We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect private cottage available”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #3 of 36 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect private cottage available”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My partner and I stayed in the "Cottage", a private lodging a few blocks away from the b&b but our breakfasts were included in the main house. This was perfect for us. The decor was lovely and simple and the more traditional cultural touches were appreciated. I personally didn't love the mattress in the cute upstairs bedroom but that is a personal preference - my partner had no complaints about it. The breakfasts we enjoyed quite a bit as there was effort to incorporate some traditional foods, and then fresh fruit and yogurt and granola was always available. We very much enjoyed the conversations with other guests and really appreciated two valuable suggestions from the staff - George (who honed in on some 'hip' thriftstores that might be more up our alley) and the other gentleman (who I can't recall his name - sorry) who was also a photographer, who told us of a market where his friend sold beautiful native-made jewelry.
We did experience some communication issues - quite funny trying to follow the map in the cottage to the main house :) but with a bit of a sense of humor and a willingness to clarify, everything was fine. I would certainly not hesitate to recommend the Cottage or from what we experienced of the main house. We definitely plan on returning to Santa Fe and wouldn't hesitate to book the Cottage again.

Room Tip: For a more private retreat with the benefit of joining others for breakfast, The Cottage is highly r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
I am so very happy to know how much you enjoyed The Cottage, one of our Alexander's Inn Vacation Rentals. I love that little house, and enjoyed living there for five years myself. I regret that you didn't love the mattress - we use Sealy Posturepedic pillow tops, which offer a firm mattress but lovely cushioning between your body and the mattress. Guests often find them so comfortable that they ask us for the brand and model information, but clearly, this is a personal matter.

We are delighted that you appreciated the variety of foods offered at breakfast as well as the helpful tips you received from various members of the staff. I haven't studied the directions we have been giving out for the past several years, but will give them a close review and see what we can do to make them more clear. The back streets of Santa Fe can be very confusing, as the town is not at all on a grid! This is definitely part of the charm of the town, but can make life difficult for visitors and locals alike. I am sorry you got lost, and we will do our best to help future guests have a better picture of how to get from A to B.

We look forward to your next visit, and appreciate your recommendations of The Cottage as well as Hacienda Nicholas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    46
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
55
389
47
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Easton, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had the Sage room. Small, but perfectly adequate. The bed was devine! Breakfast each day was over the top, but you could also get cereal and toast if the prepared meal was too much. Easy walk to the square and to Canyon Road and lots of great restaurants. Also, off street parking. Finally, the people working there were very helpful with information about santa fe. Great place

Room Tip: Sage is small, but quiet and nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jck123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
You are right - the Sage Room is our smallest room, and perfect for travelers wanting to allocate their monies for restaurants, activities and shopping. It is good to know you found it had all you needed, and that you slept so well. In addition to great mattresses, we also have begun using a high quality micro-fiber sheet, which is like sleeping in silk. Glad you enjoyed the breakfast selections, help from staff and the location. We look forward to a future visit when you can perhaps see more of what makes Santa Fe so unique.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Setauket, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at Hacienda Nicolas during our 2 day stay in Santa Fe. Staff friendly and full of information on how to plan your day and assisting decisions on where to eat. We stayed in the Cottonwood room and found it comfortable and clean. Breakfasts were delicious and plentiful. This B&B has a great location within walking distance to all the great restaurants, galleries and sites in Santa Fe.

We highly recommend this B&B and look forward to returning on future travels to Santa Fe!

Green Features: Hacienda Nicolas has excellent policies and practices on being environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pschery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write in to Trip Advisor, and for letting others know of your experience. It is good to know you were so pleased with your room, the staff, the breakfasts and the location. It is certainly a plus that guests can leave their cars in the parking area and walk to most of the shops, galleries and restaurants of Santa Fe. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The staff is personable and helpful in everyway from planning your day and visits to restaurants to the smallest of personable details. This adobe style ranch with a wonderful enclosed patio and a large common room is the perfect place to feel at home. One can just hang out or join in talking to other guests from all over the country. Breakfest and afternoon snack time both of which take place here for both the Hacienda and the Madeline next door are wonderful and fun. The Madeline Inn next door has wonderful larger rooms in a Victorian and more formal setting. Also both places are with walking distance of most shopping and restaurants in Santa Fe. They are the perfect place for a holiday for adults.

Room Tip: the room around the common room are the most accessible to what is happening and the most homey. T...
See more room tips
Green Features: The environmently friendly pesonal products (soap, shampoos ect.) are readily available in wall dispensers in the baths, showers and near the sinks, Plastic, bottles, cans and paper are recyled. If your concern is the environment this is your place.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
It sounds as though you had a wonderful experience at Hacienda Nicholas, making great connections with other guests and with staff. We are all very happy to help acquaint guests with all there is to enjoy in and around Santa Fe, hoping to suggest the idea activities and restaurants for each person's needs and wants. We truly appreciate your feedback - it is gratifying to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband & I stayed in The Madeline(violet cottage) the weekend of the Balloon festivals for 4 days. We were very pleased at the accommodations in the cottage. We had everything that we needed and if we wanted anything the staff was available to get what we needed or point us in the right direction. We were very comfy and our privacy was also respected.
Each morning we enjoyed a healthy breakfast of organic foods with fruits, hot entrée, beverages and very good conversation with multi-cultural people. We met people from NY to California. We loved sharing our breakfasts also with the staff. The staff was always available to fix anything else we might want that wasn't on the daily menu.
There was always fresh baked goods and beverages in the afternoon, as well as great conversation with guests.
We scheduled spa treatment Friday morning, which was staffed the most professional masseuse's I have ever experienced. I wanted to treat myself and husband to a special morning for our Anniversary. The spa gave us both a luxurious, relaxing and memorable experience that I can't wait to tell everyone I know. Karin and Elaina were the best and made us feel like new people. I can't describe how we both floated out of there, but I thing they gave us wings!!!!!! I will definitely be returning here!!!!!!
Loved our stay here and will definitely be coming back!!!!!

Room Tip: Violet Room is brilliant for comfort and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write in to Trip Advisor regarding your wonderful stay at our sister inn, The Madeleine. The two inns operate very much in sync, with the food service provided for both inns at the Hacienda Nicholas, and guests from both inns enjoying the wonderful Absolute Nirvana Spa, in the back gardens of The Madeleine. I am delighted that you so enjoyed the Hacienda Nicholas breakfast offerings as well as your room and spa treatments at The Madeleine. We hope you will be able to return for another visit, perhaps for another anniversary celebration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

All I have to say is that this place is a top notch B&B from arrival to departure. Stayed in the Wisteria room. Room was long and narrow, but plenty of room to put our stuff in the room. Had two comfortable chairs and a TV. Only one window but a nice skylight. Common interior area, as well as the outside area of B&B were very nice. Very comfortable places to sit. Innkeeper, cook and housekeepers were all friendly. Very environmentally friendly. Would recommend this B&B to others. Located in a nice area and just a short walk to the plaza.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljohns27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay at Hacienda Nicholas. The room configurations and dimensions vary from room to room, due to the historic nature of this adobe hacienda. I thank you for recognizing the staff for being so friendly, and will be sure to pass that along. Thank you very much for taking the time to write in to Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

CHARMING main area that is SO Santa Fe. I've enjoyed every room I've ever been in. Best of all is the people the owner hires to tend to the place during breakfast and whenever. I've always found them welcoming and willing to be in conversation, and with kind of interesting backgrounds. Food is good too and the snacks they leave out are the best.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We are all so pleased that you have enjoyed staying with us on so many different occasions, and that your appreciate our efforts to offer an authentic Santa Fe experience. We certainly do have a great staff, made up of artists, theatre folk, caterers, craftsmen and native Santa Feans - glad you have had so many great conversations during your visits, and are happy with our afternoon and evening goodies. Thank you very much for writing in to Trip Advisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,289 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,243 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#9 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,581 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,604 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 320 E Marcy St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting B&B offers guests a true taste of the Southwest. Enjoy a great night’s sleep in our beds of feather and down. Unwind in the peace and tranquility afforded by extra thick adobe walls or go one step further and experience sublime bliss next door at the Absolute Nirvana Spa. Savor the luscious scents from our heavenly rose garden and partake of delectable Southwestern inspired breakfasts and afternoon wine & cheese. Let our dedicated staff help you make the most of Santa Fe so you can have the holiday you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Nicholas Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing