We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint”
Review of Hotel St. Francis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel St. Francis
Ranked #26 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Dunedin, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
828 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
“Quaint”
Reviewed August 29, 2014

Huge lobby right off the main square of Sante Fe. Interesting Victorian period rooms decorated differently with antique furnishings and accessories and fabrics. . This is an old inn. Do not expect modern amenities. Enjoy the charm and convenience.

Room Tip: Get an interior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianneWheatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Thank you for coming to stay at our historic hotel, DianeWheatley. Your kind words regarding your stay are much appreciated, and we're happy to know you enjoyed the convenient location and historic feel of Hotel St Francis. We look forward to welcoming you back! Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    316
    149
    83
    48
See reviews for
127
525
121
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Had never stayed at the St. Francis before, but it was one of the few places near the square that I could find a room. I was disappointed. The room was a standard king. The bathroom was small and dark and contained only a tub/shower and toilet. The sink was on the other side of the room by itself. Very inconvenient. I realize it's an old historic building, but the hotel doesn't seem to try very hard. No coffee maker in the room, no HDTV, and the towels were old. Not a great experience. Will not stay there again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Sagfwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Sagfwag, we appreciate you taking the time to create this valuable review of your stay. We're glad you came to try our historic hotel and were able to be close to the plaza. However, I do apologize for any inconvenience with your guest room and would love to offer you a reasonable upgrade to a Deluxe room with more space and a view, should your adventures take you through Santa Fe again. Best Regards, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York,NY
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2014

This place can't tell the difference between rustic charm and a dump. My first room was so small that when I tried to sit at the "desk" it hit the foot of the bed. The sink is in the sleeping room and the bathroom is dark and small. No alarm clock. The closet was a wardrobe that only had about 4 feet from rod to bottom. The bed was soft, as in worn out, and creaked every time I moved. Upgraded my room after the first night at extra expense. The next day I had the Do Not Disturb sign on the door until noon when I went out to wander the square. Four hours later I returned, looking forward to having a quick lie down before going to the opera. No maid service. I called the front desk and was told that the maids look at the door when they make their rounds in the morning and if the DND sign is on the door, they don't come back. When I suggested that that was the silliest thing I have ever heard, he recommended that I write to Trip
Advisor! So, I am. The service was terrible. The "Standard" room is what you would expect to find in a hostel. When you look at the pictures the impression is of a rustically decorated hotel. When you are in the room the impression is of living in the period of the furniture. No room service, no coffee in the lobby and an $18 per night parking charge. You can park in the municipal lot across the street for maximum $10 per day. Two block walk to Starbuck's for nearest morning coffee. You can do much better by paying a couple of bucks more.

Room Tip: Do not consider a Standard Room unless you are backpacking through New Mexico.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gregory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear SilverfoxNYC, thank you for coming to stay with us and for posting a review. We appreciate your feedback and we do take it seriously. Your comments will be passed to all managers at the Hotel St Francis. Sincerely, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Nice historic hotel, good location, very friendly service. Small room size drops it down a notch or two, as do the nickel-and-dime add-ons ($18 parking, $50 upcharge for king-size bed, $25 for pet, etc.).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Hello KAP, thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed the excellent customer service and location of our historic hotel. I am sorry you felt nickel-and-dimed; booking a traditional room and then upgrading to a deluxe room at check in is comparatively a very inexpensive way of getting that upgrade, and our parking fees have to be competitive with the rest of downtown Santa Fe. Regardless, we truly appreciate your feedback and hope we can welcome you back again. Best, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Got a great deal on Priceline for this hotel, but the amenities listed were non existent. This hotel has a lovely location, but the rooms are very small. I did not even have room to unpack my suitcase. There is no room service, no refrigerator, no fitness center, no bathtub and given the absence of a hot tub or pool I could have settled for a soak in the tub. Parking is $20 a day.
No in room coffee maker either.
That being said, the location and staff were great, but I would not stay here again. If none of this matters you might like staying in an historic hotel.

Room Tip: I have none
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Roberta D, thank you for your valuable review! We appreciate you coming to stay. It's nice to know our level of service, location and great rate attracted you. Should you choose to try our historic hotel again, please do not hesitate to ask for any amenities you are lacking in your room. We provide most amenities, including fridges, for no fee. We also offer reasonable upgrades to larger deluxe rooms pending availability, and our small fitness center is located on our first floor. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Sincerely, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We spent the night at the Hotel St. Francis for a quick Santa Fe getaway. The hotel is right in downtown very close to the plaza. They were very friendly and helpful from check-in and attentive to what we wanted to see and do while there. We got up to our room on the third floor which gave us a good view of the Capital complex and the mountains. The room was on the smaller side but comfortable and had a modern look with rustic touches. The bed was very comfortable and we were able to get a great nights sleep (love all the pillows). We also checked out the hotel bar which had some unique signature cocktails. I tried a Smoked Sage Margarita, which really was delicious. Definitely a place we will stay at again when we return to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rmarbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Hello Rmarbut, thank you for choosing our hotel for your getaway, and for taking the time to post a review. It is so nice to hear the level of service, comfortable beds, and the best cocktails in Santa Fe all hit high marks for you. We will definitely look forward to seeing you again! Best Regards, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Rustic and charming hotel in the heart of downtown Santa Fe! Enjoyed the charming decor on the inside as well as people watching on the outdoor patio. The bar was fun and lively. Sean at the front desk was very attentive and helpful! The room was comfortable and the bed had 9 pillows!! We'll gladly stay here next time we pass through town. Thanks again Sean!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christiane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for coming to stay at our historic Hotel St Francis, Christiane W! We appreciate you taking the time to review us, and are thrilled to hear how well the stay went, from the charm to the location, the service and the hand crafted drinks in Secreto Bar. Our friendly staff would love the opportunity to welcome you back for another great stay. Sincerely, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#24 of 60 in Santa Fe
887 reviews
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,345 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Inn at Vanessie
#27 of 60 in Santa Fe
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Property: Hotel St. Francis
Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Francis
St Francis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing