We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Landmark hotel that is relaxing, clean and convenient.”
Review of Hotel St. Francis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel St. Francis
Ranked #27 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Reviewed May 6, 2010

I was very happy with my 2-night stay at the Hotel St. Francis. It was recently renovated and the management did a nice job preserving its historical feeling while introducing modern conveniences. I enjoyed the clean lines of the decor in both the public areas and my room. I had a corner room with casement windows that opened upon a nice view of the mountains. The hotel's parking lot was convenient and reasonably priced, and I also enjoyed the convenience of walking from the hotel to many sites, cafes and galleries nearby. The staff was friendly and helpful. I originally had a 1-night reservation but extended it due to a windstorm, and was happy to stay one more night. The bed was great, and the room was quiet. The only area for improvement that comes to mind would be to have a little brighter (and less harsh) lights in the rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank rwchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,078)
There are newer reviews for Hotel St. Francis
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,007 - 1,013 of 1,078 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2010

I like the new decor and especially the new elevator! The bar is nice, but the music was a bit "sleepy". I wish the lobby was more inviting to lounge in. Perhaps some music in the lobby and lower lights in the evening to enjoy all the candlelight? Or perhaps free wine receptions each night from 5 - 7? Also, I would like to see morning coffee more easily accessible perhaps by setting up a simple serve yourself coffee bar in the Lobby? Do I like Hotel St. Francis? I love it and will continue to stay here for both business and pleasure!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank martinezinla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2010

The location's great -- a block off the old plaza, and the hotel still has a lot of charm, despite the redo. The staff are friendly and helpful, and our room has always been very clean and comfortable. The linens are high-quality, with a good choice of pillows. The extensive remake in the public area (following a change in ownership) has been tastefully done, and the old elevator replaced by a larger one that's accessible without climbing the stairs. Prices have risen, so it's no longer the value it once was, but it's still not bad compared with others in the area. We tried to improve the value by opting for the package that included dinner, which gave us an opportunity to sample the cuisine of their new chef. The restaurant has lots of windows with a good view of adobe walls set against the bright blue sky, and it's quiet and elegant. The food quality was mixed, so if you opt for the package, be careful what you order (they did the trout well, and the flan was excellent) -- see my review under Tabla de Los Santos if you want details. We've stayed at the St. Francis 21 out of the past 22 years -- I hope we can afford to stay here next year (without the dinner package). Incidentally, if you're looking for entertainment after dinner (or with dinner or burger), the piano bar at Vanessie is hard to beat. Doug Montgomery, Charles Tichenor, and Al Rogers do a great job and are all highly talented -- always a true delight -- whoever happens to be there when you visit.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank glassyraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2010

I had the pleasure of staying at the St. Francis Hotel for 4 nights recently. I stayed at the hotel once prior to renovation and I enjoyed my stay at that time. What a wonderful experience at the newly renovated hotel. The decor is simple, attractive, and tasteful and the lobby music is calming and soothing. The hotel reminds me of a clean unpretentious European hotel. My room was small and efficient and offered great value for the cost. I loved the bedding. the down comforter, the comfortable mattress and the generous six pillows, including several European size, on my single bed. I appreciated the new restaurant. and I think all of Santa Fe will soon discover the talented chef and the excellent meals. The food is attractive, healthy and good! The restaurant staff and hotel personnel were friendly and helpful. I travel to Santa Fe often. St. Francis i will always be my hotel of choice and I highly recommend it. The quality, the price, and the location can't be matched! I have already recommended it to my friends.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank marthacazenave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel St. Francis recently and loved it! I wanted to write a review because it appears that this hotel is rated somewhat poorly on Tripadvisor. This may be because the ratings were either before or during the remodeling. From descriptions and pictures, I don’t know if I would even call it a remodeling – it appears to be an entirely new hotel.
First, some people may not like this place. The décor is simple, in keeping with the monastery theme. There aren’t a lot of decorations, and the floors are wood, not carpeted. Personally, I prefer this; it seems much cleaner. Speaking of clean, the hotel is immaculate. Also, the rooms are small, and the sink is in the room, which some guests may not like.
I loved our room: white walls and bedding, with simple wooden floors and furniture. Our room faced south, so it was very bright and airy. We opened the windows to let in a nice breeze. This room was unlike any other hotel room that I’ve seen before, and the bed was very comfortable. Our keys were small wooden crosses with a computer chip. The location is perfect, just a block from the plaza.
Even if you aren’t staying here, stop by to see the lobby in the evening. Calming music plays in the background. It is dark, lit by candles and small lights, and in the center there is a large baptismal font. We sat next to the fireplace on the comfortable couches one evening.
As we were carrying our luggage out on our final morning, a housekeeper approached me and put some Hershey kisses in my hand!
Our cost was $153 per night, including all taxes and a $9 per night parking fee. I would highly recommend the Hotel St. Francis.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank IlliniTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

After a long day of travel the warm glow of Hotel St. Francis welcomes you in and takes hold of your soul. The beautiful yet minimalist Franciscan decor is perfect for soothing the stress of the day. The employees are very friendly, the rooms cozy and the food wonderful. This is a great hotel to relax in, take in the beauty and history of Santa Fe and enjoy New Mexican culture. The hotel is great for small business meetings and ideal for a romantic get away!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hmp1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

Great location. Everything is within walking distance. Hotel is very charming and exactly what is expected via the website.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank luvtotravel056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#25 of 60 in Santa Fe
893 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,371 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#20 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Inn at Vanessie
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
443 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $157 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Francis
St Francis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing