We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really love this place”
Review of Hotel St. Francis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel St. Francis
Ranked #26 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“We really love this place”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This was the second and third time we stayed at Hotel St. Francis. The location is fabulous, and we are always impressed with the service. The restaurant is wonderful.

We had rooms on the ground floor - the deluxe rooms with two queens are quite large and comfortable. Since the decor is modeled after a monastery, there are few included amenities, but I learned after my last review that you can ask for nearly anything to be added to your room: a rollaway, an extra chair, an iron and ironing board, a full-length mirror, or a coffee pot with coffee and supplies. (Alternately, you can purchase a large cup of coffee to go from the restaurant after 7 am for about $3.75.)

Everything is really beautiful here, and the service is excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms 103 and 104 - while near the entrance to the lobby, are surprisingly quiet, but room 102 gets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewPlaceFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Hello there NewPlaceFan and thank you for your lovely review of Hotel St Francis! All of our staff is thrilled to know you came back for a second stay and enjoyed it as much if not more than the first stay. It is truly our pleasure to provide excellent customer service, not to mention any amenity that is not already in the room. We all love our beautiful old hotel and we are so happy you enjoyed the experiences you have had here. We look forward to welcoming you back for many more visits in the future. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    316
    149
    83
    48
See reviews for
127
525
121
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lodnon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Unfortunately, when we stayed there mid-March a mad person was running the show.

Basically, some old fashioned accommodation with great modern touches. When we stayed they decided to have a travel event. it lasted for 2 days. The madness was that every non-travel-show-guest became undesirable. We were told to go to a sister hotel 8 mins walk away for breakfast. We could not check out, as they were using the entry hall for their event. And when a speaker was on, it was so loud that the check-out folks would only communicate in writing. room service unavailable as they were too busy with the first class folks. I could not enter the hotel through its main door, cause only first class guests could. when i left, they had to get my luggage out via the kitchen. evening cocktails, only first classers etc. you get the pic. what really annoyed me though was there unwillingness to refund anything. they just about acknowledged that it was not ideal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a3nglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Hello akirstetter, thank you for posting a review about your stay earlier this year. We are happy to hear you liked the modernized style of our historic hotel! That conference in March was indeed a challenge and I apologize for the inconvenience it caused you during your stay. Our management team spent lots of time discussing that conference after it was over and we have agreed we will not have another event of that sort in our hotel lobby again; it was simply too disruptive to our other guests. We would absolutely love to see you again for a more "normal" stay in our lovely hotel and I would be happy to discuss options with you. Best Regards, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a classic queen. Great charm & attention to detail until you shower. Curtain over window kept rubbing up on me. Water leaks from shower no matter how hard I tried to block it with shower curtain liner. Water collected around trash can which is now rusting. Hotel needs to add a rod at bottom of the window curtain, a curved shower rod and shower curtain liner which blocks water. Friendly staff and great location. Would have received five stars if not for shower.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Hello Christopher R; thank you for reviewing your stay at our historic property. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed the ambiance at Hotel St Francis and that our staff continues to provide excellent service for you. We appreciate your feedback about your shower experience! We are discussing this to see if there is a better solution; in the meantime, when you return please know we have a variety of room configurations with different shower types! Your comments are very valuable to us and we hope to welcome you back to stay again. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Although we are "locals" (an hour away from Santa Fe), my husband and I try to spend each birthday every year at the St. Francis for a mini-vacation. The staff is always friendly and helpful, the bartender is the most creative in town, our dog LOVES to stay with us here, and the location can't be beat for walking everywhere downtown. It is warm and cozy by the fireplace in winter, and cool and breezy on the portale in the spring. Sure, the rooms are a little small, but the beds are divine and who wants to spend a bunch of time in a hotel room anyway?

Room Tip: If you're bringing your dog, ask for an upgrade to the mezzanine rooms for pet owners -- they ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Del L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Del L, thank you for your review. It's always nice to know the locals (and their pets) love to come stay with us! We're so happy to know you like the stellar location, friendly staff and super comfortable beds. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for another great stay and unbeatable cocktails the next time you want a home away from home. Best Regards, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The oldest hotel in Santa Fe...beautiful! Some rooms are small. We had a standard King which was fine. The common areas are warm and welcoming. Sat near the fireplace one night. The bar is cool, drinks pricey but the place is pretty sweet. The restaurant is outstanding. A previous reviewer mentioned that it is owned by a separate party than the hotel, so dinner cannot be charged to room. And this is a problem why? Really?

Anyway, incredible location in a really cool town, good value, everyone was nice and accommodating...Jeremy, Alda, Ben...everyone!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank docloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Hello docloch and thank you for taking time to post a review about your stay with us! We appreciate your valuable feedback. We are happy to hear you liked the "feel" of the hotel and the staff's level of service. We pride ourselves on this lovely building and our guest service. Our entire staff hopes to welcome you back for another comfortable stay in our amazing downtown location. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, AR
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

I thought I got a great deal on a room thru Hotel Tonite. I suspect we were given the smallest room on the hotel for $95. It was a corner room that was really ok since it was just 2 of us and we weren't spending a lot of time there anyway. However, we did have to laugh at how small the berth room was. I've literally never seen a hotel bathroom that small even in Europe! How small was it?! It was so small that when showering, it created a kind of convection with the shower curtain pulling it into the shower and sticking to me. I couldn't help but wonder how many bodies that curtain had been up against. Overall, nice hotel though. Clean with comfortable bed and nice linens. Young lady at check-in was very nice and personable. Went to the nice hotel bar at happy hour. Amazing cocktails served by a young lady bartender with a poor attitude. We decided to stay for 2nd drink since there was a shift change!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Hello Carmen 1981; thank you for coming to stay with us and for posting a review. We are pleased to hear you liked the overall feel of the hotel and enjoyed the drinks in our award-winning bar, Secreto. Your comments were discussed at our manager's meeting this week and we appreciate your feedback. Constructive comments like yours give us the opportunity to continually train our team so we can provide the best guest service possible. We hope to welcome you back for another stay and delicious cocktails if you find yourself in the area again! Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We visited Hotel St. Francis through a Living Social coupon offer. We love Santa Fe and so we signed up for the voucher immediately. It turned out to be a very good decision. We enjoy experiencing the history of the places we visit and so this hotel was a great choice. It was evident that there has been some restoration and renovation at the hotel, but it was done very tastefully, preserving the historic aspects of the building as much as possible while adding updates that added to the comfort of the guests. Sometimes when we use a coupon for a visit, the room assignment is one of the least desirable rooms. We were completely satisfied with our room - very nicely furnished, comfortable and quiet. The front desk receptionist, Lauren, was very helpful and patient during our check in - we had driven from Phoenix and were tired and probably not at our best humor. She made us feel comfortable and welcome. The only thing that would have made the experience better was if the hotel accepted a paperless voucher confirmation, as is recommended by Living Social. It took an extra 20 minutes for check in to go to the business center, upgrade the browser software so I could access my Gmail account, and print out the voucher. This could have been easily avoided if I could have brought up my voucher on my phone and have the staff verify and/or scan the confirmation tag.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Earthchord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your review Earthchord; we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at our historic hotel. It is so nice to hear you appreciated the historic nature of our property and the look of the remodel. I apologize for the confusion with the voucher at check-in; we have been working to streamline this process and we appreciate your understanding. We would love to see you again for another lovely stay at our lovely old hotel next time you visit our "City Different". Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#24 of 60 in Santa Fe
887 reviews
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,345 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Inn at Vanessie
#27 of 60 in Santa Fe
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Property: Hotel St. Francis
Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Francis
St Francis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing