We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the hike”
Review of Canyon Road

Canyon Road
Ranked #4 of 261 things to do in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rich in history and art, Canyon Road is the cultural center of Santa Fe.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth the hike”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Canyon Road is a great location to stroll and view art in many forms and styles. It is also a good place to enjoy a snack or have a meal at one of the many eating establishments along the way. It is a bit of an uphill walk but it is well worth it. The Santa Fe Pick Up transportation system has a few stops along the road so that may be an option. I believe there is parking up there as well. We found the people at the shops very friendly and happy to answer questions. It was a nice way to spend an afternoon.

Helpful?
Thank Conservativegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,979 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,878
    834
    229
    24
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Eye candy on Canyon Road”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is the most sophisticated collection of art anywhere around the United States. Do not miss this opportunity to be wowed!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Unique galleries”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Enjoyed an afternoon browsing through the widely varied art galleries on this charming street. You can spend as much or as little time as you want browsing the many galleries and grab a bite to eat at several of the quaint eateries (though we did not try any of those). A must-see if you visit Santa Fe.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Go here first!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We found the galleries on Canyon Road so much more interesting and unique than those on the square. Start here! Going in the off season was wonderful! While a few galleries were not open, we found that the gallery owners and employees spent a ton of time with us! We got to touch and hold and see things that they can't show you when there is a mass of people there! So awesome! We would just strike up a conversation when we would walk in and they were so hungry to talk that they would really give us special treatment!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
177 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Art Lovers must visit-Unique gallery row”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

As the 3rd largest art market in the country and 100+ galleries on this street alone , you cannot visit Santa Fe without strolling down Canyon road. Go to the end ( get a ride) and walk your way down back to town. I'd pick 6- 10 galleries and take some time to get to know the styles and artist showing. There are definitely types of art being shown, traditional, modern, fantasy, alegorical and religious, kitschy , cowboy, landscape, nature, impressionist, glitzy. After a few blocks, you quickly get a feel for the specialties of each gallery. Most of the work on display is fairly pricey for original work, but giclee prints are often offered at a fraction of the original's cost. The street is a must see, for its unique character and cozy feel, even if you are not an art person.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug1155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canyon Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing