We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (672)
Filter reviews
672 results
Traveler rating
605
49
11
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
605
49
11
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other guests sunflower room chamisa suite bed and breakfast blue corn waffles homemade granola common room cookies nirvana spa happy hour social hour b bs each morning wine and cheese within easy walking distance plaza and canyon road few blocks
Filter
Updating list...
340 - 345 of 672 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at The Casita, a cozy and very private suite located just a few blocks from the Plaza and downtown Santa Fe. We loved being able to walk everywhere and really enjoyed the daily walk to and from breakfast at the main inn (which was 3-4 blocks away). While driving to breakfast was certainly an option, we loved getting some fresh air and sunshine in the mornings!

Speaking of the breakfasts, they were delicious, and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. We also enjoyed chatting with the other guests, who were friendly but not intrusive.

Our little Casita was just the right size for us and had everything we needed, from a teapot on the stove to warm robes in the bathroom. And we loved cozying up by the fireplace in the evenings. We hope to come back very soon!

Room Tip: The Casita is great if you'd like a more private room. Getting to breakfast does require a short walk or drive, but on a quiet and lovely street.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

We very much appreciate you writing in to let us know of your stay in the Casita, and how much you enjoyed the location, the breakfasts, and the suite itself. While many guests prefer being at the inn itself, I can certainly relate to the desire to have the privacy afforded by one of our off-site little houses, while also having all the B&B amenities of breakfast and the evening social hour. Sitting in front of the kiva fireplace at the end of a day of seeing the sites is indeed a lovely way to end the day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I have returned over the past 10 years many times, typically stay in the Nicholas suite, and every time have no complaints. The breakfasts are wonderful, and the staff not only friendly but also available and helpful. (We have stayed at The Madeleine too, and, especially as the b&b's share the Hacienda Nicholas for breakfast, enjoy both sister lodgings.) We are particularly happy that the owner, Carolyn, is typically part of the breakfast experience, and we are pleased that she has always taken a serious part in the daily workings of both inns. We plan on returning annually, and look forward to another wonderful base for our treks in northern New Mexico.

Room Tip: It's worth a bit more to stay in the larger rooms; they are very pleasant.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJT12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

I can't tell you how gratifying it is for us to have so many guests like you who come back time after time, year after year. As you pointed out, I am very much a hands-on owner, and for me it is heartwarming to see the familiar faces of returning guests, exchange hugs and get caught up on life. Thank you for very much for taking the time to write of your ongoing experience of staying with us at Hacienda NIcholas. I look forward to seeing you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My partner and I stayed in the "Cottage", a private lodging a few blocks away from the b&b but our breakfasts were included in the main house. This was perfect for us. The decor was lovely and simple and the more traditional cultural touches were appreciated. I personally didn't love the mattress in the cute upstairs bedroom but that is a personal preference - my partner had no complaints about it. The breakfasts we enjoyed quite a bit as there was effort to incorporate some traditional foods, and then fresh fruit and yogurt and granola was always available. We very much enjoyed the conversations with other guests and really appreciated two valuable suggestions from the staff - George (who honed in on some 'hip' thriftstores that might be more up our alley) and the other gentleman (who I can't recall his name - sorry) who was also a photographer, who told us of a market where his friend sold beautiful native-made jewelry.
We did experience some communication issues - quite funny trying to follow the map in the cottage to the main house :) but with a bit of a sense of humor and a willingness to clarify, everything was fine. I would certainly not hesitate to recommend the Cottage or from what we experienced of the main house. We definitely plan on returning to Santa Fe and wouldn't hesitate to book the Cottage again.

Room Tip: For a more private retreat with the benefit of joining others for breakfast, The Cottage is highly recommended.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

I am so very happy to know how much you enjoyed The Cottage, one of our Alexander's Inn Vacation Rentals. I love that little house, and enjoyed living there for five years myself. I regret that you didn't love the mattress - we use Sealy Posturepedic pillow tops, which offer a firm mattress but lovely cushioning between your body and the mattress. Guests often find them so comfortable that they ask us for the brand and model information, but clearly, this is a personal matter.

We are delighted that you appreciated the variety of foods offered at breakfast as well as the helpful tips you received from various members of the staff. I haven't studied the directions we have been giving out for the past several years, but will give them a close review and see what we can do to make them more clear. The back streets of Santa Fe can be very confusing, as the town is not at all on a grid! This is definitely part of the charm of the town, but can make life difficult for visitors and locals alike. I am sorry you got lost, and we will do our best to help future guests have a better picture of how to get from A to B.

We look forward to your next visit, and appreciate your recommendations of The Cottage as well as Hacienda Nicholas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had the Sage room. Small, but perfectly adequate. The bed was devine! Breakfast each day was over the top, but you could also get cereal and toast if the prepared meal was too much. Easy walk to the square and to Canyon Road and lots of great restaurants. Also, off street parking. Finally, the people working there were very helpful with information about santa fe. Great place

Room Tip: Sage is small, but quiet and nice
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jck123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

You are right - the Sage Room is our smallest room, and perfect for travelers wanting to allocate their monies for restaurants, activities and shopping. It is good to know you found it had all you needed, and that you slept so well. In addition to great mattresses, we also have begun using a high quality micro-fiber sheet, which is like sleeping in silk. Glad you enjoyed the breakfast selections, help from staff and the location. We look forward to a future visit when you can perhaps see more of what makes Santa Fe so unique.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at Hacienda Nicolas during our 2 day stay in Santa Fe. Staff friendly and full of information on how to plan your day and assisting decisions on where to eat. We stayed in the Cottonwood room and found it comfortable and clean. Breakfasts were delicious and plentiful. This B&B has a great location within walking distance to all the great restaurants, galleries and sites in Santa Fe.

We highly recommend this B&B and look forward to returning on future travels to Santa Fe!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pschery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write in to Trip Advisor, and for letting others know of your experience. It is good to know you were so pleased with your room, the staff, the breakfasts and the location. It is certainly a plus that guests can leave their cars in the parking area and walk to most of the shops, galleries and restaurants of Santa Fe. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews