We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Convenient, Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #3 of 36 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Quiet, Convenient, Charming”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We are frequent visitors to Santa Fe. This was our first stay at Hacienda Nicholas. It won't be our last. The room (Sunflower) was just the right size. We enjoyed a fire in the fireplace each afternoon while we curled up in the comfortable chairs. The bathroom was enormous. The staff was the best part, very welcoming and helpful. We had nice conversations in the morning with Carolyn, the owner and Greg, with whom I share an interest in photography, made excellent suggestions for new and different and very photogenic hikes. It was such a good find we almost hate to share.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrionNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    46
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
55
389
47
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We just returned from a great stay in Santa Fe, made all the more wonderful by our accommodations at the Hacienda Nicholas. Our room was charming and comfortable (we stayed in the Nicholas), the breakfasts and snacks were great, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. They have a great location to walk to the square or to wander up Canyon Road. Certainly a bed and breakfast experience is different than a suite in a large hotel, and we loved the friendly atmosphere and the opportunity to meet some of the other guests --- felt like a home away from home!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
421 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Hacienda Nicholas- Chamisa Suite. Disappointing, in need of a make-over

This review is based on my personal experience in the Chamisa "Suite". Clearly, others have had a more pleasant experience which was, unfortunately not the case for us. I have provided photographs to support some of my findings.

1. Impersonal staff during check-in. The person checking us in made it clear that this was not his role as he was manager of the salon. We were rushed through the information process but time was certainly spent explaining that the balance of our accommodation costs would be processed immediately.
2. Size of room and bathroom. The photographs on the website for this establishment set high expectations on size, so our discovery that the room and bathroom were smaller than expected was disappointing. See photos.
3. Tired furniture, floor mats that needed cleaning and TV cords that needed to be neatly hidden from view. We expected better for the price we paid. See photos.
4. Dirty coffee jug in room. I placed the jug in a prominent position so that the cleaning staff could easily see the dirty jug. The jug remained untouched for 3 days up to our departure. See photos.

Breakfast was good, as many reviewers stated, however breakfast is only part of a good B&B experience. Acceptance of these living standards was made even more unpalatable when we learned that rooms at a high-end hotel on the plaza offers accommodation at a much reduced rate than what we paid.

Again, this is our experience of one suite at this establishment. While the interior of the main house looked very nice, I am not in a position to compare the standard of those rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stewart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
I am so very sorry that your experience was not at all up to snuff, and thank you for bringing these matters to my attention. I wish we had known of your unhappiness with the room while you were with us, as we would have moved you to a more traditionally laid-out room immediately. The Chamisa does have an odd layout in that it is two small adjoining rooms - the bedroom with fireplace, then the entry/sitting room, and then the small bathroom. We do not utilize any fish eye photography, and regret that you were anticipating a larger sized room. You are right - the runners in the room are in need of a cleaning. Each November, once the season is over, we have Stanley Steemers in to clean all the area rugs. I regret this had not happened by the time you stay. I am also very sorry to hear that George was not gracious and welcoming when you checked in. Generally he gets rave reviews from guests for being so kind and helpful, and I truly regret this was not at all your experience. I shall be speaking with him on the matter, as well as to housekeeping about the coffee carafe which was not attended to during your stay. I will also be sure to get a cord minder so that we can bundle the tv cords, which certainly can be an eyesore. Thank you very much for pointing out these oversights, and please know that all will be attended to as promptly as possible. Again, I truly wish we had known of your displeasure, and I would have moved you to a more suitable room right away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in the Nicholas Suite. The room had a small living room with a gas kiva. There was an elevated (step up) to the bedroom and bathroom areas. The courtyard was right outside our door and the breakfast room was right off that. There was an outdoor kiva but we didn't use it. We were very comfortable but some of the furnishings (chairs specifically) were old and wooden style, not that great. The fireplace was great to turn on when ever you wanted a fire, but it did smell of gas. Breakfast was delicious. The hosts were very welcoming and made great suggestions for dinner. (Thanks Greg, we really enjoyed Restaurant Martin.) The location was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkkkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Hacienda Nicholas is a great place to stay while visiting Santa Fe. The location is perfect - just a few blocks from the Plaza, close enough to get there easily but on a very quiet street. The staff was very friendly and helpful, giving us great advice on what to do while we were there. And the breakfasts were wonderful - healthy and not too heavy but very high quality and delicious. I look forward to staying at the Inn again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Hacienda Nicholas is very well managed. The rooms are cozy and furnished with evereything you need. The breakfasts are delicious and offer good variety. The location is very convenient to the center square, Canyon Road galleries, and many excellent restaurants. The staff is helpful beyond measure. You can't go wrong here!

Room Tip: View rooms online to decide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jwwanderer39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
934 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Regan was so sweet and accommodating on the phone which gave me great comfort. From the moment we came in, everyone was so pleasant and friendly. The place is very Santa fe but the decor was nothing special The breakfasts was great, cookies around all day long whenever you want them and they have an okay cocktail hour but bring your own wine,etc. they did provide some grapes and a Mexican dip with tortilla chips. It was sitting outside and mingling with other guests. The people working he Re what made the difference.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ukienomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
I am so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Hacienda Nicholas, and particularly that you enjoyed Regan's gracious help on the phone along with the warmth of the rest of the staff. We are certainly hoping to be able to once again serve our own wine - the New Mexico legislature decided it was unlawful for New Mexico B&B's to serve wine or beer, and were we to continue doing so we would risk a lengthy jail term plus a $5000 fine. We decided to stop the wine service and go with non-alcoholic beverages for the time being. I have been appointed as the representative from the New Mexico B&B Association to work on getting new legislation which will allow us to once again serve wine to our guests. Things look promising for this to occur during the upcoming legislative session, so we are hopeful that we will be able to once again turn out Social Hour into a Happy Hour. Keep your fingers crossed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,297 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,248 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,606 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#9 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,584 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 320 E Marcy St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting B&B offers guests a true taste of the Southwest. Enjoy a great night’s sleep in our beds of feather and down. Unwind in the peace and tranquility afforded by extra thick adobe walls or go one step further and experience sublime bliss next door at the Absolute Nirvana Spa. Savor the luscious scents from our heavenly rose garden and partake of delectable Southwestern inspired breakfasts and afternoon wine & cheese. Let our dedicated staff help you make the most of Santa Fe so you can have the holiday you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Nicholas Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing