We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Hotel With Southwest Style” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel St. Francis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel St. Francis
Ranked #28 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel With Southwest Style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Located only a few blocks from the historic Santa Fe plaza (a great area for shops and eating, if you don't mind hippie drum circles), the hotel has some great southwestern style. Our room was had "antique" furniture and the comfy beds and were loaded up with more pillows than any other hotel I've ever visited. The hallways were lined with old photos of Santa Fe and store ledgers - very cool. My only complaint was that the front street was a bit noisy early in the morning, but it was a weekday and we left our windows cracked overnight. There is a bar on-premise, which looked cool, but it seemed to cater to an quieter crowd than what we were looking for.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hello JW and thank you so much for your review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our historic Hotel St Francis. Staying here makes it very easy to get out and about. We're also happy to hear you liked the old photos on our stair landings; it sounds like you got a good feel for historic and present-time Santa Fe during your stay. We hope you come back to join us in the bar for a hopping Friday night this summer! Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    293
    139
    77
    47
See reviews for
117
484
113
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Hotel is beautiful! Spacious and airy with artisan decor. The rooms are comfortable and roomy (the rooms facing the street can be a bit noisey, with morning produce deliveries, ask for a room away from the street if you are a light/late sleeper). The staff was AMAZING!! I tried to call the front desk with a question about the bar and the phone in the room didn't connect. I just hung up and thought I would go down later and ask...there was a knock on my door, hotel mantiance to check out the problem. SO FAST and it was only the plug on the phone.
The location of the hotel is great, a couple of blocks from all shopping and restraunts. The Tabla de Los Santos (the restraunt located in St. Francis) was AMAZING!! the food is all local and authentic, the guacomole was the best (you'll be fighting for the corn!!). Try the Smoked Sage Margaritta, it is like nothing you will find anywhere else. Thank you Eric B.

Room Tip: some noise from the street below, into the night and early morning (ask for a non-street room if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cecilia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing Hotel St.Francis while visiting Santa Fe. We are happy to know that the amazing staff, our location, and hotel decor was an amazing experience for you. We would like to welcome you back during your next visit to Santa Fe for an amazing experience in a beautiful room and a local authentic meal with a Smoked Sage Margarita in Tabla de los Santos. Jarenda Ortiz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abiquiu, Nm
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I stopped in for dinner; the service was excellent. Not only did our server take great care of us, but others stopped by our table to be sure everything was to our satisfaction. Food was good, also!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sherry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Hotel St.Francis-Front Desk at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing Tabla de los Santos for an excellent dining experience whiling visiting Santa Fe. We are glad to know that all the staff in Tabla de los Santos exceeded your needs. We would love to welcome you back for excellent guest service and a great meal during your next visit to Santa Fe. Jarenda Ortiz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

This charming hotel provides an oasis of serenity in the center of Santa Fe.
Our room and linens were lovely. Quiet, courteous, helpful---wrapped
in a package of authentic decor. Bar service was less than polite and far from efficient.
Seemed to spend more time chatting with the regulars than serving new
guests.

Room Tip: Third floor room was quiet except for Friday night revelers...but they go away eventually.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hello Pamela G and thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at Hotel St Francis. We're very happy to hear our little "oasis of serenity" was to your liking right down to the linens! The bar staff has been given your feedback and we do hope you will come again to have an award winning cocktail this summer. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunkport, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Beautiful building, upgraded rooms in an historic setting. Great location downtown for walking to everything. We were very happy with the restaurant and service. Many thanks to Eric and Jerry!
The lobby staff couldn't have been more helpful to our wedding party, thank you Jarenda and Gerik! I travel to Santa Fe a lot, and will stay at the Hotel St. Francis again. It was clean and bright, with windows that open to let in fresh air when needed. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing Hotel St. Francis during your visit to Santa Fe. We are happy to have provided you and your wedding party with excellent guest service. We are so glad you like our historic, clean hotel rooms and found the location convenient. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Santa Fe.Jarenda Ortiz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We booked 2 rooms during Spring Break 2013. Our final destination was Durango, CO but we stopped for the night in Santa Fe. Although we needed two double rooms, only king beds were available at the time I booked. The staff offered roll away beds so I agreed to the rooms.

When we arrived only one room was available with a king bed. The other room was going to be a queen single, which was going to make it a bit uncomfortable for the teenage boys who were staying in that room. Before I could even express any discomfort about the situation the clerk apologized and offered us a free breakfast for our party (a total of 7). This was very generous & I graciously accepted. The breakfast was delicious and almost every teenager in our group ordered the French Toast and it was delicious as well as beautiful!

The rooms were lovely albeit small, but it is a historic hotel, so we expected the rooms to be small. The beds were comfortable & the décor was beautiful. The location was perfect...we walked all over the square & we enjoyed our stay immensely.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jaimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We're so glad you enjoyed your rooms and the delicious breakfast, and we appreciate your understanding with your guest rooms. We hope you and your family come stay with us again and take advantage of our unbeatable location. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Hotel St. Francis may not be the newest, fanciest hotel on the block, but their comfortable rooms, reasonable prices, and excellent customer service made our visit to Santa Fe memorable and fun! We were very impressed by the friendly, efficient staff at this quaint hotel. To quote their front desk, Hotel St. Francis is an "ask and ye shall receive" kind of place. The bathroom in our particular room was somewhat poorly lit, but when we mentioned this to the front desk, an extra lamp and extension cord were delivered to our room within 10 minutes, which nicely solved the problem. Ditto when we asked for an iron and ironing board. But the highlight of our stay had to be Greg, the bartender at the Secreto Bar. His drinks were inventive and incredibly tasty, and the Ginger Jim should definitely be included on the cocktail menu!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hilary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Hello Hilary E, and thank you for your review of Hotel St Francis. We are so glad to hear our staff impressed you during your stay! We do indeed have a wonderful crew all around, and we are pleased to know that we could accommodate your needs in your room as well as your drink preferences in the bar. Come back during the summer and have Greg make you something special to enjoy on one of our outdoor patios. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#25 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#23 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Property: Hotel St. Francis
Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Francis
St Francis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing