We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Saddle Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silver Saddle Motel
Ranked #9 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The Silver Saddle motel is conveniently located on Cerrillos Road, a short distance from the plaza, the museums, and the Interstate.
The rooms were absolutely clean and attractive. The staff were wonderful for giving advice for walks, activities and restaurants. An aedequate breakfast of cereal, fruit, bagels, and hard cooked egg is included. And, the charge was very reasonably priced. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room #1 had a big bathroom. There was some noise in the a.m. for breakfast preparation, but otherwis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kencrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    199
    32
    7
    5
See reviews for
126
295
79
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Family run motel, which is more what you would expect from an independent motel. Great, charming rooms, which are clean and spacious. The breakfast had great variety. Wireless worked well. The owners give good advises on the activities and sightseeing around Santa Fe.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank traveltreksleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
194 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

During our trek around New Mexico, SS by far offered the most memorable hotel stays. We stayed in the Willie Nelson room: clean, comfortable and spacious. Kitschy decor and pictures of Mr. Nelson filled our room. That's the thing about this hotel, there is so much character. If/when we go to Santa Fe, we'll definitely have to try another room.

Breakfast is basic, but enough to get you through the day. There's oatmeal, breads, bagel, peanut butter, packaged pastries, coffee, juice. If you're looking for something more hearty, ask the knowledgeable staff for recommendations. Speaking of, they're very friendly and attentive. I witnessed an interaction where a group of friends arrived early and the clerk offered them early check-in...nice touch.

The hotel is about three miles outside of the plaza. There is a bus that offers direct service to the center of town. Seeing that we had a car, though, we opted to drive. Again, the ever-helpful staff pointed out places where we could park for free.

Silver Saddle is a really great place to stay. It's comfortable and the staff are very helpful. If you find yourself in Santa Fe, be sure to stay a night (or two).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Comfortable king bed, although there seemed to be plastic sheeting on the mattress (as noted by others). Bathroom was small, but clean, with plenty of hot water and good water pressure. Breakfast in the lobby was the best part of the day; a great opportunity to see the quirky characters who stay here. The motel was quiet, despite being located on one of the main roads into Santa Fe. The room decor is adorable--we stayed in the Wyatt Earp Room. The rate was $45/night plus tax. Friendly staff. Biggest drawback is that the motel is pet-friendly, so my husband suffered from allergies during our entire stay. And the room smelled like bleach.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bijou7551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cowgirlup2, Assistant Manager at Silver Saddle Motel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and we always use our customer's feedback to continuously improve our motel. Only a select few of our rooms are pet-friendly and we do our best to place guests in rooms according to whether they have a pet or not. It's our policy to perform a thorough cleaning of pet rooms after a stay which includes washing all linens – blankets, pillows and comforters. Also the majority of our pet rooms have tile floors to aide with the removal of pet hair. Once again thanks for your input and we look forward to your future stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Silver Saddle - in the Outlaw Room! A basic, clean, vintage motel at a very reasonable price. Perfect if you plan to spend most of your time out and about. Friendly staff and owner. Next door to Jackalope - a marketplace show casing area crafts and arts, as well as import goods. Close to eating establishments and Cerrillos Road seems to be a main artery in Santa Fe. Minutes from Old Town Santa Fe and Plaza.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everywhere, US
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We enjoyed our first encounter with the motel, which involved driving on gravel, parking practically right outside the door, and admiring the well-kept outside porch, garden (with a nursery?), and Western-themed decorations.

We got the Billy the Kid room. The decor was country-style, modest, and charming. The room was clean and comfortable, with quilt comforter on the bed (and extra blanket just in case), wood furniture, tiled bathrooms, fridge/microwave, TV. Intense and loud gas? heater on the wall. Wi-fi worked well. Continental breakfast (bagels, toast, oatmeal packets, boiled egg, coffee/tea/juice) was served in the hotel lobby.

Overall, great value and quite cozy. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Billy the Kid room would be great for couples (one Queen-sized bed).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roadwarrior Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermillion, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Our stay was delightful! Very clean and comfortable. Hotel staff so nice and helpful regarding sightseeing tips. We had booked one night, but liked hotel, staff, and location so well stayed another night. The continental breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingSusieQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
0.9 mi away
El Rey Inn
El Rey Inn
#13 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 689 reviews
3.2 mi away
Old Santa Fe Inn
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,340 reviews
3.3 mi away
Inn of the Five Graces
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa
2.7 mi away
Santa Fe Sage Inn
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#27 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,129 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#15 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Saddle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Saddle Motel

Property: Silver Saddle Motel
Address: 2810 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Saddle Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Silver Saddle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Saddle Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing