We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, could be easily improved” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Francis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel St. Francis
Ranked #23 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pleasant, could be easily improved”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I spent three hot nights in the Hotel St. Francis recently and found it quite pleasant but not as good as I hoped. I would rate it somewhere between three and four dots, but of course, that isn't possible. The lobby is sublime. Cool, spacious, tasteful, cold water with lemon always available (probably just during the hot season). When it's as hot out as it was during my visit, just walking in is delightful. The room not quite so much. The decor I found pleasing and restful, but a bit frustrating. WHO DOES bedside tables in a hotel without a drawer? Nowhere to put away my personal effects. This is really not okay for a hotel of this quality. An armoire with drawers that can't open unless the doors are open to their absolute fullest extent. And nowhere in the room does it indicate that the coffee and tea service advertised as included must be requested. They don't want to clutter the room. So could they not put a card on the tray with the glasses with this information? The tray is hidden inside the armoire - voilà! No clutter! Visitor informed! At least the bathroom has hooks on the door - why do hotels not provide enough hooks? But there is nowhere to hang your towel near the shower, so you have to drape it on the bathtub, put it on the floor, or drip over to it. The bed has springs that make it bounce wildly with any little move. They use a slick mattress cover and unfitted sheets. I absolutely HATE sleeping on unfitted sheets. A hotel of this caliber could bloody well provide sheets that stay on the bed and don't slide wildly with every movement. How uncomfortable! And my last comment - Oh la la, that concierge! What an unpleasant person. Everything she said to me was negative and un-encouraging. She might need replacement with someone who loves people.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PattyPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Hello PattyPortland and thank you so much for your review. We appreciate the time you took to type up a review of our historic hotel, and we're very happy to hear our lovely lobby and fresh lemon water made good impressions on you. Your feedback regarding the rooms themselves is very much appreciated and I plan to bring your review to our Manager's meeting this coming week. Comments like yours allow us to further train our staff and consider these improvements to the hotel in general. Thank you for coming to stay with us! Best Regards, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    277
    129
    62
    43
See reviews for
107
457
109
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a romantic weekend and definitely enjoyed the hotel and its location within the city. It is situated near many shops and restaurants and tourist sites as well. The hotel was very clean, and the staff was very friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Santa Fe.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelB1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear MichaelB1982, thank you for coming to stay with us! We're so happy you enjoyed your stay, from the service to the location. We would love to welcome you back for another adventure in the "City Different". Sincerely, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The hotel staff and brochures advertise a minimalist approach to make you feel like you are in the 30's, I would say you feel like you are in the stone ages! To start with the rooms are so small you think you're sleeping in someone's closet. The beds are so uncomfortable that you would be better off on straw mattresses. No water in the rooms to drink, the toilet and shower room is so small you can barely shut the door behind you. Oh, did I say the rooms are small? I mean really small.
The bright side, there is a restaurant that is attached to the hotel that is outstanding; however, it is not owned by the hotel.
Also, the hotel has a parking lot but they charge you $18 to park in it.
I have stayed in numerous hotels in Santa Fe that are much nicer than this hotel for much less money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mway2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Mway2014, hello and thank you for taking your valuable time to create a review about your stay with us. It's good to hear you liked the excellent attached restaurant, Tabla de los Santos! However, I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience regarding the size of our historic guest rooms; please don't hesitate to inquire about our deluxe accommodations with more space and mountain views. Sincerely, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This was a fantastic place to stay right on the plaza. Parking is readily available right next to the building for $18.00 per day, but worth it for the location. Beautiful hotel with outstanding staff. Felt like home. The rooms are small but lovely. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abigail701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hello and thank you for coming to stay at our historic Hotel St Francis, Abigail 701. It's so lovely to hear you felt right at home with us; our friendly staff looks forward to rolling out the welcome carpet for you again. We appreciate your review and hope to see you again during your next adventure in Northern New Mexico! Sincerely, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Hotel St Francis is NOT your chain hotel. It is a historic hotel a block off the main square. Close to shopping, great restaurants and many attractions. Since parking in downtown Santa Fe is at a premium especially on the weekend St Francis does charge for parking ($18) per night, but you don't need your car if you are going to be in central Santa Fe. Rooms were clean but small, hotel was recently updated. It was quiet. Bed was comfortable, queen size only no kings. When we were there hotel was full, bar was active as was the restaurant. Had breakfast at La Tabla 3 mornings, food was delicious.

Hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. Bradford was especially helpful regarding a pedicab tour of central Santa Fe.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Michael M, thank you for coming to stay at our historic hotel. We love knowing that our great location worked well for you and that you got to explore the vibrant downtown area of Santa Fe! We're glad you had a quiet oasis to come "home" to, and that all staff members were helpful. Should you come visit us again, don't hesitate to inquire about our King sized or two-double bed accommodations; depending upon availability we do have a range of room sizes and types. Meanwhile thank you for taking the time to write a review. Sincerely, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We chose to stay at Hotel St Francis for our 2nd anniversary wknd getaway and we were not disappointed! The hotel is beautiful!! The staff is friendly and always eager to assist guests. We enjoyed the central location of the hotel to all the downtown amenities. We never once had difficulty finding parking. The bar is definitely an added bonus!!! Cannot wait to return!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelLani W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Hello MichaelLaniW; Happy Anniversary and thank you for making Hotel St Francis a part of your celebrations! We are all so glad to know you are excited to return; we're excited at the prospect of having you back with us for more top notch food and drink, not to mention a peaceful room in the middle of downtown. Best wishes, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This is the second time we've stayed at the St. Frances and we love it. The location is perfect and the staff is so friendly and very helpful. We had a great deal of luggage as we were in Albuquerque for a week before our stay in Santa Fe and the staff was great in helping us to get it from our car to our room and back at the end of our stay. The rooms are small, but they have everything you need including a refrigerator, safe and a hair dryer (three things I always look for). The bar and restaurant are also very good with great services. We will be back!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderingtogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Hello wanderingtogether! Thank you for your review! We love that you loved our historic Hotel St Francis and we look forward to seeing you both again soon. Our staff was happy to be of help to you during your stay and we would love the opportunity to welcome you for another comfortable stay complete with excellent food and the best drinks in town. Sincerely, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,131 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,819 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 504 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Property: Hotel St. Francis
Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#26 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Francis
St Francis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing