We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for your Money”

Red Sage Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Sage Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #102 of 555 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Public transportation runs from Santa Fe Metro to Buffalo Thunder Resort via bus and Rail Runner service.
Description: Explosive, innovative Southwest flavors in an intimate, fine-dining atmosphere. Acclaimed for its inspired Native, European and Latin cuisines, Red Sage is your destination for your next romantic night out, business dinner and drinks or group event. Fare rotates seasonally, and our extensive wine selection will wow the most discriminating tastes. Red Sage also offers a private dining experience for any need. Our smaller Private Dining Room can accommodate 14 guests and our larger room can accommodate 14 to 30 guests. Both spaces are perfect for Receptions, Dinners, Conferences, Board Meetings, Rehearsal Dinners, Baby and Bridal Showers, Birthday Parties, Anniversary Celebrations, Intimate Dinner Parties, and Corporate Dinners. Red Sage has a diverse Wine Selection of domestic and European varieties. This collection includes numerous local producers and wine makers with familiar labels and approachable pricing.
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Value for your Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

The menu seems pricey, but you get what you pay for. My 20-year-old son ordered a rare New York strip steak and it was out-of-this-world excellent. It was cooked to perfection. If you win some money at the Buffalo Thunder casino downstairs, spend it up here--at Red Sage!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris I, Manager at Red Sage Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I'm very happy you enjoyed your meal. We pride ourselves on serving local, New Mexican beef and are thrilled you enjoyed the quality and experience. Please join us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    71
    39
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Expensive”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Ridiculously expensive for no more than $2.00 worth of food on the plate. You are paying for the ambience.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank vodaelixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris I, Manager at Red Sage Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed to read you found the meal too expensive. We do take great pride in the quality and creativity of our culinary presentations. I hope you will give us another oppotunity on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Be kind to your wallet - go to Santa Fe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

If you were thinking of eating here go to Santa Fe instead, or eat at the O' Eating house across the street; your wallet and your stomach will thank you. Otherwise think diner, pay gourmet.

This is basically a steak house with little else on the menu. Moreover, the wines are pricey and limited in selection; the wine list is grouped according to flavor rather than region, presumably for the novice, this makes it irritating to navigate. The restaurant space is modern and elegant and the service is average to good; but how much Sinatra can you listen to? It was probably a mistake to order fish, but my wife and I did. The water painstakingly took our order for medium-rare then delivered thoroughly overcooked travesties. This was our first and our last visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anchoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris I, Manager at Red Sage Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and regret the experience was not what you expected. We are constantly revising our menus and offerings to appeal to our local guests, as well as our traveling visitors. I hope you will give us another oppotunity on a future visit. Please ask to speak to our manager, Nancy, who as sommelier can ensure your wine selection and also guarantee your food is cooked to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington. VA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Expensive, uninspired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

There is a reason Red Sage is nearly empty on a Friday night. Great ambiance and very good waitstaff serving up high-priced entrees that are entirely forgettable. Undercooked lamb rack and over cooked duck served with a slightly sour but otherwise tasteless cherry demi glacé. The kitchen is clearly bored. Go a mile north to O Eating House for much more interesting choices at half the price...

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AAPW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris I, Manager at Red Sage Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I hope you will give us another oppotunity on a future visit. Chef Ka'ai is revising menus weekly to ensure the best, most creative seasonal offerings. Your comments have been shared with our culinary and service staff. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, New Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of our favorite spots to eat in S.Fe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have eaten dinner here a few times. Service is quite good, menu changes seasonally. Wine list is great. They sometimes serve goat butter with the homemade breads. Yum!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Sage Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Red Sage Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing