowboys roamed the plains but with all the mod cons of a modern motel. Our room was so comfortable it even felt like a small apartment. The cool nights were so cozy with the heating available. The best shower I have had in a long time. Breakfast is a lovely experience set out in Reception, plenty of opportunity to meet other travellers from all over the world. Dawn, who runs the motel, absolutely made our stay, we had no need to go to the Visitors Bureau, Dawn knows everything there is to know about Santa Fe and surrounding area, she is an absolute treasure!

Room Tip: The Shoofly room (no 1) was very roomy located right next door to Reception. Closest to the highway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    228
    41
    8
    5
See reviews for
156
359
90
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Do not be fooled by the exterior, the rooms were charming, quaint and clean. Felt very homey. Small but clean and country western theme...cutely executed. The staff were amazing, beyond helpful and so joyous and charming! Offer free continental breakfast in their kitschy front office area and adjoining adorable courtyard with bistro tables. This is not your typical motel stay it is full of charm! 3 miles from downtown or take public shuttle from right out front for nominal fee. Will definitely come back!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemah, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This is an old style quirky motel. We stayed in the "Roy Rogers" room and thought it was just great. While not large we had plenty of room for us and our stuff. It had a nice little kitchenette. In the shower it seemed to take a while for the hot water to get going and there was no bathtub. No problem for us but my be for somebody else. There is a cute courtyard area outside of the office. The continental breakfast was surprisingly good. Good selection of items though nothing hot. We liked it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wedtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

The rooms were clean and comfy. We didn't notice any noise problems. The room included an old kitchenette which could be useful. The rooms have old air systems and is pet friendly, so I wouldn't recommend it to allergy ridden folk. It felt like staying in the guest bedroom of a relative. The owners are super friendly. Only problem was the dead bolt wouldn't lock because of settling probably and no window lock on front window. Hopefully having this posted online for all to see will prompt them to do the small adjustments needed to remedy this security issue. .. last room on left under stairs.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We paid $51.30 before taxes for a king size bed in a clean room. The motel is old and quirky, but completely adequate for a one night stay. The soap and shampoo are minimal, so bring your own if you're picky. The location was good, they serve breakfast and the room has a fridge and microwave. If you're looking for a bargain - this is it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GotaWearShades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We made reservations for the Silver Saddle due to the reviews. It reminded us of vacationing when we were kids, The room was small but spotless. It was a nice change from the chain hotels we normally stay.

Room Tip: If you should stay at the Silver Saddle bring a cake of soap. What they supply is a very small bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TDBArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive Branch, Mississippi
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Booked this motel based on the trip advisor reviews. From the pics I was surprised that it was on such a busy street, not a big deal just wasn't what I was expecting. The employees were very knowledgeable about the area. It's obviously an older motel but it is kept up really well. Had a nice water pressure in the shower. This place was seriously clean! It had a cute little courtyard area to have you continental breakfast. The whole property is maintained really well. If you're expecting all shiny and new this ain't the place for you. If you're looking for something cool and eclectic, well book yourself a room. We stayed in room #1 right next to the office, the Shoofly Room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,288 reviews
El Rey Inn
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
763 reviews
Comfort Suites
#15 of 60 in Santa Fe
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,232 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,562 reviews
The Santa Fe Suites
#48 of 60 in Santa Fe
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Saddle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Saddle Motel

Property: Silver Saddle Motel
Address: 2810 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87507-2341
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Saddle Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Silver Saddle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Saddle Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing