We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back in time.”
Review of King's Rest Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
King's Rest Court
Ranked #38 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Middle TN
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Step back in time.”
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Clean and reasonably priced with a convenient location. Bathrooms have been updated but hotel is clearly a throwback to the past. Loved the garage. Room had a sitting area with frig. No breakfast or coffee is provided. Front desk lady was friendly and helpful. If you are seeking luxurious accommodations, then keep driving. However, if you are seeking clean and cheap, then you've found your destination.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tnoccther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    39
    20
    4
    4
See reviews for
18
38
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

This place is truly charming! Close to the Plaza, and very near several terrific thrift stores on Cerrillos worth visiting. We walked to the Tecolote Cafe for breakfast, which is a favorite of locals, and around nearby neighborhood, admiring Santa Fe style. Very safe, quiet. Room was like the 70's, but with a flat screen TV. Loved having our own carport! Can't beat it for the price.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank j_warren_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

Stayed 3 nights and was pleased with everything about the place. Not fancy, but serves the purposes of someone who needs a place to sleep and shower before seeing the sights of Santa Fe and the surrounding towns. Found everything clean and neat on afternoon or evening returns. Carport is cool! Quiet room, with good firm bed, nice shower, cool air conditioning as well a fridge and coffee maker. Wireless password given at check in. Would do it again. Good location between historic Santa Fe and the growing southern area. Alot of possibilities close by. Plus good eats both north and south. Sits just south of the historic old city. 5 minute direct ride to busy section of old city. Bring quarters to old city or use daily parking ($9 for all day or by the 1/2 hour) in lots near Cathedral of Saint Francis of Assisi.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StatenIsland56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

I thoroughly enjoyed my short week in Santa Fe at Kings Rest Court . Although Cerrillos Rd is a busy one at times, the motel is across from the Indian Boarding School and it was closed for summer. The room walls are thick and I never heard a peek at night from neighbors or traffic.
The motel is a charming., old fashioned one with adjacent carports for your vehicle. My room had a king bed, dresser, end tables, good lighting, a small dressing room, walk in closet with plenty of wood hangers, and a full modernized bathroom with shower. The sleeping was better than good with a supportive mattress and softly laundered linens. Also had a dorm size refrig, coffee and hot water maker, but no micro. There are nearby neighborhood restaurants and a couple of more upscale places. Free high speed internet connection and new flat screen TV with cable. Very secure door and windows. Enjoyed using the bus stop right up street, direct route running every 15 min to Town Plaza and attractions. Nice owners and excellent housekeeper. Ready to return to Kings Rest and the City Different for a longer stay-- again, on a Budget !!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank yarbord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2010

I have been coming to Santa Fe for the last ten years, and during that time have stayed in many hotels. For the all around value the Kings Rest is the best in Santa Fe. I have never had a dirty room or an uncomfortable bed, and the owners have become friends. I would recomend the Kings Rest for security reasons as well. They have the old style rooms with an attached garage and in ten years I have never had a break in, and in this day and age that is a miracle! Lastly, when you stay at the Kings Rest you feel like you are back in the fifties and sixties when things were a little more simple but nice.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank william_budagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

We stayed at King's Rest for 2 nights and would definately stay again! The room was spacious with an anteroom that provided the extra room we needed for all of our gear! Each room has a mini-fridge but no microwave. (I was told no room has a microwave). The bed was fairly comfy, but a little firm for my tastes. The linens were horrible and did not stay tucked in (flat sheet on the bottom). I had requested a room at the back so as to minimize street noise but was told that they had stay-overs and could not accomodate that request. I like to sleep cold so left the a/c on all night but had that not been necessary the street noise would have been bad. The advantage to being closer to the front was having wi-fi access. Overall, the motel has been well cared for and the owners continue to refurbish rooms. The bathroom was nicely done but a bit tight. The carports are nice! but there is very little extra parking - we had two cars. I'd like to have better fitting sheets and a microwave, but would definately stay at King's Rest again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank laugh67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2010

Arrived at the motel and it didn't look too bad, the rooms are set out like a classic kitch 60's cul-de-sac and each room has it's own parking space next to it. We went inside to find an Indian man who's English wasn't great and he wasn't that friendly or helpful, simply swiped my credit card, made me sign.

We walked into the room through a door that didn't fit properly and left large gaps to the floor which let the cold in, as did the massive hole that was in the floor in the room disguised as a 'vent'. Along with this there was an ugly large metal fan on the
wall and the furniture looked like it had been purchased from the Psycho movie set (which unlike me, my friend enjoyed)

In fairness though, the other man who I asked about the internet to was helpful and ther room was clean. The internet however was awful and just wouldn't connect properly for most of our stay. The bathroom looked like it had been recently updated and the room had a large plasma TV. Although the money for the TV could have been better spent on
on remodelling the room.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a_boy_called_rita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Fe
Quality Inn Santa Fe
#47 of 60 in Santa Fe
325 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Santa Fe Suites
The Santa Fe Suites
#48 of 60 in Santa Fe
478 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Rey Court
El Rey Court
#22 of 60 in Santa Fe
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe
1.5 mi away
Silver Saddle Motel
Silver Saddle Motel
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
774 reviews
3.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#14 of 60 in Santa Fe
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Rest Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Rest Court

Property: King's Rest Court
Address: 1452 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87505-3548
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — King's Rest Court 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1930's, Kings Rest Court, is located in Santa Fe, NM, where heritage, history, unique attractions, museums, natural beauty, and outdoor activities are waiting to be discovered. We are just minutes from the Historic Plaza, Golf Courses, Casinos and the Santa Fe Ski Basin. Diverse attractions, location, and affordable accommodations make Kings Rest Court Santa Fe the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your King's Rest Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Rest Court Hotel Santa Fe
Kings Rest Court Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing