We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple, historic, romantic elegance”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel St. Francis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel St. Francis
Ranked #27 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Simple, historic, romantic elegance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed at this lovely hotel with my hubby for a couple of nights. It has a very soothing , romantic palette, particularly after being immersed in all of the colorful art and surroundings of Santa Fe. The furnishings, lighting, black and white photos adorning the halls gives this structure an authentic feel of yesteryear. The rooms are smaller, sinks are in the main room and the floors are bare natural wood. The bathroom is a small stepup and simply renovated sparing the historic white octogan tiled floors. The rooms were clean although my mom's room linens were not changed.The restaurant(Tabla) serves quality food although it is a bit pricey. The bar(Secreto) is wonderful and serves great tapas and fab drinks. The service is excellent, The front desk staff is helpful, knowledgeable and very professional. Parking is about $11/night. Only gripe is that there should be coffeemaker available in the room. You have to order it and then it is brought to you timely. we would stay here again. Very romantic place.

Room Tip: king room is the best as the rooms in this hotel are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gigi n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hello gigi n, and thank you both for coming to stay with us for a romantic getaway! Our historic hotel was designed to feel like a peaceful sanctuary and an escape from the bustle of downtown and we are so glad to hear you experienced that during your stay! We hope we get the chance to welcome you back for great food and drink and excellent service. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    306
    143
    81
    48
See reviews for
121
505
119
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mesilla
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Everything was so nice; great attention to detail. Lauren Suina was the front desk person that we dealt with and she was awesome and really made our stay special. The restaurant was delicious for breakfast. We had always eaten in the patio but the dining room was lovely and food delicious.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank flexner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear flexner, thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay. Lauren and the rest of the staff are so pleased to know you had a good time! It is great to hear both the hotel and restaurant impressed you and we would love to see you again during your next trip to Santa Fe. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

...or maybe it's just me, but I don't think so.
Reviews are supposed to be objective and not personal, yet, it feels very personal, indeed. You are living in this hotel when you stay here. The seasoned traveller will know the difference. Less-is-more, and simple, historical elegance graces this hotel. But, so true is the professional, discreet, and helpful staff I had the fortune to meet in Lauren and the gentlemanly, mustachioed Jeremy.
Housekeeping is outstanding (and they even do windows - thanks for letting the sun shine in Maria)!
You may go back to a different place in time here, but during your journey you may also find that regardless of the time, you just may fall hopelessly in love. Thank you for letting me into your home.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank ctefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Hello ctefan! We're thrilled to get your lovely review. Lauren, Jeremy, Maria and all the staff at Hotel St Francis look forward to seeing you again and providing you with the best customer service possible. It's great to hear that as a seasoned traveler, you found a home away from home in our historic property. We take pride in our hotel and we are so pleased to know this was apparent to you during your stay. We would love to welcome you back "home" for your next adventure in Santa Fe! Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

The hotel advertised the government rate and when we went to check in they wouldn't honor it because they said it had to be charged to a government credit card. They wouldn't accept my government issued ID as proof, which every other hotel accepts and we are required to show at check in. Being a government contractor, we only have corporate cards for our company and no government credit cards are issued to us but we are still required to book at the government rate on travel. This caused a huge head ache for the 4 of us traveling on business at the time, we wanted to stay there since it was close to an associates house. We had to find other accommodations at the last minute because of this.

If they won't honor the government rate on business travel, they shouldn't advertise it. They wouldn't take any of our government IDs or corporate travel cards.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kruggirello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for taking your valuable time to post this review, krugirello. We are sorry and surprised to hear you had this experience. It has always been our policy to accept Government and Government Contractor ID's when giving Government rates, regardless of the credit card being used at check-in. We understand many Government employees get reimbursed by their agency upon returning home. Although we have spoken to all the front desk agents we cannot identify any individual at our property who wouldn't have accepted personal credit cards. Regardless, we sincerely apologize for your experience and we have already re-trained all of our agents on our Government rates policy. We very much appreciate the opportunity to correct any mistakes we may have made and we thank you for your feedback. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

Extremely friendly staff. Having my wedding here and they have been very helpful in recommending a bakery, and seeing to our needs. The ambiance is beautiful. Also in the heart of Santa Fe right in the Square. Lots of shopping and resturaunts within walking distance. Soft ivory white during the day, and rich gold colors from candlelight at night blanket the hotel. I am lucky to have found such a wonderful place to have my wedding. Def recommend checking it out and coming for a stay!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MLaCombe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear MLaCombe1, thank you for choosing our lovely old hotel for your wedding! It was absolutely wonderful having you and your partner here with us and we were all so pleased to be a part of it. It is just great to hear the charm and convenience worked well for you and your party, and we would be thrilled to welcome you back for your wedding anniversary, if not before. Again, congratulations to you both, and thank you! Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

it's very difficult to write a review about this Hotel, how can somedody not like it ? or how can you describe a place that could be in an old French downtown.
it's a piece of history, with the Santa Fe charme, several hundred years old with a silent touch of modern amenities. All made of stone, quite, very charming, has a nice bar and a few minutes walking to downtown.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gi pizzaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Hello Gi pizzaguy! Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. It's truly great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and the easy access to downtown. We look forward to seeing you on your next journey through Santa Fe; stop by our award winning bar and have a hand crafted cocktail while you rest. On behalf of all our staff, thank you. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent one night in a king room back in mid December 2013. We are locals and wanted just a one night getaway near Christmas. The staff was great, very warm and friendly and the hotel is an easy one block walking distance to the Plaza.
The bed was amazingly comfortable and was actually the most comfortable hotel bed we've slept in in along time. Also there was a huge wall unit armoire so there was plenty of room to put your bags away and keep the clutter down.
The bathroom was nice, a little old and odd, because the sink was in the bedroom and you had to step up a couple of steps into the bathroom itself. The tub was slightly pitted, but not junky. Water pressure, which can be an issue especially in old buildings, wasn't a problem. The only thing was that there is a lot of air in the water too, so be prepared for misty looking water if you're pouring a glass of it. It tastes fine, we just thought it was weird. The only complaint about the room was that the lighting wasn't all that bright, especially over the in-room sink. It was very hard to see at night to apply makeup etc.
Wifi was available in the room and it was reliable, didn't kick me off or anything.
If you are used to, and are ok with street noise, then you're good with any room facing the street, otherwise get a interior room. The street noise was a bit loud until very late and if you are straying during prime season that can be irritating.
The downsides to staying here is there is no longer afternoon tea and since the restaurant is apparently contracted out there is no more room service (but we were told that depends on restaurant staffing). Their private parking is minimal and you have to pay $11 a night. There is the larger lot across the street but you would have to pay more.
We ate breakfast at their restaurant, Tabla de Los Santos, and it was good. The food and service was great, and they serve Illy coffee which tastes amazing.
The downsides weren't enough to deter us, so we would stay here again and I would recommend it for sure. The convenience to the plaza alone is worth it.


Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank LocalFoodie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear LocalFoodie70, thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as locals and are happy you chose to come "play tourist" at Hotel St Francis! It's nice to know you slept well on the premium mattresses and Frette linens, and that you got to explore the plaza area close by. We are also happy to hear the hotel's combination of old world style and modern convenience worked for you. Our friendly staff looks forward to welcoming you back for another stay away from home! Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#24 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#22 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Property: Hotel St. Francis
Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Francis
St Francis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing