We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Love it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #3 of 36 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
“Love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

This B&B was perfect for us! It's close enough to Santa Fe's Plaza to walk to in a few minutes, but far enough away that you're not bothered by the plaza's hustle and bustle. It was very affordable for the amount of time we spent in Santa Fe. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were really nice. We also loved the cozy common room with wine and appetizers, what a great way to enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prinparee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    45
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
51
369
46
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

My husband and I have stayed in the Madaline before and without hesitation asked to stay there again for this trip. The Madaline is also run by the same owners as the Hacienda Nicolas. It's across the street. It's where breakfast and happy hour are served. The staff continue to be friendly, professional, helpful and welcoming. Highly recommend to anyone whom likes to stay in B&Bs. Its great being so close to the Plaza. I was only sorry that the weather didn't allow us to sit outside in the lovely garden.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJpratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

My husband and I recently returned from a 3 day getaway weekend in Santa Fe. Staying at Hacienda Nicholas was an excellent choice for us as we were looking for a reasonably priced hotel near the Plaza with a top rated Spa.
First, we stayed in the Nicholas Suite. Comfy, cozy and charming. My only complaints--the heat seemed to be either on or off there was no real in between and the bathroom didn't have a vent so was pretty chilly in the middle of the night and morning. Neither of these were a deal breaker for us as we knew we were staying in an original hacienda. The room was cleaned daily. Breakfasts and evening wine socials were both delicious and unpretentious. All in all a great value with a good location near the plaza in Santa Fe. We would definitely stay again in the future.
Next, our experience at Absolute Nirvana--deluxe treatments--was the perfect kickoff to a relaxing weekend. The spa was a short walk across the street, the treatment rooms were cozy, calming and, to my surprise, allowed for the massage, body scrub, steam shower and rose petal bath all within the same room. Though I'm not a super shy person, the idea of walking through any spa barely dressed is never a completely relaxing experience--since all the facilities were within the same room I was able to deeply relax.
Though this is not a place I would stay with our 2-year old, this is definitely a great find for adults or families with older children. We loved our stay at Hacienda Nicholas!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCs_Luv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2011
I am happy to hear that our recent guests from Kansas City would be happy to come back and stay with us for another visit, and that they thoroughly enjoyed their stay at both the inn as well as their spa treatment at our Absolute Nirvana Spa.

As for the heat in the room, I have checked it and it is working perfectly. It is a forced air system, with a thermostat in the room itself. As with all forced air systems, once the room is heated to the desired temperature, the heat stops as it is no longer called for. When the room begins to cool down, the heat is demanded once again. Perhaps they are accustomed to radiant and not familiar with forced air?

The bathroom vent does not bring in much warm air, due to the nature of the adobe structure, but there is a separate heater in the bathroom for just this reason.

It is always good to get feedback, as it helps us to do a better job. It would be really nice to rip out the floor and put in radiant heat, but unfortunately, I am not able to undertake such a project at this time. In the meantime, I will see if I can't get a better heat system in the bathroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

This was our second stay at the Hacienda Nicholas. We have stayed both times in the Chamisa suite since it has the Kiva fireplace right at the foot of the bed. It also has its own entrance out into the courtyard and is the closest room to parking and the Nirvana spa.....ahhhh the Nirvana spa, the best I have been to in the world and I am a bit of a spa officiando! The spa and hacienda staff are very welcoming and friendly. Upon our arrival the innkeeper personally walked me over to check in, when she could have just pointed the way if she wanted.

I was pleased to see some added amenities from our last visit.....a coffee maker and fridge have been added to the room. I personally have no need for the fridge but do have some friends with diabetes, that must have a fridge for insulin and this is a nice addition. COFFEE was excellent to have and not have to go to the common room in the middle of the night. I was also pleased with the new plush spa like towels. I love thick, soft towels and these were excellent. Even hubby commented (which says alot!). I am modest and not a person to anter about in a robe, but there are two nice spa robes waiting in the bathroom for you.

The hot breakfast was just simply delicious....an egg, cheese, bacon, green chile enchilada with black beans, sour cream and salsa sides (see pic). Wonderful fruit cups with a good variety of fruit (cantelope, melon, strawberries, pineapple & blackberries). As always there are fresh muffins, cereals and other traditional morning fare. I love their coffe, full bodied without that overpowering bitterness.

Both times we've come in the winter. I can't wait to come back in the summer some time to enjoy an evening out on the patio with a nice fire or a breakfast out there as well. Wish I had the money and time to recreate that interior courtyard at my own home!

They are in an easy walking distance to the plaza and our favorite restaurant, the Bull RIng. The Bull Ring is a bit pricey but worth it! Everything is out of this world delicious, the wine selection is superb and the service is excellent. They locals really push Pasqals....don't bother overpriced, arrogant staff, tight seating and skimpy food. Though I did get to sit thigh to thigh (literally) with an A-List celeb! LOL! Bobcat bites is a great place for lunch! Cheap and good. There will likely be a small wait, but its worth it.

Be prepared to lay down some bucks when shopping in Santa Fe....everything is way overpriced so they can afford to pay their leases/mortgages. For cheap eats try (as I suggested) Bobcat Bites on the outskirts of town and for shopping go to the Old Trading Post. Stuff is much less expensive there than other places with the same offerings. I got some nice coats off their 75% off rack that were triple to price in other boutiques.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeke-n-Sheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

On a cross-country trip that started on the east coast, my partner and I lucked out when we were able to secure a room at Hacienda Nicholas on a last minute decision to spend a day in Santa Fe. Immediately upon entering Hacienda Nicholas you feel as if you are visiting friends, since the inn has a elegant and tastefully decorated, "homey" feeling. Road weary travelers as we were, the staff of Hacienda Nicholas met us with wine and fresh baked cookies upon our afternoon arrival and encouraged us to enjoy them in the beautiful, secluded "secret garden-esque" courtyard just before sunset. Having only a short time to experience Santa Fe we couldn't believe how close we were to downtown, with all its art galleries, shops and restaurants. Upon retiring for the night we greatly appreciated the crisp, fresh white linens and comforter on the substantial antique bed, as well as all the unique southwestern decorations picked just for our room. Again, you felt like you were special guests at a friend or family members' residence in the level of comfort and personal touches Hacienda Nicholas offers. A delicious fresh-cooked meal of egg strata with fresh fruit, yogurt and granola was accompanied by wonderful conversation from a very knowledgeable staff member who also gave us suggestions of what route to take on our way out of town and what sights to stop at on the way. Everything he suggested was just as he had described, and added greatly to our trip! We loved Hacienda Nicholas and can't wait to book an extended stay there in the future! I've told all my friends and family about this hidden gem and hope to be able to share it with everyone I know who is looking to have a wonderful visit to Santa Fe!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brigv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenilworth, pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2011

...the best experience I've ever had staying in a lodging away from home...over a mile high in a cozy hacienda with a splendid fireplace, cozy, comfortable, and beautiful architecture, facilities, and surroundings both inside and out make this a truly magical place ... the staff, which I liken to kindred, are magnificent and are at the heart of the magic: thank you ever so much, Marilee, Diane, Diana, Skye, Regan, and Allison, for an unforgettable experience ~ I've never felt so at home before. Marilee and Diane, I immensely enjoyed your lovingly prepared and delicious food dishes and our discussions during appetizer and breakfast times ... thank you ever so much!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theodocius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2011

We stayed in a luxurious room with a wood burning fireplace (The Chemisa) since it was a special occasion trip. Every aspect of the the inn-from the room, to the breakfast, to the common rooms, to the staff's helpfulness, to the cookies were perfect. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elenausa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#9 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,005 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 320 E Marcy St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting B&B offers guests a true taste of the Southwest. Enjoy a great night’s sleep in our beds of feather and down. Unwind in the peace and tranquility afforded by extra thick adobe walls or go one step further and experience sublime bliss next door at the Absolute Nirvana Spa. Savor the luscious scents from our heavenly rose garden and partake of delectable Southwestern inspired breakfasts and afternoon wine & cheese. Let our dedicated staff help you make the most of Santa Fe so you can have the holiday you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Nicholas Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing