We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, but” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Francis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel St. Francis
Ranked #22 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Very good hotel, but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We have always stayed at Hotel St. Francis since the early 90s. We love the atmosphere, the people are very nice, and the cozy little rooms are very appealing. But why is it that,unlike even Motel 6, they do not provide coffee for guests in the morning. Even more strange, the restaurant off the lobby in the hotel can't charge the $3.25 for a cup of coffee to your room. It's cash and carry. The folks at the desk shrug and say they know but no one listens to them when they pass the complaints up the chain. So, I write this and send it to the ether for dissolution.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear A TripAdvisor Member, thank you for taking the time to post a review of our historic hotel. We're pleased that the atmosphere and the service keep you coming back, and your review is very valuable to us particularly since you know the hotel so well. We are currently in the planning stages of getting a coffee service in the lobby; meanwhile please inquire at the front office if you would like a complimentary coffee maker sent to your room during your stay. We really appreciate the time you took to give us this valuable feedback and we cannot wait to see you again on your next adventure in Santa Fe. Sincerely, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    283
    132
    64
    43
See reviews for
108
466
109
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Everything went smooth and all the staff were extremely helpful. From finding us the most quiet room possible (and offering to try alternate ones if it didn't work) to bringing up our Living Social deal tactfully and without any hint of being condescending, the people made the experience. On top of that the hotel is historic but beautiful with great handmade furniture an attractive stairwell with great historical black and white pictures and generally great decor. Te restaurant served organic delicious food and was in the heart of Santa Fe. Excellent

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Hello Conorado and thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear you loved the excellent service here at Hotel St Francis. It's great to know you liked the decor and historic ambiance of our hotel and the great food in Tabla de los Santos Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back for another all around great experience! Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there two nights , beautiful architecture , as soon as you walk in there is so much to look at as far as the building goes , parking was convenient right next to the hotel, also is available on the street which is free at night , rooms are small but so comfy and have so much detail, even the TP holder is cast iron, the staff was so friendly , the location it's great , their bar is top notch, research what kind of drinks you want to order before you do that way you're not surprised with something you don't like, the only negative about it is that: there is no coffee on the room, even after requesting to be brought to our room , but other than that I will stay on this hotel every time info to Santa Fe .

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Eliasun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Eliasun, thank you for coming to stay with us and for reviewing your stay. We appreciate your feedback and we would love to welcome you back for another peaceful stay in the "City Different". Our historic hotel was redesigned with simplicity in mind and we are so happy to hear you enjoyed the comfort and details inherent in our design. I apologize for any inconvenience getting coffee; we are working on installing a coffee service in the lobby. However it is good to know about the coffeepot, because we will use this review to improve our service in the future. Thank you again! Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Ridge, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Me and my family are frequent travelers this has to be the best Hotel we have ventoured to in all our vacation time away.The staff is very friendly and is in a great location to all the great little shops.The hotel bar has great drinks and has a great restaurant.We will highly recommend this hotel.Special thanks to Jeremy,Samantha,Jerry,Alexander for all the hard work to make our time a memorable moment.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brooks p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us, brooks p. It's wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed the friendly staff and got to experience the downtown Santa Fe area. We're truly thrilled to know that as frequent travelers, you consider us a favorite destination! It was our pleasure having you here with us and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed there for my wife's birthday and could not have been more pleased. The staff was so amazing and helpful. They answered all of our questions about where to eat and there were right on with everything they suggested. I cannot wait to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LobosFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear LobosFan, we appreciate you taking the time to review your stay; we cannot wait to see you both again! It's so nice to know our friendly staff provided you with useful and fun recommendations. We pride ourselves on our guest service and our knowledge of the "City Different" and we all thank you for coming to stay at our lovely Hotel St Francis. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed here for night on my trip to Santa Fe. Its very old but absolutely adorable. They did a pretty good job updating it as it is the oldest hotel in the area. They have a very cute bar and restaurant in the hotel. The bar makes some very unique and interesting cocktails which I absolutely loved. They have a smoked sage margarita that was the best drink I have ever had and have tried to duplicate many times with no success. The staff is very friendly and knowledgable about the area and are able to recommend places to go.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Justine H, we are so happy you enjoyed your experience at our historic Hotel St Francis and the award-winning Secreto Bar! We appreciate you taking the time to post the review. It's great to know our staff lived up to their excellent reputation for service. We have passed your comments on to the bar manager Chris Milligan; he let us know that there are videos online which show him making the Smoked Sage Margarita, if you want to know how to make the drink! We hope to see you for another great stay in the near future. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,153 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#23 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 798 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#7 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,335 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Property: Hotel St. Francis
Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#26 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Francis
St Francis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing