We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs to work out kinks, like Breakfast Included on Confirmation.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Del Toro Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #28 of 36 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Needs to work out kinks, like Breakfast Included on Confirmation.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

Was looking forward to our B&B here after reading reviews and the great location. We had a welcoming Intro from the staff and received a note that we were upgraded to a new room. However, the upgrade was to one of the old army barracks, where yes the floors are really creaky and loud, and the other casitas around us were not all B&B but tenant occupied. We had to change rooms the next day, because the whole night we were awakened by the dog next door walking on the creaky floors, so if you want a quiet night I would not recommend these rooms The staff were friendly and accomodated us to a new location for the rest of our stay.
However, the BIG Disappointment was the lack of communication between the management and staff on our breakfast, after all I had booked this room here because it said "For this terrific price breakfast is included in your stay", but I was told that breakfast is not included in rooms under $100. I stay at b&b's for the breakfast! When we showed up the first morning for breakfast I brought my printed confirmation which confirmed breakfast was included , showed it to the staff, who said we could have it for today, but would have to pay additional if we wanted it for the rest of the stay. I was really disappointed considering I had in front of me my confirmation and it was not honored. Inconsistent customer service does not win points with me, and I will look at many of the other recommended B&B;s in the area where it is not a game as to whether I will get breakfast or not. For a simple " honor the customer confirmation moment", they may have won a few points.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveltonewplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casadeltoro, Owner at Casa Del Toro Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
One of the biggest obstacles we face is that we run a Vacation Rental business and a B and B and as hard as we try sometimes people get confused. They think they are booking at a B an B and end up in one of our self serve cottages. We have just discovered a way to make that a little more clear and it will be included in all future confirmations.

The second issue we deal with is that we have a wide variety of cottages, studios, houses, etc. We work very hard to make sure that people know what they are getting, including videos of each room that we send before and after the guest makes a reservation.

We also have a policy of upgrading guests, for no extra charge, whenever we are not full and in our mind the room change was very much an upgrade. The room we moved them too was much larger, it had a king bed and a full bath vs. a queen bed and just a shower in the unit they originally booked. The unit they were upgraded is part of a building that was originally built over 100 years ago to house officers at the local Army fort. It is not 100 percent sound proof and we tell everyone that. If you want hermetically sealed rooms I would suggest the new Marriott on the edge of town. If you want location and character with some idiosyncrasies I would suggest staying with us.

And finally I do not know who this guest was but there were a few days in the last 2 months when both cooks were out of town and we were very careful to make sure that the guests staying with use knew that. Obviously we missed with this guest. If there was a cook available we would have gladly served them breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    35
    11
    18
    14
See reviews for
29
91
32
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2011

I felt so completely welcome when I arrived at Casa Del Toro, and the feeling lasted throughout my stay. The staff could not have been friendlier, the room was very comfortable and good value for the location. I plan to stay there on all future visits to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2011

Great location, park the car and walk everywhere from here. Some have kitchens to warm leftovers or for a quick breakfast. Pet friendly in the cooler months.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarCaban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2011

There are two major draws for staying at this location. The first is Paul, the manager of Casa Del Toro. Not only is he overflowing with information, he is just about the nicest person you'll ever meet. He thoroughly answered every question we had and then stuffed us with chocolate chip cookies. Need any more be said?
The second is the awesome location. For the reasonable rate you'll pay, you're only about two blocks from the plaza and walking distance from anything you'd reasonably like to do. The rooms are wonderful and the breakfast kicks butt! Go there! Now!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barenakedcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2011

Going to Santa Fe, or anywhere other than a ski resort or a Caribbean Island, in January is always rolling the dice. But we had the time off, had never seen Santa Fe and the forecast was great for sunny weather in the 40s, so we hopped a plane to Santa Fe. Being last-minute travelers, we didn't have much of a plan, but happened upon Casa Del Toro B&B/"casitas" on the website for the shuttle from ABQ to Santa Fe. How lucky we were! We arrived at the central office located a mere three blocks from the central plaza area and were greeted by the manager, Paul, who quickly recognized us as the newbie tourists we were and took us under his wing. Not only did he show us two perfectly fine stand-alone or duplex studio apartments at the rate we were quoted, but he then escorted us to an awesome one-bedroom unit with a separate sitting room with Kiva fireplace and full kitchen...for the same price (in fact, he threw in an industry discount...). But that was not all...he then sat us down for fifteen minutes with a map of Santa Fe and told us where to go, how to get there, what we could expect to pay...what priority we might assign to various sights...his favorite restaurants...an we wisely followed his directions. This small gesture saved us hours of wandering and allowed us to maximize our fun in the two-and-a-half days we had to become oriented with this great town. The room was not luxurious but we were not prepared to pay for luxury...we got comfort, quiet, plenty of space, walking distance to everything for a price we were very happy with. Plus, we got the bonus of a b&b staff--Paul--who genuinely cared about our stay, was proud of his city and it may be noted, helped several merchants get some business in the off-season. We had the best stay of any b&b we've ever been to. Thanks Paul!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsetter0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albuquerque
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

Great staff service and good bang for the buck in a location really close to the plaza - beats a standard hotel room by far with an ambience that allows you to experience a 'homey' feel in Santa Fe

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetpea2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

Absolutely fabulous. We were upgraded to a bigger room that had a kitchen, living room with fireplace and TV, and a king sized bed. The bed was huge and plush, with a beautiful red comforter. The bathroom was large and luxurious. The room was very New Mexico, adobe style...just beautiful. The kitchen had utensils, plates, and pots and pants. The price was unbeatable! Breakfast was delicious and the staff was very friendly. It is a quick 5 minute walk to the plaza.

I am sad we were only staying one night, as we needed to continue on the road early the next morning. On our next trip to Santa Fe, we will more certainly be staying here for more than one night. You must stay here!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kd43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#24 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#27 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Downtown
El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Toro Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Toro Bed & Breakfast

Property: Casa Del Toro Bed & Breakfast
Address: 229 McKenzie St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-1830
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Del Toro Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An affordable bed and breakfast in the heart of the Santa Fe Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Casa Del Toro Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Toro Hotel Santa Fe
Casa Del Toro Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing