We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Santa Fe lodge...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn of the Turquoise Bear
Ranked #2 of 37 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2014

The property at the Inn of the Turquoise Bear, and it's 160+ year history is quite amazing. We stayed here during the International Folk Art Market in Mid-July. The landscaping is beautifully executed and well maintained. The common area offered a large living room, dining area, and several places to sit outside throughout the garden.

The manner in which the rooms are laid out make the place quite magical. My family and I stayed in the Willa Cather Room (#8) and Edna Millay Room (#9). We shared a bathroom, which was perfect for the three of us. The windows were difficult to open making the rooms a bit stuffy. However, the breakfast was delicious, the host(s) were very hospitable, and the location was excellent!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank FR3E5P1RiT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turquoisebear, Owner at Inn of the Turquoise Bear, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Thank you for the review Jeremy and for the fabulous picture you posted! We enjoyed meeting you, Donna & Lacy! As new owners of this historic Santa Fe estate, we have begun to improve the comfort of our rooms while attending to our guests. We're very pleased you enjoyed our ample, multi-course breakfasts and took advantage of our close proximity to all of Santa Fe's charms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 458 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2014

It's hard to say what the best thing is about staying at the Turquoise Bear. It could be the delicious breakfast in the stunning dining room or it could be the attentive but never intrusive service of the knowledgeable innkeeper. Maybe it's the delightful conversations over complimentary wine on the patio or in the living room. One other guest summed it up over breakfast one morning when she said, "I want to live here."
We've stayed at the Turquoise Bear twice and will most definitely return. Best of luck to the new owners of this treasure!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DickinsonMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turquoisebear, Owner at Inn of the Turquoise Bear, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Our return guests are very special to us! We agree that we're among the best places to stay in the City Different! We will continue to challenge ourselves to make our guests' experience even more enjoyable! We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

The host of the Inn was helpful, friendly, and available as needed, in addition to being a wonderful chef. What an excellent breakfast, both mornings! Our room was clean, comfortable, with a porch area in the front. Beautiful gardens, too. We enjoyed a glass of wine in the late afternoon with other guests, complements of the host, and learned more about the area. We would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank nancy_knows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turquoisebear, Owner at Inn of the Turquoise Bear, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Thank you Nancy! We enjoyed having you and Steve stay with us during your visit to Santa Fe. The Spud Johnson room provides ample privacy with it's private portal patio overlooking the gardens. We enjoy getting to know our guests with the lively conversations during breakfast and with wine on the patio! Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Inn of the Turquoise Bear was recommended as a must-stay but was much more than that. We were warmly welcomed, had marvelous gourmet breakfasts, and enjoyed the gardens and peaceful meditations after a day in Santa Fe. Meeting fellow travelers at breakfast was the adventure. And.we were part of one wedding and celebrated another. We would go back just for a retreat and the warm hospitality. Thanks so much Dan.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JKiburz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turquoisebear, Owner at Inn of the Turquoise Bear, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Thank you for the kind review. It WAS a busy time during your stay with two wedding parties making the most of our acre of beautiful gardens. We strive to create a warm, comfortable, and stress-free environment for our guests and their friends! So glad you enjoyed your visit. Do come back soon! Be well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Spent four nights at this lovely Inn over the 4th of July weekend and had an excellent time. The Inn is old, but, in general, has been kept up-to-date. The location is a 15-20 minute walk to the Square and to many of the major restaurants and attractions. A minor problem with sink plumbing didn't reflect negatively on the lovely room, the Igor Stravinsky. The innkeeper, Dan, is a terrific cook and very knowledgeable about the Santa Fe area and local restaurants. The breakfasts were wonderful. For the four days, he served; lemon/ricotta/blueberry pancakes, biscuits and southwestern sausage gravy, breakfast bread pudding, and a southwestern frittata, along with a daily breakfast buffet of cereal, fruit, juice, and breads! The wine and cheese hour+ allowed the guests to mingle and discuss their day or just get to know one another. The grounds were really lovely with all kinds of flowers, shrubs, and trees.

Two cautions: The bathrooms come with different sizes of showers, tubs, etc., so check with the innkeeper regarding how tall the shower is from the floor, because if you are too tall, you may not fit between the ceiling and the floor of the tub/shower. Also, the Inn rooms and grounds have many steps, so the mobility disabled would not be happy staying here. Though there is one room that is accessible and Dan would be happy to bring breakfast to the room, most of the grounds and the rest of the Inn would not be accessible.

I loved this Inn and will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DrDee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turquoisebear, Owner at Inn of the Turquoise Bear, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Thank you for the review Lloyd! You so accurately describe the joys and realities of our historic, quintessential rambling adobe estate. We enjoy treating our guests to a gourmet, multi-course breakfast, as well as afternoon tea and evening reception. What fun it was to have a group of friends like yours enjoy this historic property much as Witter Bynner did in his days. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband and I spent three nights at the Inn, celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary. It was the PERFECT spot! The rooms are quiet and the gardens provide a relaxing spot to sit and read, or listen to the birds singing in the morning. Although the Inn is tucked away, it is an easy 10 minute walk into the Plaza. Perhaps the best part of the Inn is Dan! His breakfasts are delicious, and he made us feel right at home. Snacks and wine were a great treat too!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turquoisebear, Owner at Inn of the Turquoise Bear, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Barbara, thank you for the kind review! It was such a pleasure to help you and Ken celebrate your 20th wedding anniversary here at the Inn. I enjoyed getting to know you both better over wine and snacks in our living room and the lively breakfast conversations you shared with other guests! It's a great pleasure and honor to meet such wonderful people from all around the world! That's what makes staying at a B&B the "better way to stay"! We hope you come back often to further explore all that Santa Fe and Northern New Mexico has to offer! Be well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed in the lovely D.H. Lawrence suite for two evenings and regret not being able to stay longer. This is unlike any Southwestern B&B we have experienced because of its rich heritage and feeling of seclusion, while tucked away in a location convenient to the historic Plaza. The suite was as clean as the rhymes of its famous tenant, and the elegant breakfast cuisine kept us lingering through many sparkling conversations with the hosts and fellow guests. A bucket list must-stay for arts and literature aficionados, we wish it another century of guests who appreciate gracious living.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmartSojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turquoisebear, Owner at Inn of the Turquoise Bear, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you for the well versed review Ed! Witter Bynner’s quintessential rambling adobe estate does attract those who love art, literature, music, and lively discourse. We love that you enjoyed following in the footsteps of others who’ve stayed at the estate in Witter’s days such as DH Lawrence (who spent his first night in the U.S. here) as well as O Henry, Cather, Millay, Stravinsky, and O’Keeffe. We strive to provide, comfy, warm, and friendly hospitality that Witter and his guest would have enjoyed…fitting given that the estate and grounds is one of Santa Fe's most historically significant properties. Hurry back Ed! We’d love to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,402 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
621 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
621 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#8 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,611 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Turquoise Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Turquoise Bear

Address: 342 E Buena Vista St, Santa Fe, NM 87505-2623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range: $199 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Turquoise Bear 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience warm Santa Fe style and charm in this quintessential rambling adobe estate occupying an acre of terraced gardens walking distance from the Santa Fe Plaza, Canyon Road, and Rail Yard. Our Santa Fe bed and breakfast will pamper you with gourmet breakfast, afternoon tea, twilight social reception, and concierge service. Guests will also enjoy complimentary parking and free Wi-Fi internet. Constructed in Spanish-Pueblo Revival style, our Santa Fe inn dates to the mid-1800's and is one of Santa Fe's most historically significant buildings. Located just 6 blocks from the Plaza, Canyon Rd, restaurants, shops and galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Inn of the Turquoise Bear reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Turquoise Bear Bed And Breakfast
Inn Of The Turquoise Bear Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing