We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it last summer, headed back again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Saddle Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silver Saddle Motel
Ranked #9 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved it last summer, headed back again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed here one night last summer on a road trip with my daughter, and just loved it! Yummy little breakfast in a darling courtyard, and we stayed in the Cowgirl room, which felt appropriate on our trip around the west. Such a great thing that reasonably priced place can still be so nice in this day and age. Plus--amazing shopping next door at Jackalope.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    199
    32
    7
    5
See reviews for
126
295
79
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Owned and operated by a family that cares about quality and making you feel at home in Santa Fe. Each room has a distinct character and furnishing with a south west theme. If you want to linger over breakfast you can share stories with Dawn and fellow travelers. A real gem - much more than the price would suggest.

Room Tip: They all have a distinct character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosalind H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

This IS the place to stay while visiting S F. Conveniently located to all destinations. Dawn was so helpful - she knew everything and how to get there - great recommendations and advice. Yes, the place WAS funky, and that's a compliment. Clean and well appointed rooms, recently remodeled - everything shine and new. Unless you're looking for a massage and spa, this place is great - book it and enjoy it!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELD
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We took Amtrak from Iowa to Lamy, NM in order to attend a 40-year art retrospective by my cousin in Santa Fe (at Yares Art Projects). We found the Silver Saddle Motel through Trip Advisor reviews, and it was all we expected and much more. Penny, the owner, has created a true oasis in the desert with her outdoor potted plants. Her daughter Dawn, as well as Miguel and Gene, are wonderfully knowledgeable at the front desk and give excellent advice (and directions) on things to do and see in beautiful Santa Fe and its environs. The Silver Saddle is indeed a retro motel, very reasonably priced but immaculately clean, well insulated (we never heard any conversations from adjoining rooms), and comfortably furnished with a Western flair. Breakfast is served from 7:00 until 10:30, which is late enough for even the laziest travelers, and we were able to eat outside in a charming enclosed patio behind the office. Food is continually replenished, and one morning Dawn had just boiled more eggs since they were getting low, so I had mine hot enough to put butter on! We rented a car, and with a GPS were easily able to find our way around. We highly recommend the International Museum of Folk Art (dizzyingly fascinating), the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum, and making side trips to Taos, including the Taos Pueblo, as well as to the sculpture gardens at Shidoni (and a meal at the Tesuque Village Market). If we return, we will definitely stay at the Silver Saddle again.

Room Tip: Higher numbers (farther from road) are probably quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PATRICIA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We were looking for a room in Santa Fe reasonably close to the Plaza. Internet prices for this hotel seemed very cheap, which caused some concern. We decided to firstly drive by, then asked to look at a room. The room was clean tidy and all that you could ask for in accommodation. So don't let the price fool you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wotacroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I recently had a fantastic stay for a girlfriend's birthday at the Silver Saddle Motel. It was pretty conveniently located on the drive into downntown. Dawn, the owner, has a tremendous wealth of knowledge about Santa Fe (and yes, Cowgirls bar and grill is totally worth it!). The rooms are clean, quiet, and well equipped (we had a TV, wifi, microwafe, minifridge, etc. Dawn even got us a spare bed. The vintage feel was so much fun, there was a small treasure in every corner to inspect and discover. The breakfast buffet is pretty hearty- boiled eggs, fruit, assorted breads/pastries, cold cereal, juice... and lots of hot coffee or tea. There is also a little sitting area in the office, next to the food, to read a book while you are grazing, or for great people watching. Will come back for sure, this time with my spouse!

Room Tip: we stayed upstairs, so it was set off the road area and pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeanine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

i stayed here for about 10 days. On the down side the sheets were worn and had holes in them, there's no coffee maker in the room, I had a few ants share my space, and the cleaners kept changing towels even though I left them on the racks. On the plus side there's a microwave and fridge in the room, it was pretty quiet when I was there (until someone moves in next door then you can hear conversations), there's lots of colour and character, Castro's is across the road and a great shop/ market next door. $1 takes you into downtown on the bus or it's a 5 minute drive; A couple of vego restaurants in walking distance, which gave me a break from the heavy South Western food; Staff are friendly; and the rooms are cheap which gave me more $ to spend on museums and eating out. I'd definitely stay there again as a budget traveller.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cowgirlup2, Manager at Silver Saddle Motel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
We appreciate your long term stay with us. Santa Fe is a great place to explore as there are so many things to see and do. We continuously strive to be the best budget motel in Santa Fe and try very hard to provide first class services like the more expensive properties. Sometimes we slip up. Sorry for the (w)holy sheets. Occasionally we miss removing those from service. And the sugar ants are really active when they first wake up in the Spring. Tough chasing 'em all over the motel. We have a professional exterminator come once a month as a part of one of our many routine maintenance items. Part of our "Green Initiative" is that we don't change linens every day but at intervals which assures room cleanliness and comfort for our guests. Note that we do offer, just for the asking, coffee makers and hair dryers at the front desk. This is one of our secrets for keeping our rates competitive. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
0.9 mi away
El Rey Inn
El Rey Inn
#13 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 689 reviews
3.2 mi away
Old Santa Fe Inn
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,340 reviews
3.3 mi away
Inn of the Five Graces
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa
2.7 mi away
Santa Fe Sage Inn
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#27 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,130 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#15 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Saddle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Saddle Motel

Property: Silver Saddle Motel
Address: 2810 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Saddle Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Silver Saddle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Saddle Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing