We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value not there...”
Review of Ten Thousand Waves

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Fe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ten Thousand Waves
Ranked #31 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2011

This was a surprise trip for me after too many days working! We had always wanted to stay there, so I was quite excited. The spa services are wonderful! the Nose to Toes is an absolute must!! However, spa services are more dependent upon the one providing the service, not the location. We booked a private tub - Waterfall pool - and it was beautiful but very expensive; $70 for 55 minutes. Our room, Rising Moon, was nice but we were surprised at the amount of road noise. The 2" open space under the sliding door to the bathroom was also a nuisance - we prefer more privacy. Reading is a great luxury for us and unfortunately neither the sitting room nor the bedroom provided adequate light. We received excellent delivery service from Dashing Diner but it would have been nice to have on-site dining - nice, simple Japanese fare would be an excellent addition. The granola in the morning was a nice touch, as was the french press coffee for those who prefer to take the time to make it that way. Overall, just not worth the money...

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Denverfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 214 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2010

I will come back to Ten Thousand Waves again and again. The spa itself was wonderful but having the opportunity to stay on the grounds topped it all off. The location, outside of Santa Fe, was wonderful - up in the pines - very serene and quiet. The rooms were felt like Southwest Zen - clean, sparse and yet made one feel like they were in the Southwest.

If you are with a loved one and want a romantic getaway, this is the place.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ArizonaLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

My husband and I have stayed three times now, with all trips there being multiple-night stays. We love staying the the Houses of the Moon at Ten Thousand Waves. All of the rooms are beautiful, comfortable, and quiet. The beds are cozy and the linens are soft. Even the bath products provided for guests are lovely. I think that almost everyone staying there has treatments done at the spa, and I would heartily recommend that they do. It's amongst the best spas that I've ever been too; I've never had a single bad treatment there. They usually have a lodging and spa package, which we always take advantage of.

Pros: Quiet, comfortable, and relaxing. A small fridge with granola and various milks are provided, as well as a coffee maker, coffee, tea, cups, bowls, plates, and utensils are all provided. Suites with kitchens have pots and pans as well. Many rooms have little outdoor patios that have chairs and a grill. The spa has numerous services to choose from, as well as private and communal tubs. The location, being a little away from the heart of the city, is perfect for the Santa Fe Ski Area. It's an easy drive to both downtown and the ski area.

Cons: As there aren't many rooms, during busy times, they can book up fast. The spa is very popular, and the schedule fills up very quickly as well. Book as far in advance as you can for both the spa and hotel. There isn't a lot of food on-site right now, just a small selection of cold noodles and sandwiches in the spa gift shop. The location, while beautiful, isn't in the heart of Santa Fe, which may disappoint some people.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tae_Ki_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

This was my third stay at the Houses of the Moon, and my lengthiest. This place is truly relaxing. It's ultra-premium granola, though. You have to love a little Zen to get this place.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dallas_blah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

This was our third stay at 10,000 Waves and we are confirmed fans, both of the lodging and the spa, so this is not our first review. What we love so much about the place is the atmosphere, which is astonishingly close to that of a Japanese hot springs resort. The setting is perfect, up in the piny hills outside Santa Fe, under that beautiful sky. The architecture is pitch-perfect, and the spa routine is very much like what we have experienced at Japanese onsen. If you are staying there and are a Japanophile, try to get Suigetsu or Yado, the most Japanese of the rooms (note: Yado is not big) We find the rooms very comfortable and thoughtfully fitted out, though this isn't a downtown luxury hotel -- not much food on the premises. The only spa services we use are the communal baths (the co-ed one is nicer, it's wood and less chatty) and massages, which are among the best we have ever had. We will return.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank annbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

Ok, it's really, really expensive--that has to be said from outset. That said, Ten Thousand Waves must be experienced if you love Japanese culture, hot tubbing, or the gorgeous New Mexico views. From the moment you check in, you know you are in for a special experience. Each room is unique, but all are decorated in Japanese style and most include a fireplace (perfect on those cold NM nights) and a small barbecue. Radiant heat flooring keeps your toes warm in the mornings, and Japanese _yukatas_ and slippers help you cover up. After a long day, walk up to the spa, feeling as if you are ascending to the stars. Enjoy moving between the hot tub, sauna, and cold plunge pool. The women's hot tub is open to hotel guests only in the mornings, offering essentially a private hot tub experience. Your fridge will contain the makings of a good (if basic) breakfast, and organic whole-bean coffee. Service was impeccable--and invisible.

Caveats: it's a few miles from Santa Fe, and there's no restaurant, so you may wish to stock up for dinner if you're hot-tubbing at night. Then again, you may be so relaxed that you wouldn't want to go out anyway.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OnTheR0ad43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2009

We have used the spa before, but never stayed here. Like the previous reviewer, we came to celebrate my birthday and have some couple time together. Romance was in the air, everywhere...the spa, the hotel property. Lots of couples activities, including private tubs, couples massages, and sitting by the pinon wood fireplace in our room. We stayed in Moonlet, which was fully equipped, including a kitchenette. Glad to have it, because there is no food there. Fortunately, it is a quick drive into town to well equipped grocery stores and great restaurants (especially for breakfast). The property is beautiful in the winter, which is off season. It is surrounded by snow covered pine forests, and the rooms are tucked away privately. I don't think a could have picked a more romantic spot anywhere in the US, and we would go back in a second. We stayed in town at the end of our trip at Inn at Anasazi. We sure missed the privacy and romance of Ten Thousand Waves.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OBXBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Inn at Vanessie
#27 of 60 in Santa Fe
456 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
903 reviews
Downtown
Garrett's Desert Inn
Garrett's Desert Inn
#46 of 60 in Santa Fe
410 reviews
La Quinta Inn Santa Fe
#35 of 60 in Santa Fe
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ten Thousand Waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Thousand Waves

Address: 21 Ten Thousand Waves Way, Santa Fe, NM 87501-8704
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $99 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten Thousand Waves is a unique mountain spa resort near Santa Fe, New Mexico that feels like a Japanese onsen. We're primarily a large, beautiful day spa, but for those who plan ahead, we're a great destination spa. Just a short walk through the trees from the baths and treatment areas are thirteen hotel suites.Come for an hour or a week. Stop by briefly after skiing, or spend a romantic vacation sampling our luxury spa packages every day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ten Thousand Waves - Houses Of The Moon Hotel Santa Fe
10,000 Waves - Houses Of The Moon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing