We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Francis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St. Francis
Ranked #26 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We visited in September 2013 for fiestas. It was my first visit to Santa Fe and this location and trip could not have been better. Our room was a little small but the decor and style of the hotel was beautiful. We got a great room rate, more affordable than many of the other hotels in the area. This hotel is in the best location-just step outside and you are in the plaza! We recommend this hotel to family and friends and will return!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelbugKD25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Hi there TravelBugK25! It's nice to get your review and we are so happy we could be a part of your Fiestas visit to Santa Fe. We appreciate hearing that the affordability and location helped make your trip special, and we certainly hope to see you again this fall for another unforgettable stay. Sincerely, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    287
    133
    69
    44
See reviews for
115
469
111
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I must say that the location is what makes this property valuable. The staff would be another asset, as all at the hotel were warm, informative and helpful. The welcome letter on the bed stated "In simplicity there is complexity", and I would have to agree with that. Upon opening the door to our overpriced room, it hit the nightstand, as the room was that small. While I has expected "quaint", I did not expect "uncomfortable". The space to walk from the bed to the bathroom (between the bed and TV hutch) was approx. 10-12 inches. Had this been the only unpleasant finding, I could have accepted it. Upon going to bed the first evening, it was noted that the bed sloped terribly towards the head, with a large depression in the center of the bed. It was positively the most uncomfortable bed I have slept in at a hotel ever. The room faced the parking lot, and was extremely noisy with street traffic late into the night (even with the window closed and cooling on). Additionally, my aging eyes battled with the lack of lighting every day. One bulb is not enough to see to put makeup on or contacts in! I am unsure if the restaurant had recently been removed as part of the hotel, running independently, but we were told on check in that the restaurant was separate. Because of this, the bar only served food when the restaurant was open. We arrived at 2:15pm, having not eaten lunch, and were looking forward to relaxing at the outdoor patio with drink and snacks. It wasn't until after we ordered our drinks that we were told they had no food. The Spicy Secreto was good, but not worth the price. The décor is clean, simple, and attractive. If the rooms had been more comfortable and food (even small plates like Tapas) had been available at the bar, I would have made it a top place to stay. Unfortunately we will not be back. There are other comfortable hotels close to the plaza we will go back to.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the street side, and ask for a good bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thefosterfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear thefosterfarm, we thank you for taking valuable time to write a review of your stay at the historic Hotel St Francis. It's great hearing how much you liked our convenient downtown location, simple decor and top-notch staff. We would love to welcome you back to try a deluxe room; keep in mind we can provide any amenity such as extra lamps upon request. We are always happy to let guests explore other room options as long as we have availability. Meanwhile, we sincerely appreciate your feedback and will communicate it to all departments. Sincerely, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My friend and I stayed at this lovely hotel for our friends' wedding, we live here in Santa Fe and it was nice to play tourist! A group of the wedding couple's friends are from Dallas...we had a blast out on the patio drinking the bar's fancy delicious cocktails and the service was impeccable! Our A/C in the room wasn't working, but the sweet gal at the front had one of the maintenance guys come up to fix it, he turned out to be the nicest guy! If I remember correctly, his name is Bradford? Not only did he get our room to a nice chill, but he brought us the bottle of wine that we ordered from the bar downstairs! That, to me, is going above and beyond...we will DEFINITELY be staying here again! It's a two thumbs up staycation location!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kayla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Hi Kayla M, it's great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at Hotel St Francis. We're always happy to have Santa Fe locals come visit. It's great that you and your friends got to enjoy the best drinks in town on our front Loggia! Bradford is thrilled to get your feedback and all of us would love to see you again for drinks and dinner, if not a "staycation" of your own. Sincerely, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The location of this hotel is right in the middle of historic Santa Fe. Every inch of this hotel is filled with local charm. The staff was friendly and accommodating.

My only reservation about this hotel is that the rooms are very small. If you are a single couple, it’s charming and fine. We were traveling with a newborn baby and the small bed and limited luggage space made the space a bit of a challenge.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vveldkamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear weldkamp, we are so pleased to know you loved the historic charm of Hotel St Francis! Our friendly staff loves reading these reviews and we can't wait to welcome you back next time you want a nice stay in downtown Santa Fe. Our location is hard to beat, as is the guest service. Keep in mind we offer very reasonably priced upgrades to our larger deluxe rooms; hopefully we can show you some options when we see you on your next adventure. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Central location, ample parking across the street in a lighted lot, large room with two queen? size beds. Stayed on the 2nd floor facing the east. Bathroom dark with only one overhanging light. Clean accommodations. A bit noisy in the early a.m. as delivery trucks and garbage trucks in this central downtown plaza area. Easy walking distance to most attractions. Friendly hotel staff and the check in and out process a breeze. Nice front patio for lounging or visit the Secreto Bar. Nice old history, but updated and modern in the mission style.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snappytraveler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Hello there snappytraveler07; we thank you for your review! Our lovely deluxe guest rooms are indeed spacious; in fact you got to stay in the largest of our rooms. It's great to know the modern updates in our historic hotel worked well for you, and that our staff made the stay easy. We look forward to seeing you again for another stay complete with the best drinks (and people watching) in Santa Fe! Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Hotel St. Francis is literally in the heart of Santa Fe - no need to drive once you get parked because everything you want to see or do is in reasonable walking distance (and lets face it - the traffic in historic Santa Fe is RIDICULOUS!!) Rooms are clean, but beware - accomdations are tight. Size up a room if you are claustophobic or plan on spending a lot of time in your room. Staff is very friendly and informative. They seem to really care that you have a great stay at the hotel and the surrounding area. This is my second stay at the St. Francis and I will go back! No frills - but a price that is affordable.

Room Tip: A room with a King bed gives you a little more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SullyGirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Hello SullyGirly and thank you for coming to stay at the historic Hotel St Francis for a second time! As a repeat guest, your review is very much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again for a third stay. You are completely correct in your observation about our staff: we all truly care about the guest's experiences at our hotel and we love to hear how much you enjoyed the reasonably priced convenience. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We meant to go to Sedona but with the wildfire out plans changed and decided to take a trip to Santa Fe and wanted to stay around Santa Fe Plaza so we could walk around and explore the area and then come to our room and rest.
Photograph of this hotel and rooms are breath taking so we were very excited and booked a room around $200 per night.
When we went there greeted by a lovely young girl who was very excited to give us key of room the 109 and made us excited when she said we would be staying in a larger and corner room with more windows and natural lights.
We got to the room and find ourselves in a very tiny walking closet size room with two windows one facing a garbage enclosure and other window showing street view of cars right in front of window with people walking and could look into the room.
We had to keep windows closed the whole time because of privacy but could not do anything about the screaming and noises outside as well as inside because the house cleaning room was just across from us and fitness club next to us so we could hear people and their cars on one side, cleaning ladies brining and taking mops and buckets and people working out and banging weights on other side.
Garbage trucks with all the beeps and noises came around 5:00 am to take the street garbage next to our second window.
We had the most restless night in a hotel ever and hurried to check out so we could come home and rest.
I understand reasons for all these flaws and would have been fine if I was informed about that on website or by the lady who checked me in.
Accepting something with the knowledge versus pushed into an unknown situation make a big difference.
I have photos of views from windows to prove all this but not sure if there a way to post here.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snadeem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear snadeem1, we appreciate you choosing the Hotel St Francis and your taking the time to write a review. Our downtown property is naturally subject to street noise; however, we are always happy to offer our guests different room choices as long as we have the availability. Please keep this in mind if you should decide to give us another chance; we have a large range of room types and would love the opportunity to show you the peaceful side of our hotel. I am truly sorry to hear your accommodations did not meet your expectations during your stay and I thank you for your feedback. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#21 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 816 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,185 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,371 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,843 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#23 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Property: Hotel St. Francis
Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Francis
St Francis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing