We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Simply Marvelous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel St. Francis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel St. Francis
Ranked #28 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Aurora, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply Marvelous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

If you are looking for an enchanting hotel in Santa Fe don't miss the Hotel St. Francis. Built in the late 1880 it is in the heart of the city close to everything. Front desk personnel as well as the rest of the staff couldn't have been nicer. I reserved a king room and when we arrived, they had upgraded us to a king deluxe. When is the last time you have seen wooden floors in a hotel room! Just loved it!

Carole Arliskas
Aurora IL

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Ms Arliskas, thank you for your review! Our staff is thrilled to hear you loved your experience here at our historic hotel. We do try to give complimentary upgrades when availability allows us and we are glad the larger room worked well for you (as well as the lovely wood floors!). It would be great to see you again next time you visit; be sure to come see us for the best cocktails and people-watching in Santa Fe on our front porch this summer! Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    293
    139
    77
    47
See reviews for
117
484
113
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

I've stayed in this hotel many times. It is one of Santa Fe's oldest hotels, and has been completely remodeled while maintaining the original "bone structure" of the building. The hotel is almost monastic in its appearance on the inside - spare, quiet, cool, clean, soothing. The landings on each floor are decorated with large photos of old Santa Fe. This hotel is centrally located - walking distance to the plaza, restaurants, etc. Great restaurants for breakfast include Tabla in the hotel and Pasqual's just across the street. Staff here is friendly and helpful. The only negative here is room size (very small). When in Santa Fe, I spend very little time in a hotel room, so the rest of the pluses for this hotel more than make up for this. And the hotel is just SO serene. Great veranda for sipping a drink and watching Santa Fe walk by in the evenings, too.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors may have a mountain/city view if on the east or north side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Hello Rebecca R; thank you for your review of the historic Hotel St Francis! We appreciate your repeat patronage and the time you took to post your feedback. Our staff does indeed give wonderful service and our location cannot be beat. Though some of the guest rooms are small due to the historic nature of the building, it's nice to hear you enjoy your easy access to downtown Santa Fe each time you visit. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you come stay with us! Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend, his 14 yr old son, & I stayed four days there, Jan 2-6. We were very impressed w/ the level of helpfulness, friendliness, & preparedness of the staff - front desk, maid, & Secreto staff. It was refreshing. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous - room was slightly cramped & we're not comfortable w/ such a small bathrm, otherwise, we loved the view , facing Don Gaspar St., decor, & very comfortable beds - towels are somewhat dingy, too. But I still LOVED this hotel! A beautiful, elegant homage to more romantic times.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank catricio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hello, I'd like to thank you for your review of your stay with us! We're gratified to hear the three of you enjoyed your time with us and had fun with our staff in all the departments. We appreciate your feedback regarding the towels and space in the rooms; the historic nature of the hotel made it difficult to open walls up during the remodel but we do have a range of shapes and sizes. We would love to have you back for another comfortable, romantic stay on your next adventure in the area. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We traveled to Santa Fe, NM for the New Year celebration. We stayed at the Hotel St. Francis - Santa Fe's oldest historic hotel. It was like staying in a chapel, just so beautiful with wonderful statues of St. Francis. You were just minutes away from museums, art galleries, shopping, dining and historic sites. We traveled to the Loretto Chapel, attended New Year's Eve services at the Cathedral Basilica of St. Francis of Assisi and the San Miguel Mission with the oldest church in the USA. The Tabla De Los Santos Restaurant located in the St. Francis Hotel was marvelous - the breakfast and dinner selections were to die for. We had our New Year's Eve dinner there. The hotel is beautiful, the concierge, the front desk staff, housekeeping staff and restaurant staff were wonderful. We enjoyed the 1 mile walk down Canyon Road, with its art galleries. Awesome. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Yvonne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Hello Yvonne K and thanks so much for reviewing your stay at our historic hotel. We are all so glad you had a great time in Santa Fe and enjoyed your easy access to all these experiences you mentioned. It's nice to know you loved the food and drink available in the hotel as well; we're pleased we could help make your New Year's special! We will look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

I have visited Santa Fe off and on for about twenty years and this has been my most enjoyable stay. Hotel is as good as it gets and is in a perfect location. Two of the desk clerks (Jeremy and the woman staffing the desk in the morning--name begins with "A"?) as well as the restaurant manager Jerry went out of their way to provide information and assistance. Also, the house-keeping staff is very efficient and friendly. I will definitely stay here again when I come to Santa Fe.

Room Tip: Rooms facing south are bright and sunny. No pool, but in season there is one at the partner hotel i...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank mjtg60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear mjtg60, I'd like to thank you for your review of the Hotel St Francis. We're all thrilled to hear how well your stay went, especially considering you have 20 years' experience visiting the area. Our staff prides itself on excellent customer service and we are so glad you enjoyed your interactions. We very much look forward to seeing you again during your next adventure in Santa Fe! Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Spent several days here during the holidays. Our room was very nice, comfortable bed, large bathroom. The bath could use better lighting. The lobby is beautiful with huge fireplace and cozy seating for conversation and people watching. We were surprised to see the line of people waiting for breakfast at the resturant across the street when the best huevos ranchero in town are at thr St. Frances. Thank you Jerry for the great service and to Chef Alexander for best breakfast in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hello there Linda L; thank you for taking some time to write a review of your stay! We're glad you could be with us during the holidays; Santa Fe is spectacular that time of year, as is our lovely historic property. I'm glad to hear you got to enjoy the big lobby fireplace and had great dining experiences in Tabla de los Santos. Please don't hesitate to ask us for extra lamps, furniture, etc; we are always happy to provide these amenities for our guests free of charge. We would love to welcome you back for another stay any time of year! Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

St. Francis would have approved. The bar may be top rated but it is understaffed. One bartender with no waiters during the day. There was one bartender with waiters at night but they needed a second bartender. The cocktail menu is long and people like to try new drinks but they don't like waiting 30 minutes to be served; the hotel should add a second bartender which I know is not easy in New Mexico which requires that the tender hold a special license. Adding a waiter or a waitress during the day would reduce the wait time. The restaurant is not connected with the hotel and you'll be told that at the front desk upon check-in. You will also be told that when you try to get a table. We did not eat there after seeing 6 empty dirty tables and being told they were booked solid; we saw the hostess serving food which means they too were understaffed. The front desk at the Hotel St. Francis is EXCELLENT, they have young intelligent good hearts standing at the ready to answer your questions or help you. Shawn (Sean) helped us arrange a table for dinner in town, now that's a service a concierege would offer, not the front desk. Thank you Shawn! The basics of the hotel have been covered by other reviewers. Yes, there is no coffee in the rooms and yes there is no coffee served in the lobby because the hotel has surrendered the kitchen to the company that operates the restaurant. If there was coffee in the rooms it would most certainly have powered milk which St. Francis would never approve of.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shexbends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for taking time to post a review of your stay, shexbends! We are all happy to hear how much you enjoyed your interactions with our stellar Front Desk staff and liked the feel of our historic property. We truly appreciate your feedback regarding the bar and restaurant and have passed your comments on already. We'd love the chance to welcome you back for another fun stay at the Hotel St Francis. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#24 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#23 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Property: Hotel St. Francis
Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Francis
St Francis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing