We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location @ A Great Price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Del Toro Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #29 of 37 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The 2 bedroom B&B was fantastic! The place was clean & has a well laid out floor plan. The 2 bedroom were at opposite end of the house which gave us our own privacy if needed. Also had a small family room with a television or you can sit in the living room-dining room.

One of my favorite artist, Georgia O'Keefe Museum was just 700 feet away! Many great restaurants and museums were within walking distance.

Fantastic location for a great price! Definitely will be staying here again whenever I am in Santa Fe!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KWong1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 226 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and I wanted to take a trip to sante fe saw this so called "bed and breakfast" getting there we drove in circle trying to find it when got there the office which wasn't an office at all was closed and there were keys with names in envelopes which none of them were ours had to call them to get our room. When they gave us our key we came to our place which had looked like a run down old shack. The place was old looking and smelling there were roaches crawling around the house and inside looked nothing like the pics posted on website. There was no iron hair dryer shampoo that were suppose to be provided and the dishes that were there were filthy. The only good part about the room was the bed was comfortable. The breakfast part was no breakfast in bed I have ever seen u had to walk blocks away to eat mini pastries and tea and coffee. I was very disappointed in this place!!!! Would not recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lona1661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I assume people read only the 5-star and 1-star reviews, right?.

Well, I read the Terribles and I agree with most of the analysis. But for my purposes, these qualities make for an Excellent.

We stayed for three days in the two-bedroom duplex at 316A Staab ($88/night). Here's what it looks like:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_vXT33zvaaM

You can spit on the O'Keefe Museum from there. The Plaza is another two blocks.

It had a full kitchen (with plates & cutlery in the cupboards) with laundry facilities. The bathroom was sunny (a skylight) and new (remodeled). One queen and one king bed, on either side of the bathroom.

In general, the placed seemed spotless, clean and maintained. But yes, there was water damage on the wall and floor of the queen room. I wasn't bothered by it. (I don't think mold is allowed to grow in New Mexico.) The floor was a bit dusty everywhere, probably because all the windows are left open. Yes, even in July the adobe keeps the heat out. The "swamp box" referenced in on of the Terrible reviews was capable of cooling the whole apartment, but it didn't seem necessary most of the time.


It's a ten minute walk to Albertson's, and a 1.5 miles to Trader Joe's and Whole Foods. The local bus ($1 per trip, $2 for day pass) will haul you and your groceries back.

If you're an attorney, in town for a trial at the federal courthouse; or if you have some government business; you probably won't find a better intermediate-term accommodation. It's a block to the federal building, and about 4 blocks to the Capitol.

Canyon Road is easy walking/pedicab distance. The pedicab is actually kind of expensive, at a dollar per minute. Here's the view: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FggNvA923BU


If you go to Canyon Road, I recommend visiting the Wiford, even after business hours: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a9p5uLPAbQg

Room Tip: There was a barking dog next to the "office" house at 323 Mackenzie. The rest of the neigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank rob-mccolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This a perfect location. Restaurants, shops, and galleries are a short walking distance. Nice place for the price and the best value in Santa Fe in my opinion. The place is clean and cute, but like mentioned above, the location beats it all. The Hosts are very nice as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vittorio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights, at the Staab St location. Really liked the location as downtown was completely walkable. (Some people might think 1 mile too far)
The room was not fancy, in fact rather antiquated. Everything functioned well, though. We were very happy with the value, and personal service we got.
Also note that B&B is for certain rooms only.
I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schlabach85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We found Casa Del Toro online while searching for hostels in Santa Fe. Walkability and proximity to downtown were of special importance to us. The 'check availability' tool on this B&B's website allowed us to check out when there were rooms available, and we noticed they offer special hostel rates for last minute visitors! We called in and spoke with Jody about the possibility of staying in a casita for a low rate, at the last minute, for under their 3 night minimum (we stayed for two nights).
Jody was able to give us everything we asked for - a great rate on a downtown location in peak tourist season. She told us in no uncertain terms that this room was not their best one (324 Staab Unit B), but we usually stay in hostels while traveling, so this was a definite upgrade for us - and the room was pretty comfortable. We didn't have breakfast here, never even checked to see if one was provided to guests. Make no mistake - the house is not posh. These accommodations are perfect for someone on a budget who wants to stay downtown. These are not resort-quality casitas/rooms - but they aren't just falling apart either! The room, sheets, towels, shower, kitchen, etc. were all clean. The little house is older and has not been renovated in the last couple of decades, but everything worked.
Here's the important part - We were given an incredible deal, and we were told exactly what to expect by Jody over the phone while reserving the room. The floors creak, the windows don't open, the knobs in the shower are loose - however - we slept comfortably, the neighborhood was quiet and a stone's throw away from the plaza, and the whole experience was just great!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

After reading some of the great reviews on TA, we selected Casa del Toro. We stayed in the unit at 323 McKenzie. What a disaster! While the place is advertised as a B&B, we got no breakfast. The shower was terrible; it was a modification to an existing tub, and we could not stand under the shower head. The bathroom was very cramped with no counter at all. The door from the kitchen into the office was sprung, so we could not lock it. This place was a dump and I would NOT recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rosie1727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
645 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,667 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,641 reviews
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Toro Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Toro Bed & Breakfast

Address: 229 McKenzie St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-1830
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range: $70 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Del Toro Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An affordable bed and breakfast in the heart of the Santa Fe Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Casa Del Toro Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Toro Hotel Santa Fe
Casa Del Toro Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing