We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very nice place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Saddle Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Silver Saddle Motel
Ranked #10 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

This place looks quite plain and unassuming from the outside and the rooms are simply decorated in a Southwest theme but they are clean, quiet, the beds are comfy and the shower was great. Very reasonable rates and very pet friendly. Breakfast in the office with the other guests and with Dawn, the manager, was always a treat. Dawn is very warm, friendly, knowledgeable and helpful in planning your stay in Santa Fe. The motel is next to a big complex of stores called Jackelope that has rugs, furniture, blown glass done right there in front of you and souvenirs and home furnishings from all around the world. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank acroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    219
    37
    8
    5
See reviews for
141
336
87
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

heater in room would not turn on so front desk guy had to come to room to light pilot light

tv remote also dis not work

i was tired (road weary) so i turned tv off,

however; i could here the tv in the adjacent room coming in from behind my headboard.

not a great experience

motel lobby is rather a downer

contintental breakfast?

no thanks

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davetheitguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I loved, loved, loved this motel!!!! I stayed here while taking a weekend course at the nearby community college. The room was perfect- clean, beautifully tiled bathroom...no complaints. It was located halfway between the community college and downtown Santa Fe which was perfect. The staff was super friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again. This is definitely the best place to stay for the amazingly low price. What a find!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aimee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River,Western Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night at the Silver saddle motel and it was great!
Great price
Great location
Great staff
Great decor in rooms and clean.
I would recommend a stay here if you are wanting to visit Santa Fe. As we were to young girls road tripping it was great to have some where that was quiet and felt safe for us to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Courtney J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, New Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed there Dec. 14th and were not impressed. Yes it was clean. It was also blatantly redone by "do it yourselvers." Uneven ceilings, different ceiling textures, walls unprofessionally moved and microwaves and sinks "stuck" in places they might fit. My wife is glutton intolerant so we looked at the breakfast and ate elsewhere. Seemed skimpy, nothing hot and little fruit and cereals. We were also in the closest room to Cerrillos Road and it was real noisy. The shower was nice. We stayed because of all the good reviews. Sorry not impressed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMT_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cowgirlup2, Manager at Silver Saddle Motel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Vintage motels are presented with many challenges not the least of which are encroaching traffic and renovation creativity. When the motel was built in 1953, Cerrillos Road was the two lane Route 66 and we were way out in the country. We're sorry about the traffic noise but all the budget motels in Santa Fe are on Cerrillos Road and the traffic does quiet down after 9pm. Being on a main thoroughfare of Santa Fe is one of the things that makes us convenient. We are more than happy to move guests to another room should they find the one they're in not acceptable. Our continental breakfast is simple and is meant to get one going in the morning. Your comments are appreciated and we sincerely work very hard to satisfy our guest at our humble motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

The very good: Tidy, pleasant rooms. Comfortable beds. Wonderful prices. Sweet decor. A decent breakfast in the mornings. Good wifi connection.

What might be improved: Hooks for hanging clothes and towels would do wonders for making most out of space that sometimes is a little too cozy.

The best: The owners and staff are genuinely friendly, informative, and gracious. We were included on a Christmas Eve outing with the owner-family, which was so generous. They take pride in their enterprise and are enthusiastic about making guests' stays pleasant.

Overall experience: Welcoming, charming.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Livingrootless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cowgirlup2, Manager at Silver Saddle Motel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thanks for the positive comments! We too enjoy the holiday festivities in Santa Fe and sharing with our guests the Christmas Eve Canyon Road farolito walk. Our rooms do indeed need more hooks in the baths so the next time you come they'll be here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I've stayed at several "vintage, retro, route 66, etc." motels, mostly from tripadvisor with **** or higher ratings. This one though is definitely a *** among them. Room was small as expected from the era. It was clean, bed was comfy enough and the staff was very friendly per the ****+ tripadvisor ratings. The ambiance though of the whole deal was rather lacking and drab compared to others I've experienced with like ratings.

My first impression was a wabbly front desk at check-in. Then came the rooms (two rooms in our group) whose theme differences were so subtle as to be nearly identical. Bathrooms were neither newly updated nor period, but rather something in between. No facial tissues (in either room) was a bit more "budget" than I expected. The advertised in-room coffee maker on request seemed somewhat of a surprise when requested, with coffee for it seeming surprising as well as it was scooped from behind and presented in a plastic container.

Perhaps what it is now is an early start on what it might become, but what it is left me wondering if I might have found another period motel in town that better met **** expectations.

Room Tip: Both rooms of our group were nearly identical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cowgirlup2, Manager at Silver Saddle Motel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We do apologize for not meeting your expectations. Our goal is a simple one: to provide a budget room that is cute, clean and interesting to our guests. We are continuously adding improvements, including themes for many of our rooms, and modernizing guest conveniences such as flat screen televisions, outdoor patio and vintage store. Our wobbly front desk is certainly unique and is on our to-make-less-wobbly list. We do continue to strive to be the best budget vintage motel in Santa Fe and some of our processes are a little bit old fashioned but then that's what makes us unique and fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Old Santa Fe Inn
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
El Rey Inn
#18 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#28 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,013 reviews
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Saddle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Saddle Motel

Property: Silver Saddle Motel
Address: 2810 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87507-2341
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Saddle Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Silver Saddle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Saddle Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing