We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (663)
Filter reviews
663 results
Traveler rating
596
49
11
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
596
49
11
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestssunflower roomchamisa suitebed and breakfastcommon roomhappy hoursocial hourgranolab bseach morningblue cornopportunity to meetwine and cheesewithin easy walking distanceplaza and canyon roadfew blocksthe main house
Filter
Updating list...
339 - 344 of 663 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

CHARMING main area that is SO Santa Fe. I've enjoyed every room I've ever been in. Best of all is the people the owner hires to tend to the place during breakfast and whenever. I've always found them welcoming and willing to be in conversation, and with kind of interesting backgrounds. Food is good too and the snacks they leave out are the best.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VictoriaCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

We are all so pleased that you have enjoyed staying with us on so many different occasions, and that your appreciate our efforts to offer an authentic Santa Fe experience. We certainly do have a great staff, made up of artists, theatre folk, caterers, craftsmen and native Santa Feans - glad you have had so many great conversations during your visits, and are happy with our afternoon and evening goodies. Thank you very much for writing in to Trip Advisor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Another great vacation has come and gone. We had a wonderful time as usual; which was made even better due to the wonderful Innkeepers! They have always taken great care of us with courteous service and always with a smile.
We always meet new people, who become part of our yearly group and we look forward to seeing them during Indian Market! I recommend Hacienda Nicholas to anyone that is planning on visiting Santa Fe and wants a clean, friendly, almost home atmosphere for their vacation!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LueBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

We love that we are your "home away from home" and delight in welcoming you and Phil back each and every year. You and the Indian Market group bring such a positive energy and vivaciousness to the inn, which makes for a really fun week for one and all. We look forward to seeing you again next August. Have a wonderful year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Since discovering Hacienda Nicholas about a decade ago, we've stayed there every summer when we've visited Santa Fe for the Santa Fe Opera. Hacienda Nicholas is in a quiet neighborhood that is an easy drive to the highway to the opera, and a short walk to the Plaza, restaurants, galleries, and museums. It is an adobe house of historic interest, so there is nothing standard about it. Every room and every bathroom is unique in shape, size, and furnishing, but everything works (if there's a need for a new light bulb or the like, it's taken care of as soon as you let somebody know). Carolyn, the owner, upgrades the rooms while maintaining the meaningful local décor; for example, there are traditional Southwestern-themed tiles on a number of bathroom walls, along with new grab-bars for guest safety in the tubs. The breakfasts are excellent and are served with a smile and pleasant conversation. Cookies and coffee cake are left out for later in the day, even for late-night returnees from the opera. Carolyn and her staff can help you decide where to go for dinner, plus there is a mountain of well-organized information kept in the Great Room for guests to browse for ideas. Carolyn remembers her repeat guests from year to year, and makes Hacienda Nicholas feel like home away from home.

Room Tip: Each room is different, each with its own charm.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophieTosca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

What a wonderful and comprehensive review you have written of your stays at Hacienda Nicholas! Thank you so very much for taking the time to write in with your appreciation of the inn, particularly about the location, architecture, decor and service. As you point out, we are grateful to hear of anything that needs attention, i.e. needing a new lightbulb, so we can take care of the matter immediately. I am very pleased that you enjoy the breakfast and snack options, and that you have a sense of returning home each time you come back to stay with us. Thank you ever so much for your continued patronage, which we value most highly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have been going to Santa Fe for about 20 years...about 18 of those to the Hacienda Nicolas, and Madelaine Inn, owned by Carolyn. We have loved going so much that we just bought a house, and MOVED just outside of Santa Fe. And we STILL went into town and stayed at the Hacienda Nicholas during Santa Fe Indian Market. We have a group of friends that basically buy the place out and take it over during market. The location is great to park your car and not leave again. The staff of Regan, Marilee, Lois, George, Serge and Diana are there to take awesome care of you. The food is great, the personal service paid to each guest is amazing. Recognizing each guest by name...and greeting each of us with hugs. LOVE going to the Hacienda Nicholas...

Room Tip: The rooms are each decorated individually, with Santa Fe décor.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GwenKeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

It was such a delight, as always, to host you and the extended family of friends that has formed over the past 18 Indian Market visits. How wonderful that your interest in Native American art and culture continues to grow, and that you and the rest of 'the gang' continue to find such pleasure in staying together at Hacienda Nicholas. It is truly a joy to see all of you, and we hope the tradition continues for many years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

In the first week in July my husband and another couple with whom we were vacationing stayed at the Hacienda Nicholas. The B&B offered fabulous and sometimes unusual breakfasts. If the main choice of the day was not for us we were offered eggs and an arrray of cereals, granola, yogurt, homemade cakes and toast. We ate outside on a beautiful patio in the midst of gardens. If the weather had been inclement we could have eaten in the lobby which was decorated in a southwestern motif. Our rooms were very comfortable and clean. We saw the owner, who was very personable, at least once daily and sometimes more than once. The employees were friendly and helpful. The location was outstanding for visiting restaurants and shops in downtown Santa Fe....we walked to just about every place.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank SusanA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

I so appreciate your review of the Hacienda, noting our breakfast offerings, decor, rooms, location and set-up. The breakfast menu is varied, generally including regional dishes incorporating various chiles. While many guests delight in those dishes, we fully realize that chile is not for everyone, so are always happy to make a more conventional hot breakfast to go along with the buffet offerings. For much of the year guests love having their breakfast and social hour out on the patio, but during the winter months we always have a fire going in the great room, making for a welcome setting no matter the time of year. As you point out, I am there throughout the week, making sure that all goes as it should, and enjoying the opportunity to spend time with all of our guests - that is the highpoint of an innkeeper's life!

Carolyn Lee
Owner-Hacienda Nicholas & The Madeleine Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews