We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful, welcoming Madeleine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #3 of 41 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Claremont, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, welcoming Madeleine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2007

I was privileged to stay in the Madeleine, one of the 3 buildings that comprise Hacienda Nicholas. The individually decorated room was comfortable, and made very attractive with its stained glass windows, large fireplace, flat screen TV and private bath. The stay was enhanced by the conversations over delicious breakfasts of fresh fruits and regional menus, afternoons with wine and cheese, and freshly baked treats (which were also available whenever we came back after sightseeing and shopping. Most of us were there for the opera, and were delighted with the conversations brefore and after performances when we gathered around the goodies. Staff were a great resource for anything we wanted to do in Santa Fe. I will stay there again next year.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank p-apple458black
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    44
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
49
357
45
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2007

My husband and I joined a friend for a four-night stay at Hacienda Nicholas in early August and were delighted at our accommodations. Beautiful rooms, great food (breakfast and late pm appetizers with wine), and a wonderful environment to relax and unwind. The Hacienda rivals the best Santa Fe hotels for charm and location !

  • Liked — The rooms were charming.
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Faye13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2007

Stayed three nights at Hacienda Nicholas. It was a wonderful experience, not just a place to stay. The hospitaility is wonderful as the Inn has a beautiful patio where guests sit to enjoy the early evening wine and cheese and snacks and the morning breakfast that always includes at least one cooked item. It is wonderful to meet the other guests from all over the world. The Nicholas Room was wonderful with beautiful furniture, an extremely comfortable bed and lots of room, including a sitting room that was very comfortable and homey.

The hosts were very available and exceptionally accomodating providing little things that helped including diirections and recommendations for activities and restaurants. The location is ideal just a short walk to the Plaza and most in-city activities but the feel of the Inn is country-ish because of its hacienda style and interior setting with lots of plants and flowers.

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EllCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2007

We stayed at Hacienda Nicholas for our second night in Santa Fe-We thought that after the lovely place where we had stayed the night before we could only be disappointed but in the contrary it was a lovely surprise. The place is beautiful and the location is great. The inn keeper was really chatty and helpful. The breakfast was really good and we enjoyed taking it in the courtyard while gathering visit tips from the other guests. There is a cake buffet that is available all day long, it felt very homely. We also were very glad to stay in a place that is conscious of the environment and we did not feel that the concerns of the owner in making the inn more environmentally friendly lowered the standards in any way. I would absolutely recommend the inn and stay there again myself.

  • Liked — Homeliness and decor
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lyds76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowmass Village
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

My wife and I have stayed at the Hacienda Nicholas for many years. We enjoy the Nicholas simply because of room choices and close location to the common outside dining and socializing area and lobby. Ownership and staff are wonderful and are pleasant when offering service. We have stayed in many accommodations in the Santa Fe area over the past 25 years and have settled on the Nicholas as our first choice. The breakfasts are home made and fresh each morning. Local foods are used and herbs picked from the courtyard garden add a great touch. When returning from the opera or long hikes there are always snacks waiting for self-service in the lobby. The decor blends well with the feeling of Santa Fe and provides the ultimate Santa Fe experience. The enclosed courtyard offers a quieting place to reflect singularly or converse with others. Room cost is reasonable compared with other similar accommodations in the Santa Fe area; and discounts for returning customers is a nice offering. The walk to the Santa Fe town center about 5-blocks away is easy. Off street parking is very convenient at the Nicholas. Since we visit Santa Fe yearly with friends we try to all stay at the Nicholas. A word of advice, book rooms early, especially during summer months. Some guests reserve their favorite room years in advance. Our group always books one year in advance in order to lock in our choices. Enjoy!

  • Liked — Convenient location to Santa Fe sites and shopping
  • Disliked — Nothing of significance
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colorado_Visitor07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2007

This is the second time we have stayed here and for good reason, We are always treated lke dear old freinds and the food is beyond description. Every nuance is attended to. The convenience of the B&B to the Plaza is wonderful everthing within walking distance. The rooms are so elegant, yet cozy, you feel like your in your second home. We highly recommend that if you are considering a stay in Santa Fe you go to the Hacienda Nocholas or alexanders inn website and check it out. Reasonably priced. An Experience you shouldn't miss.

Sincerely Yours
Ron & Nancy Kemp

  • Liked — Convenience to the Plaza and the food
  • Disliked — Can't think of a thing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rlkincn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oaxaca, Central Historic District
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2007

My wife and I are owners of a Bed and Breakfast and booked the Hacienda Nicholas with the highest expectations. First of all, simply serving breakfast does not define a Bed and Breakfast or the Holiday Inn would call itself a B & B. We arrived late on Friday night, being told that our key would be behind a square planter. There was no staff from Hacienda Nicholas and all the lights were out. We found our keys and entered the inn with great difficulty in the dark. The next morning we were served some kind of dry strada along with a nice dish of fruit and good coffee. Each morning the main dish was the same--some kind of strada that they find easy to cook. Our room was small but cozy. However, in the bathrooms they have commercial soap dispensers instead of boutique type soaps. The bed sheets were worn thin.
Maybe our expectations were too high, however at nearly $200 per night they should be pretty high. As we define a Bed and Breakfast there should be some kind of personal touch--preferably from the owner. The Hacienda Nicholas is operated as a business. The owner is out of the country and the 3 B & Bs in their chain have a central office and staffing. We have no complaints against the staff, they were personable and efficient.
The property itself is very nice and well located. We just hope that the owner(s) try to pay more attention to the details.

  • Liked — location, afternoon wine
  • Disliked — breakfast, lack of personal attention to details
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juanitobosque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2007
I regret not being present to meet the guests who wrote this review. Yes, I was out of the country, but was on a vacation. I actually live just three blocks from the inn and am there almost every day of the week. I am deeply involved in every aspect of the inn, from interactions with guests to choosing the furnishings, planting and tending the gardens, doing all the shopping, maintenance, and so much more. Hacienda Nicholas is run very much from my heart, and not as a cold business. I care so very much about the inn and work so very hard - thus I am most grateful for the opporunity to get away for awhile with my family.

As for the late arrival, none of the small inns that I know of have staff around the clock, and instead have a system of leaving the keys and late arrival instructions for guests. We communicate this with guests when they book with us, so they know ahead of time that our staff leaves at 8pm. We have lights at the door, the courtyard, parking and in the interior. Because we are intent on being an eco-friendly property, we do not leave all inside lights burning, but leave four lights on in the living room for guests after hours. Should anyone want to sit in the living room, they are welcome to turn on more lights of course. As for the soaps, again, in the interest of being eco-friendly, we recently changed to the dispensers. We realized we were throwing away so many little plastic bottles of half-empty lotions, shamoos and soaps and that just did not seem right, given our global environmental crisis. So we found a high quality supplier for these same amenities and now don't throw out a lot of plastic. It is unfortunate that these guests did not like the breakfast. We serve a variety of egg dishes with different ingredients, along with bacon or sausage, or a stuffed french toast, or waffles. Along with that we have locally baked organic bread, organic yogurt, homemade breads or muffins, homemade granola and fresh fruit salad. We also take requests for vegetarian/vegan diets and then will stir fry tofu and veggies. Our guests typically rave about our breakfasts.

Again, I am sorry I was not personally present to meet these guests. Hopefully they will have empathy for the fact that I was on vacation, as I am guessing that they too were on vacation from their own inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,825 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,378 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 515 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 320 E Marcy St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting B&B offers guests a true taste of the Southwest. Enjoy a great night’s sleep in our beds of feather and down. Unwind in the peace and tranquility afforded by extra thick adobe walls or go one step further and experience sublime bliss next door at the Absolute Nirvana Spa. Savor the luscious scents from our heavenly rose garden and partake of delectable Southwestern inspired breakfasts and afternoon wine & cheese. Let our dedicated staff help you make the most of Santa Fe so you can have the holiday you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Nicholas Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing