We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Route 66 in Santa Fe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Silver Saddle Motel
Ranked #7 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Route 66 in Santa Fe”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stopped at the Silver Saddle on the drive between Carlsbad Caverns, NM and the Great Sand Dunes, CO. We wanted some of the old Route 66 motel nostalgia. This is a really nice vintage hotel. It takes you back in time to an era of travel prior to the interstate highway system. The room was spotless and the beds comfortable. The owners were very helpful and full of recommendations. I really enjoyed the variety of collectibles in and around the motel. It is not in the central tourist area but it is an easy drive to get there. It is where we will stay on our next trip to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FrankR_Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    229
    41
    8
    5
See reviews for
158
362
91
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poland, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Tiny room, very old but fun decor and everything you need for a good night's sleep. It also had a frig, microwave, and extra sink in the main room. Everything was clean and cowboy in a great location. Very reasonable. I think they gave us a real deal, $59 all inclusive and there was even breakfast in the morning. We like non-corporate alternative places and this really fits that bill. Would stay again.

Room Tip: There are many rooms named after famous cowboys with different amenities. I would ask next time. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poetjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

On our way during a great roadtrip from New York City to Rio de Janeiro, we had an amazing stop at the Silver Saddle Motel. The owners were super nice and helpful. Because of this, the place is one of the nicest motels I've been to in the United. States

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wouter81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Nice themed rooms and really excellent staff - the lady on reception was really kind and offered loads of help and advise and let us use her phone to book our next accommodation.

Reasonably priced and decent location for Santa Fe.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boelyjammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Stayed 3 nights as a base to explore Santa Fe and Los Alamos, cannot fault the place. Very clean and updated yet in keeping with the finest Route 66 traditions. The shower and bathroom modern and spacious, the room big enough for road trippers bags and the bed was clean and very comfortable. What more can you ask? Miguel and family are lovely owners to chat to. Breakfast is above the standard of the budget chains. It is outside of downtown Santa Fe but the bus stop is right outside and $2 buys you a day ticket which drops you off one street from the Plaza. We were also recommended a close by restaurant which was so good we could not bear to eat anywhere else (Dr Field Goods Kitchen).
We were the closest room to the road and there was some road noise but it was Route 66 and you stopped right by it! It's just that traffic has got much heavier. There was more morning noise from breakfasters passing by who wanted it chat right outside the window!

Room Tip: The rooms at the back will have less road noise but are the smaller ones, if you want a king bed, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sooz0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

If you're a budget traveller who still likes a comfortable bed and great hosts try out the Silver Saddle in Santa Fe. You need a car to get to the old town and tourist attractions and the rooms are small but who goes on holiday to enjoy the room? Continental breakfast is included in the price and the unit I had (Annie Oakley) was quiet despite being a hundred yards from Cerrillos Rd.

Room Tip: Check how close your room is from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bteam12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Wyatt Earp room for 5 nights in March. It was so charming! We had a king sized bed, a flat-screen TV (not sure about which channels because we never turned it on), a refrigerator, microwave, a table and chairs and a small wardrobe. The bathroom had gorgeous tile and lots of storage space, and the shower was huge.

There was a small problem with our heater--it would turn off after a while, which was a bit unfortunate in NM in March. We told the desk about it, and they helped immediately by showing us how to reset it. They also offered to call a repairman, but we weren't that bothered by it, so we just took an extra blanket and burrowed in at night.

Breakfast was pretty good. Unfortunately, I have a gluten allergy, so my options were limited, but there was fruit and some cereal for me to choose from.

Everyone at the desk was so nice, too. They were all so interested in the guests and getting to know everyone, and they were full of suggestions for restaurants and bars.

The only negative (which is a bit of an overstatement) is that it's a good distance from downtown, and the cabs were on the expensive side, making it a little difficult to go out at night without having a DD.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,302 reviews
El Rey Court
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
767 reviews
Comfort Suites Santa Fe
#15 of 60 in Santa Fe
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Santa Fe Suites
#48 of 60 in Santa Fe
476 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,271 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#8 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Saddle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Saddle Motel

Property: Silver Saddle Motel
Address: 2810 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87507-2341
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Saddle Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Silver Saddle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Saddle Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing