We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect hotel for my Santa Fe experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel St. Francis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel St. Francis
Ranked #29 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
new braunfels
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect hotel for my Santa Fe experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

We love the feel of the St. Francis and it's location is superb to all our favorite places and restaurants. The staff was wonderful and provided every special request we made to make my sister's birthday surprise a memorable experience. The only reason I give this hotel 4.5 instead of 5 is because the room was a tad bit small, but the bed and bath were still great. We will return again and again. (this was our 2nd time to use this hotel)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janie-allen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Hello janie-allen and thank you for coming to stay with us again and again! We're thrilled to know that our stellar location and staff made a difference for you and your sister's birthday celebrations. We would love to offer you a very reasonable upgrade to one of our deluxe rooms during your next stay, and all of us look forward to welcoming you back again. Sincerely, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    294
    141
    80
    47
See reviews for
117
490
114
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

I so wanted to give this charming hotel a higher rating, but couldn't bring myself to do so. I'll start with the positives...location is awesome! Loved being so close to downtown, walking distance to so much, downtown, Canyon Rd, restaurants. Quaintness is this hotels middle name. We enjoyed some time in the lobby, due to our room being on the "cozy" side. The lobby ambiance is second to none. Jeremy checked us in and could not have been nicer. All the staff that we encountered could not have been nicer actually. Now for the flip side...room was incrediably tiny, noise outside of our room, #116, was awful! Trash being dumped in the dumpster late at night, early morning trash pick up and some sort of drilling right outside our window, very early, was not so great. It was the only one night get away my husband and I have had in over a year...not quiet what we had in mind. We did complain about the early morning noise, which we know they did not have control over, but putting anyone in this room, if others are available, verges on cruel! They did comp our parking as compensation...but did not make up for the lack of sleep to get through the next day. On a side note, Cafe Pasquels across the street, is wonderful!! If you stay at Hotel St. Francis, and you are given room 116, ask for a different one!

Room Tip: Don't get room 116.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Hello Vicki P! Thank you for your review! It's so nice to know our location and character hit high notes for you during your stay with us. We do indeed have a historic quaintness, nestled into downtown Santa Fe. Our rooms definitely have a range of sizes and layouts due to the historic nature of the property and we are glad you made use of our lovely lobby. Should you visit us again please feel free to ask about our very reasonable upgrade rates to deluxe accommodations. It's understandable that you had some noise issues and our top notch staff hopes to welcome you back to a quiet and spacious room next time you visit the "city different". Thank you, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
155 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Please note that we stayed here two separate times on our recent trip, so I am writing two separate reviews.

We stay here each time we are in Santa Fe and really like this place. The people are very helpful, and the location is excellent. On this stay, we had a ground floor deluxe king (room 105,) and it was great. The sleep quality is excellent with comfy beds, quiet central air, and very little incoming noise. The rooms are designed to look like a monastery, but if you need an iron, coffee-maker or full-length mirror, just ask. Clean and convenient. Check for promotions. With a "get the 3rd night free", it was more affordable.

The restaurant is wonderful, too, so please see the separate review of Tabla de los Santos.

Room Tip: Ground floor deluxe king rooms are definitely our preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewPlaceFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear NewPlaceFan, thank you for coming to stay (twice) at our historic Hotel St Francis! We're glad you got such a great deal and enjoyed the friendly guest service, not to mention the unbeatable location and luxury beds and linens. Our hotel staff and Tabla's staff all look forward to welcoming you back for more convenient and comfortable stays in the near future! Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Charles, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

This hotel has great bones but is a bit worn around the edges. Location was wonderful and convenient but the restaurant attached to the hotel is privately owned so no coffee or convenience of charging to the room. Rooms are very small and the small vessel sink outside the bath offered no space for toiletries. There were hassles with our reservation being lost so time was spent verifying that instead od enjoying Santa Fe. Room has really poor climate control so room was very warm, windows had no screens so leaving them open was not a great option. There is only a very small lot next to the hotel for parking which is charged at $11/night. The hotel did comp this for us as a perk for loosing our reservation. And the night clerk was very helpful bringing toothbrushes and paste to our room, would not accept a tip for doing so.
Luckily we were only I town for one night, would probably not stay here again..

Room Tip: If you decide to stay here and want room to move around a deluxe room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BHSabbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear BHSabbi, thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at our historic property. It's nice to hear you enjoyed the simple charm, service, and great downtown location of Hotel St Francis! We appreciate all your feedback regarding the rooms and should you decide to come and stay with us again please feel free to inquire about our deluxe guest accommodations as well. Sincerely, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

This is a beautiful and well maintained hotel. Lots of historical decor including beautiful old photos on each landing of the gigantic stairway. The staff are wonderfully friendly and helpful. The location can't be beat. The room was clean and comfy. I'm afraid that we were not impressed with the shower. Clean but water was Luke warm and the shower head was the rain style with little pressure behind it. So, hard to rinse soap out of your hair. Other than that, our stay was great and we will recommend it to family and friends.

Room Tip: Try to get room with view of old town
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsKelliH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Hello MsKelliH! We thank you for staying with us and recommending us to your family and friends. We have a great staff and we really pride ourselves on our guest service; it's nice to hear you enjoyed interacting with all of us! Thank you for the feedback regarding your shower; this is good for us to know so we can train our staff to help with this kind of situation in the future. Come back and see us for another peaceful stay; we look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 6 nights and it was a mixed experience! "Deluxe" room as others have commented was smallish, great bed, biggest problem...bathroom!
Small sink, small mirror, almost no counter... IN bedroom, bad lighting!! No fan in bath area and old graying rough towels. The desk manager Alder fixed the light w/change to a spotlight, and at my request, had their
busy maintenance man reattach the loose, hanging curtain rod! Restaurant is entirely separate, no room service, but Jerry, the manager was very good.
Front porch was filthy with old dirty cushions on the couches. Wonderful maid service! Would I stay there again with all the options in Santa Fe, probably not.

Room Tip: Read reviews!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Connie B; we appreciate your review and we thank you for coming to stay at our hotel. We're glad we were able to help get your room as comfortable as possible; we appreciate you letting us know about these issues during your stay since we had a chance to try and improve the situation. Our housekeeping staff is truly amazing and we're glad they made an impression on you. We are working to get our front loggia cushions all replaced; if you come back to stay again you can enjoy award winning drinks on comfortable, stylish outdoor furniture! Thank you again, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Not exaggerating, our room was TINY. It is a beautiful hotel, the bed was comfortable, and the location is right in the historic district. Extra plus that there was parking included with our stay. The price was a bit on the high side for us though. If they hadn't had a sale going on one of the travel sites, we probably would have stayed elsewhere.

Room Tip: We skipped a view of the square for what the front desk called a "larger room."
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aubrey w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hello aubrey w, and thank you for coming to stay at Hotel St Francis. It's nice to get your review and hear you liked the lovely beds and the simple beauty of the building. Our traditional rooms can be pretty intimate and we understand the desire for more space. We offer very reasonable upgrades to our deluxe rooms, which saves our guests money, vs booking at the deluxe rate. Please feel free to enquire about these options should you visit us again! We would love the chance to welcome you back. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#24 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#22 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Property: Hotel St. Francis
Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Francis
St Francis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing