We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn
Nearby Hotels
Inn of the Governors(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
$244
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$271
$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Santa Fe Sage Inn(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
$131
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel St. Francis(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Santa Fe(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
$185
$167
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (647)
Filter reviews
647 results
Traveler rating
581
48
11
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
581
48
11
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestssunflower roomchamisa suitebed and breakfastblue corn wafflescommon roomhomemade granolaabsolute nirvana spacookieshappy hoursocial houreach morningshort walkopportunity to meetwine and cheeseplaza and canyon roadwithin easy walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
375 - 380 of 647 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We just returned from a great stay in Santa Fe, made all the more wonderful by our accommodations at the Hacienda Nicholas. Our room was charming and comfortable (we stayed in the Nicholas), the breakfasts and snacks were great, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. They have a great location to walk to the square or to wander up Canyon Road. Certainly a bed and breakfast experience is different than a suite in a large hotel, and we loved the friendly atmosphere and the opportunity to meet some of the other guests --- felt like a home away from home!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Hacienda Nicholas- Chamisa Suite. Disappointing, in need of a make-over

This review is based on my personal experience in the Chamisa "Suite". Clearly, others have had a more pleasant experience which was, unfortunately not the case for us. I have provided photographs to support some of my findings.

1. Impersonal staff during check-in. The person checking us in made it clear that this was not his role as he was manager of the salon. We were rushed through the information process but time was certainly spent explaining that the balance of our accommodation costs would be processed immediately.
2. Size of room and bathroom. The photographs on the website for this establishment set high expectations on size, so our discovery that the room and bathroom were smaller than expected was disappointing. See photos.
3. Tired furniture, floor mats that needed cleaning and TV cords that needed to be neatly hidden from view. We expected better for the price we paid. See photos.
4. Dirty coffee jug in room. I placed the jug in a prominent position so that the cleaning staff could easily see the dirty jug. The jug remained untouched for 3 days up to our departure. See photos.

Breakfast was good, as many reviewers stated, however breakfast is only part of a good B&B experience. Acceptance of these living standards was made even more unpalatable when we learned that rooms at a high-end hotel on the plaza offers accommodation at a much reduced rate than what we paid.

Again, this is our experience of one suite at this establishment. While the interior of the main house looked very nice, I am not in a position to compare the standard of those rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stewart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

I am so very sorry that your experience was not at all up to snuff, and thank you for bringing these matters to my attention. I wish we had known of your unhappiness with the room while you were with us, as we would have moved you to a more traditionally laid-out room immediately. The Chamisa does have an odd layout in that it is two small adjoining rooms - the bedroom with fireplace, then the entry/sitting room, and then the small bathroom. We do not utilize any fish eye photography, and regret that you were anticipating a larger sized room. You are right - the runners in the room are in need of a cleaning. Each November, once the season is over, we have Stanley Steemers in to clean all the area rugs. I regret this had not happened by the time you stay. I am also very sorry to hear that George was not gracious and welcoming when you checked in. Generally he gets rave reviews from guests for being so kind and helpful, and I truly regret this was not at all your experience. I shall be speaking with him on the matter, as well as to housekeeping about the coffee carafe which was not attended to during your stay. I will also be sure to get a cord minder so that we can bundle the tv cords, which certainly can be an eyesore. Thank you very much for pointing out these oversights, and please know that all will be attended to as promptly as possible. Again, I truly wish we had known of your displeasure, and I would have moved you to a more suitable room right away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in the Nicholas Suite. The room had a small living room with a gas kiva. There was an elevated (step up) to the bedroom and bathroom areas. The courtyard was right outside our door and the breakfast room was right off that. There was an outdoor kiva but we didn't use it. We were very comfortable but some of the furnishings (chairs specifically) were old and wooden style, not that great. The fireplace was great to turn on when ever you wanted a fire, but it did smell of gas. Breakfast was delicious. The hosts were very welcoming and made great suggestions for dinner. (Thanks Greg, we really enjoyed Restaurant Martin.) The location was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkkkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Hacienda Nicholas is a great place to stay while visiting Santa Fe. The location is perfect - just a few blocks from the Plaza, close enough to get there easily but on a very quiet street. The staff was very friendly and helpful, giving us great advice on what to do while we were there. And the breakfasts were wonderful - healthy and not too heavy but very high quality and delicious. I look forward to staying at the Inn again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Hacienda Nicholas is very well managed. The rooms are cozy and furnished with evereything you need. The breakfasts are delicious and offer good variety. The location is very convenient to the center square, Canyon Road galleries, and many excellent restaurants. The staff is helpful beyond measure. You can't go wrong here!

Room Tip: View rooms online to decide.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jwwanderer39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews