We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Motel and a reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Saddle Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Saddle Motel
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Motel and a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Silver Saddle - in the Outlaw Room! A basic, clean, vintage motel at a very reasonable price. Perfect if you plan to spend most of your time out and about. Friendly staff and owner. Next door to Jackalope - a marketplace show casing area crafts and arts, as well as import goods. Close to eating establishments and Cerrillos Road seems to be a main artery in Santa Fe. Minutes from Old Town Santa Fe and Plaza.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    210
    34
    8
    5
See reviews for
131
315
84
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Everywhere, US
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We enjoyed our first encounter with the motel, which involved driving on gravel, parking practically right outside the door, and admiring the well-kept outside porch, garden (with a nursery?), and Western-themed decorations.

We got the Billy the Kid room. The decor was country-style, modest, and charming. The room was clean and comfortable, with quilt comforter on the bed (and extra blanket just in case), wood furniture, tiled bathrooms, fridge/microwave, TV. Intense and loud gas? heater on the wall. Wi-fi worked well. Continental breakfast (bagels, toast, oatmeal packets, boiled egg, coffee/tea/juice) was served in the hotel lobby.

Overall, great value and quite cozy. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Billy the Kid room would be great for couples (one Queen-sized bed).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roadwarrior Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermillion, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Our stay was delightful! Very clean and comfortable. Hotel staff so nice and helpful regarding sightseeing tips. We had booked one night, but liked hotel, staff, and location so well stayed another night. The continental breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingSusieQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Each of the rooms have a different theme. We stayed in Billy the Kid room. The beds were comfortable, the room clean and the continental breakfast wonderful. The owner and staff were very friendly and made us feel like we were one of the family. Good location. I'd definitely recommend staying at this hotel. We'll be back the next time we are in Santa Fe.

Room Tip: Each of the rooms have a different theme. Check their web site and photos to choose your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sschrooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I spent 4 nights at the Silver Saddle, while spending days doing day hikes in the area and enjoying the cuisine. The room was relatively small, had some period western kitsch on the wall, and was cleaner than average. Other than the stuff on the wall, there's not much architectural decoration to the room itself. The shiny semi-gloss paint on the walls and ceiling was a little off-putting at first, but I got used to it. The room had a fridge and a microwave. No coffeepot or hairdryer. Bed was comfortable. Through-the-wall a/c (the fan can drown out external noise) and some sort of wall furnace. There was a little noise through the wall from neighbors, but at reasonable hours, and, like I said, the a/c drowned it out. The lobby has some neat beams in the ceiling that my room didn't have. Breakfast included toast, bagels, other packaged bread, cheerios, raisan bran, fruit, orange juice, good coffee, and boiled eggs. Front office staff were all quite personable. Nice '53 Chevy pickup out front for show.

All in all, it's not the nicest vintage motel out there, but the price is right, it's safe, clean, and comfortable for about $50, a great deal these days. I'll definitely stay there again. It has way more character than any of the chain places up and down Cerrillos Road.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoeTraveler999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
210 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I really like this place. Second time here, new owners, just as nicely done. It's an oldie, motor inn. Such charm. In a nice way too. Clean, updated, gently used furniture though without losing the older western feel. First time stayed in the John Wayne room, this time in Lone Ranger's. Our dog was very welcomed. They had a "dog run" on the side which we sat out on for awhile. I've never seen a hotel with a dog run come to think of it. So all were happy. Had micro and fridge. Probably small breakfast, but we went to The Pantry Kitchen down the road for my husband's birthday. He's a big Western fan.
I read some of the other reviews. I agree fully...cute, well maintained, spotless, refreshingly done well, nice lobby.
We'll always stay here coming through ALB!

Room Tip: Remember your room number...they are sandwiched between same looking cypress firs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angell66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
588 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 680 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

While on a recent 11 day trip through northern New Mexico we stayed for three nights at the Silver Saddle Motel in Santa Fe. I suppose those who want unlimited amenities in a brand new chain place could be wanting more but we did not. Yes, the Silver Saddle is a few decades old but is well maintained, cute, and spotless. The management was so friendly and helpful (especially owner Dawn). The room we had was plenty large and very clean. Plus it was very affordable in what some consider an expensive town. The breakfast was the standard continental fare and you could eat in a backside patio, in the lobby (especially on a cold morning) or in your room. The Silver Saddle also has a few rooms that are larger than the others for a few more bucks, just in case you like lots of room. The motel is a about a couple of miles from Old Town and most tourist sites on busy Cerrillos Ave which is lined with other motels, restaurants, stores, and more. Also there is no pool but we were not in Santa Fe to swim with all there is to do in this great town. We give a strong recommendation for the popular Silver Saddle.

Room Tip: If you need more room then book one of their larger ones for a few dollars more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank unclelouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Old Santa Fe Inn
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,383 reviews
El Rey Inn
#17 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 716 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#28 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Saddle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Saddle Motel

Property: Silver Saddle Motel
Address: 2810 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87507-2341
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Saddle Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Silver Saddle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Saddle Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing